Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 280 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

This is the best car that I ever owned. -Period!

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I'm so glad that I bought it."

Cons: "When buying a vehicle-please have it checked out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All thou it's 17 years old, I've had it for 8 years now. I don't who the past owners but, I will very soon. Since buying this vehicle, I've replaced certain parts to my baby from a past poor maintenance program. Now, my vehicle is back on track. Changing oil every 3-5000 miles & having my mechanic check it thoroughly if any problems that will occur in the future. So far,so good. An excellent buy!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, cost effect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 12 years. I rarely had to perform maintenance on it. I never broke down and left me stranded. It was quiet and comfortable to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never a mechanical problem in 14 years!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent!!!!!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The # 1car on the road.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride and drive!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Warranty is excellent for a problem when out of town. Covered all repairs and provided a rental car to use. It just don't get any better!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been an incredible work horse for 14 years."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has been incredible for 15 yrs

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
1/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful looking car, drives like a dream."

Cons: "one cup holder damaged,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The interior is cream colored Leather Excellent condition exterior is Light and dark silver also in excellent condition. This car has just been driven from the East Coast to the West Coast with no problems whoever buys it will get about another 10 yrs of worry free driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car well maintained

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"car is a good ride"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Car expenses

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Need bigger cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for 14 years, and except for tires, oil changes, and batteries have spent about $3000.00 OR APPX. $200.00/YEAR ON MAINTENANCE."

Wow, awesome vehicle, even with high miles!

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it's really good looking, luxurious, and reliable"

Cons: "just the gas mileage, really, it's beautiful!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

10+ year old Lexus ES 300 with 150K miles, lookin' good

"I have been buying nicer and nicer cars at around 10+ years of age and this Lexus is just beautiful, runs great, the dealer doesn't try to upsell me on service (they say, Lexus cars are built to not need constant maintenance, wow). It's luxurious, roomy, wears well, drives well, looks sexy, and has a nice large tank for gas (a good thing when you don't get the best gas mileage ever :) I have an Acura that is in most ways better, but I let my kids learn to drive in it so it's beat up, and it's not quite as beautiful as the Lexus. I've had this car for almost three years and it has never needed anything (well, don't ever lock your keys inside!). I never worry about something going wrong, I can hit the gas and get a reasonably fast response when needed, and although it tries to decide what speed I want, it is smooth and reliable. I think I can drive it many more years."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

10+ year old Lexus ES 300 with 150K miles, lookin' good

Diamond in a rough!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Drives well, great price, BUY NOW!"

Cons: "Exhaust problem, overheats, needs work!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We all know that Lexus create luxury cars, but this one just needs a little work. There has been some exterior damage done to this vehichle in the front and right side. It needs new tires, expection sticker, and new brakes as well. It over heats after a while but with a little fixing it will be GOOD AS NEW! I just purchased a new battery for it last year, and the inside is fairly clean. I brought this car three years ago as my first car, and I am not looking to get a new car. I purchased this car in 2012 for a little over $5,000 but I only want $1000 for it due to the work that needs to be put into it. It gets me back and forth to work and home, but it just honestly needs more work and I cant afford to do that right now."

A Classic Lexus Experience

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ride, cabin, reliability, luxury"

Cons: "handling, city mpg, slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This Lexus is highly practical but also rather luxurious. It has a very definitively smooth ride that can be compared to riding on a cloud or even ice skating. The same suspension that makes this car very comfortable also makes it dispirited and at times dull, for a young guy like me anyway. The chassis absorbs even the harshest bumps well and the speed of the vehicle has no reflection on the quietness of the cabin. Know that you will be hard pressed to find a smoother running sedan. The luxurious features of the this car are top of the line (for 2001) heated electric adjustable seats are extremely comfortable. I have owned this car from 60k-80k miles and reliability has been excellent absolutely no mechanical issues whatsoever. The electronic components match the superb quality of the engine and suspension. Everything is extremely well put together resulting in an extremely quiet ride. The only gripes I have with this car is its, engine which while being of an outstanding reliability (the mk2), manages to obtain poor city gas mileage but only demands regular fuel. Sort of a mixed bag really. The more up to date engines of today surpass the mk2 in every category except, again, unparalleled reliability. But the mk2 is not overly slow,being a 3.0 V6. It can give you a rush if you put your foot down, but don't expect to win any drag races. This would be an excellent car for a person who wants an extra smooth ride, reliability, and a luxurious experience at a cheap price.If your are above the age of 25 this car is heaven. But id like to feel the road and get the adrenaline pumping when i drive so this car isn't best suited for someone like me. For young enthusiastic drivers, please look elsewhere. An added bonus is the car is amazing on the snow (as long as you have decent all season tires), due to the design most of the weight falls on the front wheels. I live in Chicago so I know how it handles in bad weather. Other cars I have owned and would recommend: -Lexus LS 430 2001 -Toyota Sienna 1998 -Honda Civic EX 2006 -Acura TL 2004"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Quality,comfort,sporty design.

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Lexus makes fine cars but the '01 ES 300 is a much sportier, better looking car than later models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

coach edition,great ride,clean throughout

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"only issue as we get older not as easy to enter and exit due to low profile.Great car for younger person.Well maintained. No smoker"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Never mind maintaining this car

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very luxurious, but cheap!"

Cons: "NO!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"except for change the tire and oil, I never repair this car! really great! I love it. I guess I can still drive another 50,000 miles at least."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

It simply is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would own another If I could afford it but alas I cannot..."

BEST LUXURY CAR EVER

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability & Awesome driving exp."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't know what to say but i have had unbelievable 14 years and counting experience, could not find a single reason to trade-in or sell my 99 ES 300 lexus beauty! With 13k average milege per year (some years drove > 20k, some less < 10k) high ways, local roads etc., This car is the BEST INVESTMENT i ever made... I take the car to Arlington Lexus in palatine once every 6 months for routine maintenance, that's all! This car just drives..."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Old faithful. Few problems, many rewards

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,699

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "enduring and endearing still beautiful"

Cons: "badly designed cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has lived in very sunny areas - Arizona, Hawaii and now Florida and paint bubbled up enough to require a new paint job and leather on front seats and console is cracked and worn, but other than that the only real deficiency is of a badly designed cup holder. I still love this car and wouldn't consider giving it up. For a car as old as she is, she still gets pretty good mileage. Her turning radius is remarkable and still has plenty of zip on the highway. We having driven together from San Diego to Florida without event when she was a young 14 year old with only 150000 miles on her. She was in 2 car accidents being rear ended where the cars at fault were maximally damaged, and she has little tiny dents in her bumper. I hope I age as well as she is."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOOKS LIKE EVERYTHING IS IN GREAT CONDITION

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES"

Cons: "I DON'T MAKE MUCH MONEY FOR REPAIRS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"EVERYYTHING LOOKS GOOD"

I love this car

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,889

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car almost 14 years with no surprises. All repairs have been routine maintenance/ normal wear things. Of course it doesn't run quite as smooth as it did new (I no longer have to wonder if it is actually running when I am at idle), but it still runs better than many new cars. My only complaint is that at about 5 years the paint on the side mirrors started flaking off, but that is the only exterior problem. Love this car!"

Great machine

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even at 12 years old, this car drives like a dream. Having all the recommended services done, I have peace of mind. Very nimble on the road, power when you need it and the comforts of a true luxury vehicle. Pity they don't make them like this anymore. I am having a hard time upgrading."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, Great Value, Sweet Ride

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great V6 engine, sexy exterior design, good MPG"

Cons: "cup holder design, otherwise none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove around in my dad's Lexus for over a year and loved every minute of it. This car has a top notch stereo, and its exterior design is ahead of its time. It gets pretty decent gas mileage, and drives really smooth! I loved my dad's Lexus ES300 so much, i got the exact same car with 171000 miles on it for my first car! If this car ever dies, (unlikely) i will end up buying another Lexus/Toyota in replace of it. Only things that need to be done are oil changes and common maintenance things. (brakes, tires, etc...) I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a sexy, smooth, and luxurious ride!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been so satified with this car. It has over 300K miles on it and all I have ever had to do is regular maintenance. It still runs, drives and looks great after all of these years."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Still drives beautifully even after 200k

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2001 Lexus ES300 from a dealer several years ago. It had 75k on it when I purchased it. Wowww who knew then that I would still enjoy it after so many carefree miles. Nothing ever goes wrong with these cars. Especially the older ones. My daughter has well over 200k on her 98 ES300. I change the oil do regular mantenince at they just keep running and running. I am so impressed. I keep test driving newer cars and keep coming back to my tried and true Lexus."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

What an awesome car!!!

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Was time to move on

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The most reliable car ever!!, Smooth drive"

Cons: "Nothing!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car used with over 170,000 miles and after it was in a accident. I fixed the cosmetic issues and this baby drove smoother than any car I have ever driven. And it kept on driving that way at 243,000 miles but I ended up selling it to get a newer car. If your looking for the most reliable car, go for this car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependablity, Smooth Ride, Stylish"

Cons: "Squeeky Brake Noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car Sept 12, 2001 - very sad day in US history, but it has been the absolute best car. I am not looking forward to giving up this fine beauty when the time comes. It's a Coach Edition with onyx emblems. I must get 2 offers a month from strangers asking me if I would like to sell. The only complaint I have is squeaky brakes, which I have had since day one. The maintenance has been regular so I have not experienced any horror stories yet. I will be replacing a timing belt next week, but that is me not wanting to wait until the last moment - the repairs all have been minimal (oil changes, brakes, a battery, tires). If Lexus still builds a car like this one, I'll buy another one! It's been such a good car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals