Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 280 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

unbelivable car

By on Monday, February 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great drive"

Cons: "not worth noting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its power in cruise control is scary. same today as 1997"

Wonderful JAPANESE built import "J" VIN

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car!"

Best car I ever owned

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,260

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the moon roof, heated seats, and smooth ride."

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Outstanding Service Department at dealer. Car still looks like new."

Awesome even at 195000 miles!

By on Friday, December 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will always drive Toyota or Lexus! They never let me down!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vrhicle ever I owned.

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, good design, never tired of it."

Cons: "visibility,good handling driving."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, Very confortable, silent, very good driving and vsibility. The leader seats after 12 years still in very good shape. The cup holders do not hold the water botles well. I will buy another Lexus in the future."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle. i still get compliments!

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle. drives great. excellent value and reliability."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great history and comfort"

Cons: "cup holders too loose"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 10 years and I love it. Lots of comfort and convenience. Few challenges: The cupholders don't hold regular sized water bottles so drinks can spill easily."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the Best car ever

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, smooth, extremely low maintenance"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have had it since 1999, love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dependable and comfortable and gets good mileage

By on Sunday, December 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable"

Cons: "less than 20 mpg in the city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has always been reliable and comfortable. It's a great highway cruiser and gets mid 20's on the highway."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

first lexus

By on Tuesday, December 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ease of driving. controls are very easy to use."

Cons: "no heated front seat. cups fall out of the holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this automobile used from a reliable dealer on his recomendation and could not have been happier. If not for being given a more expensive cadillac I would drive this car forever."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, handles very well, major comfort"

Cons: "Floor mats are price for replacement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. The reliability and handling are so far above all other cars I have owned it's amazing. I plan to give this car to my daughter (who is 8 years old) when she goes to college. This car is a keeper"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, reliable car - never had an issue

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride, reliable."

Cons: "not sure..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car as pre-owned with 42k miles on it and had it for the last ten years. It is an outstandingly reliable car which actually gets decent gas mileage (we are getting about 28mpg ). Anyway, we are moving toward a newer model, but with a heavy heart!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

In great condition

By on Thursday, November 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Haven't had any problems with it"

Love this car, so much, I'm keeping it until 300K

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for all kinds of travel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2000 model. I've had minimal repairs done outside of the usual xxx mile checkups. After 168000 miles, it still feels like new. Just wish it still had only 10000 miles on it!"

Great Car

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drive it. You'll love it."

Cons: "Wish it got a couple of more miles per gallon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my 1997 Lexus for 14 years and going to keep it until it dies. It has been the most reliable automobile I have ever owned. Regular oil changes and maintence keeps it running smoothly. One major repair has been the timing belt, but guess what it will probably out live me. I'm 65 years of age."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

this is the best car ever!!!

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very fun to drive and very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car, minimum maintenence, had my lexus for 10 yrs and only thing that I have had to replace is the starter. Very good car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

High reliability over 203,000 miles

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 203,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High reliability"

Cons: "Not sure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"High reliability, great for a used car. Maintaining basic service care will result in 300,000 plus miles of driving. Maintain regular oil and filter changes every 3,000-4,000 miles (not 5,000 miles due to sludge problems with other "rare" Lexus flaws ). Check engine light is common past 150,000 miles. Use fuel injector cleaner, spark plugs should be less than 80,000 miles old. More comfortable than some new $40,000 luxury cars."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE this car!!

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "whats not to love?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i recently bought this car. its the first time i bought a car. i feel like a queen when i drive it. its the coach edition. it has everything. i went from a manual 4 cylinder toyota to this beautiful piece of machinery. i would definately recommend it to everyone. my mother, my sister and my best friend. i know when i begin my family i will love this car even more."

love love love this car! I will buy another!

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All cars need maintenance but repairs are almost never with this car!!! I did replace the engine and the tranny at 200,000 miles but it is well worth it! spend 3000 for another 70.000 or more miles, Never had to pay for anything else over $100.00! Super confertable and easy on the eyes! will be buying another one!!!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car ever! Lowest maintenance - Unbelievable!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable; only routine maintenance - no prob."

Cons: "back cup holders are week."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '97 Lexus ES300 new. I have always provided regular maintenance on the car (oil changes, tire rotations, major "check ups" at recommended intervals i.e. 60k, 90k, etc) but otherwise this car has been the most trouble free car ever. At 180,000 miles, I just replaced the rear brake pads for the 2nd time (yes you read that correctly). The front brake pads were replaced at 90k and are still going strong! I recently had to have a new spark plug at 175k (the first and only one). Otherwise a few other items have had to be replaced in the past couple of years (items that for other cars would have gone much sooner - muffler/exhaust (due to rust), and I also put new shock absorbers on the car. Each of these items were required above 150k and really are just maintenance items that any other car would have needed much sooner. The car still drives as smooth and quiet as it did 15 years ago, in fact, I have to really pay attention too the speedometer because you can find yourself going too fast without realizing it b/c the engine doesn't rev even at high speeds despite its age and # of miles. I have always used premium gas and the car gets 26 MPG on avg. As you can tell, I love this car despite the fact that I also own a 2006 Lexus RX350, 2006 BMW 330 ci (hate BMW - not reliable and certainly not "ultimate driving machine" - but convertible is fun; and 2011 Infiniti G37x - also highly recommended."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very dependable and comfortable to travel in.

By on Tuesday, October 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Virtually zero maintenance, very dependable and comfortable to travel in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Sunday, October 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. great style"

Cons: "bad cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. i plan on getting another as soon as this one gives out which is going to be a long time. 140000 miles and it is still running smoothly with no problems."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love the car second owner

By on Thursday, September 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything is good"

Cons: "lousy cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"has been a great car nee4r wrecked"

I love my car

By on Thursday, September 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car has 245,000 miles...and still runs great!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outstanding dependable, comfortable automobile

By on Friday, September 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and comfortable. Has lots of get up and go!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is really a luxury vehicle in every sense of the word. I recommend it for a dependable used vehicle. Mileage on freeway driving is 33MPG plus"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details