Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1997 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 283 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

LOOKS LIKE EVERYTHING IS IN GREAT CONDITION

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES"

Cons: "I DON'T MAKE MUCH MONEY FOR REPAIRS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"EVERYYTHING LOOKS GOOD"

I love this car

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,889

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car almost 14 years with no surprises. All repairs have been routine maintenance/ normal wear things. Of course it doesn't run quite as smooth as it did new (I no longer have to wonder if it is actually running when I am at idle), but it still runs better than many new cars. My only complaint is that at about 5 years the paint on the side mirrors started flaking off, but that is the only exterior problem. Love this car!"

Great machine

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even at 12 years old, this car drives like a dream. Having all the recommended services done, I have peace of mind. Very nimble on the road, power when you need it and the comforts of a true luxury vehicle. Pity they don't make them like this anymore. I am having a hard time upgrading."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, Great Value, Sweet Ride

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great V6 engine, sexy exterior design, good MPG"

Cons: "cup holder design, otherwise none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove around in my dad's Lexus for over a year and loved every minute of it. This car has a top notch stereo, and its exterior design is ahead of its time. It gets pretty decent gas mileage, and drives really smooth! I loved my dad's Lexus ES300 so much, i got the exact same car with 171000 miles on it for my first car! If this car ever dies, (unlikely) i will end up buying another Lexus/Toyota in replace of it. Only things that need to be done are oil changes and common maintenance things. (brakes, tires, etc...) I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a sexy, smooth, and luxurious ride!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been so satified with this car. It has over 300K miles on it and all I have ever had to do is regular maintenance. It still runs, drives and looks great after all of these years."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Still drives beautifully even after 200k

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2001 Lexus ES300 from a dealer several years ago. It had 75k on it when I purchased it. Wowww who knew then that I would still enjoy it after so many carefree miles. Nothing ever goes wrong with these cars. Especially the older ones. My daughter has well over 200k on her 98 ES300. I change the oil do regular mantenince at they just keep running and running. I am so impressed. I keep test driving newer cars and keep coming back to my tried and true Lexus."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

What an awesome car!!!

By on Tuesday, July 09, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Was time to move on

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The most reliable car ever!!, Smooth drive"

Cons: "Nothing!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car used with over 170,000 miles and after it was in a accident. I fixed the cosmetic issues and this baby drove smoother than any car I have ever driven. And it kept on driving that way at 243,000 miles but I ended up selling it to get a newer car. If your looking for the most reliable car, go for this car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependablity, Smooth Ride, Stylish"

Cons: "Squeeky Brake Noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car Sept 12, 2001 - very sad day in US history, but it has been the absolute best car. I am not looking forward to giving up this fine beauty when the time comes. It's a Coach Edition with onyx emblems. I must get 2 offers a month from strangers asking me if I would like to sell. The only complaint I have is squeaky brakes, which I have had since day one. The maintenance has been regular so I have not experienced any horror stories yet. I will be replacing a timing belt next week, but that is me not wanting to wait until the last moment - the repairs all have been minimal (oil changes, brakes, a battery, tires). If Lexus still builds a car like this one, I'll buy another one! It's been such a good car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car! Too compact for me...

By on Monday, May 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "strong engine, reliable, great looks."

Cons: "a bit too compact for most people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has a very strong engine. Good handling, and plenty of trunk space. A couple of things that make this car a "must trade" for me, the interior is not roomy enough for me... I'm 6"tall. Though the leg room is very good, even at my height. Not very much shoulder room. The Other challenge I faced was the glove box. This car has a cd changer, so there is only enough room for a vehicle manual. I will say, my previous vehicle was a Toyota Avalon. Enough said. I got a really good deal on this car and my wife feel in love with its fun and sporty looks, and how it still manages to stay luxury at the same time with that Lexus name. You won't be disappointed with this vehicle. So long as your average to small person."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Used Lexus is worth it

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my car for only 3 years but my brother had it for several years prior. I of course did not buy it new. The thing is, I have added approx 200,000 miles on it in my short 3 years and have had no major costly problems. Despite all that driving and how old it is it still drives like it's a new car. My point here is that if you can't afford a new car or just think they're not worth the $$ (like I do) then I recommend old luxury cars. Because even though I don't have all the fancy stuff new cars have, I still don't feel like I'm driving a cheap vehicle that will break down any moment. Lexus is awesome!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals