Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 289 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Quality,comfort,sporty design.

By on Thursday, March 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Lexus makes fine cars but the '01 ES 300 is a much sportier, better looking car than later models."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

coach edition,great ride,clean throughout

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"only issue as we get older not as easy to enter and exit due to low profile.Great car for younger person.Well maintained. No smoker"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Never mind maintaining this car

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very luxurious, but cheap!"

Cons: "NO!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"except for change the tire and oil, I never repair this car! really great! I love it. I guess I can still drive another 50,000 miles at least."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It simply is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would own another If I could afford it but alas I cannot..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST LUXURY CAR EVER

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Reliability & Awesome driving exp."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't know what to say but i have had unbelievable 14 years and counting experience, could not find a single reason to trade-in or sell my 99 ES 300 lexus beauty! With 13k average milege per year (some years drove > 20k, some less < 10k) high ways, local roads etc., This car is the BEST INVESTMENT i ever made... I take the car to Arlington Lexus in palatine once every 6 months for routine maintenance, that's all! This car just drives..."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Old faithful. Few problems, many rewards

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,699

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "enduring and endearing still beautiful"

Cons: "badly designed cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car has lived in very sunny areas - Arizona, Hawaii and now Florida and paint bubbled up enough to require a new paint job and leather on front seats and console is cracked and worn, but other than that the only real deficiency is of a badly designed cup holder. I still love this car and wouldn't consider giving it up. For a car as old as she is, she still gets pretty good mileage. Her turning radius is remarkable and still has plenty of zip on the highway. We having driven together from San Diego to Florida without event when she was a young 14 year old with only 150000 miles on her. She was in 2 car accidents being rear ended where the cars at fault were maximally damaged, and she has little tiny dents in her bumper. I hope I age as well as she is."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOOKS LIKE EVERYTHING IS IN GREAT CONDITION

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ALL THE BELLS AND WHISTLES"

Cons: "I DON'T MAKE MUCH MONEY FOR REPAIRS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"EVERYYTHING LOOKS GOOD"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,889

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car almost 14 years with no surprises. All repairs have been routine maintenance/ normal wear things. Of course it doesn't run quite as smooth as it did new (I no longer have to wonder if it is actually running when I am at idle), but it still runs better than many new cars. My only complaint is that at about 5 years the paint on the side mirrors started flaking off, but that is the only exterior problem. Love this car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great machine

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even at 12 years old, this car drives like a dream. Having all the recommended services done, I have peace of mind. Very nimble on the road, power when you need it and the comforts of a true luxury vehicle. Pity they don't make them like this anymore. I am having a hard time upgrading."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle, Great Value, Sweet Ride

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great V6 engine, sexy exterior design, good MPG"

Cons: "cup holder design, otherwise none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove around in my dad's Lexus for over a year and loved every minute of it. This car has a top notch stereo, and its exterior design is ahead of its time. It gets pretty decent gas mileage, and drives really smooth! I loved my dad's Lexus ES300 so much, i got the exact same car with 171000 miles on it for my first car! If this car ever dies, (unlikely) i will end up buying another Lexus/Toyota in replace of it. Only things that need to be done are oil changes and common maintenance things. (brakes, tires, etc...) I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a sexy, smooth, and luxurious ride!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals