Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 146 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next

Love this car

By on Monday, October 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is amazing. 145k and no major problems. Drives like a brand new car. When I finish school I'll be buying another Lexus."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful Vehicle

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had car for 150K Miles never a major problem. Got a new vehicle last week"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car to own

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've bought my 97 EX300 in 1997. It's more than 10 years already and I had over 160K miles on it. It's very reliable and I still feel comfortable driving it now. Its engine is still good. The only problem that I've got is the clunking noise at the front left strut when I drive over a bumper or a dip. I had it repaired at dealer but after around 40K miles, it made noise again. I just ignore. I may need to trade it in for a newer car since this one doesn't have side airbag, teether for car seat, and no bluetooth for hand free call. I love to have another Lexus again but it's kind of pricey with options."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

TOTALLY LOVE THIS CAR!

By on Tuesday, September 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased a 1997 Lexus ES300 in 1999 (8 years ago). I absolutely love this car because it is extremely reliable. During the last 8 years, I have had only about two problems that were very minor and inexpensive to fix (less than $200). I am so impressed with this car that I just purchased another Lexus and did not trade this in. I'm thinking about selling it, but I'm not sure because it's so reliable that I could possibly drive it for another 3 years and not have problems."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very good vehicle

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"ever since i bought this car i have loved toyota and lexus its a very reliable car and comfort low maintance, but never lose the keys on it very expensive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing quality

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car new in 1997. The car currently has 183,600 miles on it. Did light regular maintenance for the first 100k miles. Only do the occasional oil change nowadays (certainly less frequently than recommended). In these ten years, I have never had a problem with this car. Moreover, the car drives as if it is one year old. Still extremely smooth and quiet. The engine has not lost its potency, and fuel mileage has not suffered. I am extremely satisfied with this car's ride and quality after so long (and I've owned and driven many cars, japanese, american, and german alike). I don't plan to ever sell this vehicle as it is worth MUCH more than the $4k-$5.5k I could expect for its sale. If you are considering the purchase of one, rest assured that it will treat you better than its mileage and age imply. Certainly not the most sporty of vehicles, but a quality luxury car through-and-through."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Unbelievable car

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 1997 ES 300 in 1999 with 40k miles on it. It now has 165,000 and has not given me one minute of trouble in the 8 years that I've owned it. I would like a newer Lexus, but this one runs so great that I hate to part with it. I'll drive it until it literally dies on me, which could be ???? I won't drive anything but a Lexus, ever."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, August 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 2001 ES300 with 117K miles on it. It looks brand new and runs beautifully. I HIGHLY recommend this car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

301,000 miles and still going!

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Beautiful car, great reliability and performance. I purchased used in 01 with 30k m and drove all over the country for work. It now has 301k miles and still has great pep, steering is tight, no rattles. AC & electrical all still working. I like it so much that I recently purchased a newer model - 03' ES 300."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

2000 ES 300

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Just bought the car with 58k miles. Very clean. I have been a Toyota owner for some time and this is my first Lexus. Awesome car! A bit surprised that I had to have 2 coils replaced during first month of ownership but I had a nice experience with the service department. Loaner car program is a nice perk. Love the styling of this generation ES. Beautiful leather seats and two-tone paint. Hope to have it for years to come."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Smoothest Vehicle Ever

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love this Car!! I have the 2000 ES300....and let me tell you..........it is the smoothest yummy....yummy thing you could ever own!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellence

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have been driving over 40 years with maybe 20 different cars and trucks, American, Japanese, Italian, German and Swedish. I have never had a car as perfect as my 1997 Lexus 300 ES. After 10 years and 80,000 miles, I have not had ANY (Zero) problems. With proper maintenance, this car will run forever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a preowned 1999 Lexus and I have not had any problems with it, nor did the previous owners. I highly recommend this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car in CA and moved it to MA with ony 1700 miles on it. Wife drove it for 5 years, and then passed it to me. 90K miles, and only service needed other than normal maintenance was an airbag replacement. The bag went bad with no warning, just an airbag light on the dashboard. Other than that, the car was supremely reliable and comfortable. Toyota reliability with Lexus experience is a definate plus. I was impressed with the dealer service when we bought it, and also the dealer where I got the airbag replaced."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Lexus ES

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car i have ever owned."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals