Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 148 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Great car

By on Monday, February 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just got this car after wrecking my Camry. Is basically the same vehicle but much more solid and infinitely more comfortable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Personal Oppinion Of The ES300

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent Vech to Drive!!! Smooth handling, take turns very well and you can't hear the car running at all. Auto climate control is wonderful just set it and and leave it, heated seats are nice, get's a little too hot sometime so I set mine to low. As far as performance, Fast, Fast, Fast. Accelarates quickly, takes hills well and all the luxury I need. Wood Grain, leather evrything, full headrest, vallet keys and a nice size truck space euipped with a first aide kit, Im loving it. Ovrall Lexus made a grate, luxury high performace car that will be around for years to come. Peace Gsmoke ES 300 Owner"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

well designed good car

By on Friday, November 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This Vehicle is a one that the consumer would fall in love with it s poor man step into luxury"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, November 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased it new in 2000. Have only 55000 miles on it and it has really been a pleasure to drive and to enjoy. I guess the only problem i have with it is that it is too good to turn in for a newer model. Some concern over no warranty coverage,but, this car doesn't owe me a dime!!!!!!, and the book value is over one third of what I paid for it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, October 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wonderful Vehicle

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had car for 150K Miles never a major problem. Got a new vehicle last week"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good vehicle

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"ever since i bought this car i have loved toyota and lexus its a very reliable car and comfort low maintance, but never lose the keys on it very expensive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Thursday, August 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car in CA and moved it to MA with ony 1700 miles on it. Wife drove it for 5 years, and then passed it to me. 90K miles, and only service needed other than normal maintenance was an airbag replacement. The bag went bad with no warning, just an airbag light on the dashboard. Other than that, the car was supremely reliable and comfortable. Toyota reliability with Lexus experience is a definate plus. I was impressed with the dealer service when we bought it, and also the dealer where I got the airbag replaced."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing quality

By on Monday, September 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car new in 1997. The car currently has 183,600 miles on it. Did light regular maintenance for the first 100k miles. Only do the occasional oil change nowadays (certainly less frequently than recommended). In these ten years, I have never had a problem with this car. Moreover, the car drives as if it is one year old. Still extremely smooth and quiet. The engine has not lost its potency, and fuel mileage has not suffered. I am extremely satisfied with this car's ride and quality after so long (and I've owned and driven many cars, japanese, american, and german alike). I don't plan to ever sell this vehicle as it is worth MUCH more than the $4k-$5.5k I could expect for its sale. If you are considering the purchase of one, rest assured that it will treat you better than its mileage and age imply. Certainly not the most sporty of vehicles, but a quality luxury car through-and-through."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

OK for the $$$$

By on Thursday, December 27, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This has been a pretty good car. I had to replace the transmission w/ 140,000 miles on it. Due to a faulty knock sensor. Other than that no complaints. Plenty of power and a good ride. If you buy this car, for God sakes make sure you have the spare key. They cost $140.00 to replace. The remote is $240.00. Also make sure you have the wheel lock key and its registration papers."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Unbelievable car

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 1997 ES 300 in 1999 with 40k miles on it. It now has 165,000 and has not given me one minute of trouble in the 8 years that I've owned it. I would like a newer Lexus, but this one runs so great that I hate to part with it. I'll drive it until it literally dies on me, which could be ???? I won't drive anything but a Lexus, ever."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks good, smooth ride/steering, great value"

Cons: "Speedometer cluster light problems, cupholders ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm in sales. I drive over 60,000 miles a year. I've had 3 95's, a 94 and a 96. The only things I ever fix are the brakes. I hardly ever have any other problems. Yes, they eventually have problems with the lights in the speedometer cluster. The power antenna also usually breaks down over time and the front seats crack. For the money, a used one only cost $2000-$3000 today, I don't think anyone could buy a better used car."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

So reliable, just keeps going!

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quality, comfortable, smooth ride."

Cons: "the antennae breaks easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best purchases I've ever made. This car has only broken down on me once in the 13 years I've owned it. And it was only a belt that needed to be replaced. It now has 325k miles on it and still runs strong like it's only a couple years old. I recently bought a used Infiniti but wish I had bought another Lexus!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"great car , the only thing I don't like where they put the cup holders above ashtray ,no room have to close one or the other to use !"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

bought in2001 75000mi-now 261000 still fine

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,395

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "there are cupholders -it took me 2 yrs to find em"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"doesn't even burn oil yet- but the AC went this summer and I had to replace orig brakes at 230000. May have to retire the old girl as she needs suspension work."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good quality, reliability and styling

By on Thursday, August 26, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car has never not started, has never left me on the roadside. Its white with light great siding. Gas mileage is 20-22 in town and 31-33 on the highway. Very well maintained. Have records. Very comfortable seating."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my gift car

By on Sunday, May 31, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This 1994 Lexus ES four door sedan has approx. 200K miles and is still going unbelievably strong! ... One would think that the car would not perform so well when reaching this mileage total. WRONG! This vehicle is truly unbelievable. I highly recommend it. In fact, I may even consider selling mine for the right price/offer. It's white with black interior and the body is complete, as is the interior."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, April 01, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been a great car. The car has 191k and still runs great. We have only had to replace a drive shaft because the joint boot split, replaced the radiator & timing belt. The car has never failed to start. The interior is good quality though the leather has not held up due to the previous owners not doing yearly reconditioning,"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

what a good little car. i plan on rebuilding it

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "relaxing to drive with lotsa power when needed"

Cons: "cup holder and ashtray cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it came from kentucky, ive had it 2 yrs clean no rust. front seal leaks a little. but if i change that i will just rebuild motor and tranny. its that good of a car. after replacing struts & axles pratty smooth"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, December 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Moving

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable."

Cons: "Leather Wears Out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when I was 16 and drove it for the past 10 years back and forth from Ohio to Florida. I just recently sold it for over $2,000, even though I probably could have gotten a little more. I have loved this car since the day I got it and I believe I will never own anything but a Lexus for the rest of my life, if I can control that at least. I never had issues with the car and it was hard to let it go."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i love this car

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable and easy fix cheap car parts"

Cons: "sit to low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I just want to see if i can get an good offer on a trade in before i decide to trade a perfectly good car i only had one problem out of it since i brought the car a year ago and its been running swell since then.."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

I own this car. Best car ever.

By on Saturday, September 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy, easy driving, great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned! Love it. 21,000 miles, I drive another vehicle as well. Smooth ride, handles nicely, beautiful and classy. Thinking of selling, can't quite make up my mind, too attached to this one!! I have been asked many times to consider selling my car for more than KBB, passed on those offers at the time. Fully loaded from factory, no problems to mention, too minor. I would buy another Lexus in a New York minute."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very Nice

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "reliable, lasts a while"

Cons: "minor hiccups"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first car, and it is in fact older than I am, but it drives so well and is very reliable. For it's age, the hiccups it has are not a problem. The only problem mine has had is piston misfiring, but that is not a huge problem. I do wish the engine was not so difficult to navigate for my repairman."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Rebuilt engine for 1994 Lexus ES300

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable car, smooth ride, rebuilt engine"

Cons: "Minor dents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The car has minor dents and the interior is in excellent condition with the exception of the driver's leather seat which has some wear. All windows are darkly tinted and meet state inspection guidelines."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals