Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Lexus ES

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 144 Ratings for the 1992 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

what a good little car. i plan on rebuilding it

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "relaxing to drive with lotsa power when needed"

Cons: "cup holder and ashtray cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it came from kentucky, ive had it 2 yrs clean no rust. front seal leaks a little. but if i change that i will just rebuild motor and tranny. its that good of a car. after replacing struts & axles pratty smooth"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I own this car. Best car ever.

By on Saturday, September 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classy, easy driving, great gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned! Love it. 21,000 miles, I drive another vehicle as well. Smooth ride, handles nicely, beautiful and classy. Thinking of selling, can't quite make up my mind, too attached to this one!! I have been asked many times to consider selling my car for more than KBB, passed on those offers at the time. Fully loaded from factory, no problems to mention, too minor. I would buy another Lexus in a New York minute."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

So reliable, just keeps going!

By on Saturday, August 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 325,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quality, comfortable, smooth ride."

Cons: "the antennae breaks easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best purchases I've ever made. This car has only broken down on me once in the 13 years I've owned it. And it was only a belt that needed to be replaced. It now has 325k miles on it and still runs strong like it's only a couple years old. I recently bought a used Infiniti but wish I had bought another Lexus!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks good, smooth ride/steering, great value"

Cons: "Speedometer cluster light problems, cupholders ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm in sales. I drive over 60,000 miles a year. I've had 3 95's, a 94 and a 96. The only things I ever fix are the brakes. I hardly ever have any other problems. Yes, they eventually have problems with the lights in the speedometer cluster. The power antenna also usually breaks down over time and the front seats crack. For the money, a used one only cost $2000-$3000 today, I don't think anyone could buy a better used car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Amazing Car

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Moving

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable."

Cons: "Leather Wears Out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car when I was 16 and drove it for the past 10 years back and forth from Ohio to Florida. I just recently sold it for over $2,000, even though I probably could have gotten a little more. I have loved this car since the day I got it and I believe I will never own anything but a Lexus for the rest of my life, if I can control that at least. I never had issues with the car and it was hard to let it go."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great cars

By on Saturday, May 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,405

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Great cars"

I bought this car for $2000 about 3 years ago.

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great buy."

Cons: "some poor engine designs for repairs..... tight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy driving it around town, even being so old sometimes felt and looked like a brand new car to me. In 3 years I have had no major issues, besides one coolant leak that was kinda tricky to fix. its very fast, smooth, comfortable, dependible, and great gas. After owning i now want another one a little bit newer, but kinda hard to let go of this one... lol. would buy it again right now for twice what i paid originally, for i have got way more value and use from it. I wish i could just keep it and trick it out. I would recomend this car over and over again. I feel like they were way ahead of there time on the whole overall thing! Cant wait to get a newer one and see what its capble of...."

1996 Lexus ES300 with 85000 miles

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this car, its my first one but I would choose another Lexus over anything else any day. It hugs the curves very nicely, it handles bad weather very well. just had michelin weather tires put all around. Ive had minimal problems with it, great gas mileage very much a luxury car and has smooth exceleration with a booster if needed which comes in handy for jumpin into traffic or passing ppl.Ive never had a problem with the brakes it stops fast for that emergency freak moment and has always been good. It has great trunk space and just is an overall very dependable car for a very long time. biult well and im proud to own it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's okay, very expensive to maintain

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "High quality vehicle"

Cons: "VERY expensive!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have a family of 4 and it is a little to small for all of us. When I first purchased this vehicle it was perfect because I was single. One thing that has NEVER changed is how expensive it is to maintain. Everytime I go into PepBoys I pay a min of $700-$800. The signal light was over $1,000 to replace! I guess because something about having to do with it being "computerized". I am one to maintain my vehicles and at first I was going to the Lexus dealership but then it was very costly and making a dent in my wallet so I decided to change to Pepboys. It seems like it can't go over 8 months without some kinda light turning on, on the dashboard. The cars favorite light is the "check engine" light. It is very high maintenance. Although when everything is fixed it was a VERY smooth ride, you can feel just how high the quality is. As a matter of fact my 1996 Lexus ES 300 rides smoother & better then my mom's brand new Chevrolet Impala and also better then most vehicles."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Saturday, March 31, 2012

I own this car
Reason: Found a really good deal...... - My approximate mileage is 225,275

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quiet, reliable, everything you expect from a car."

Cons: "cup holders could have been better placed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was 6 yrs old when I bought it, had 78,000 miles on it. It is now 17 yrs old, has over 225,000 on it and is still the quietest car I have ever owned. Maintenance is easy-breezy. We have appox $600 into it other than the usual oil and tire changes. Everything on this car still works like a dream. If the opprotunity every comes my way to own another Lexus, I will not hesitate. This is the only car I can say that I truely loved."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE WOULD BUY IT AGAIN.

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,001

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BUILT CARS EVER; VERY EASY TO MAINTAIN. YOU GOT TO LOVE IT!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

my lexa

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love love love love love lovelove my lexa ...lol is so easy to drive and super super fast! i got more than what i paid for!!! deff worth it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best First Car Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Long lasting"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got this as a first car and still runs great with 175000 miles on it....I now have a 2011 Lexus IS F."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"EXCELLENT VEHICLE LEXUS SERVICE OUTSTANDING NO PROBLEMS IN 16 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP."

Luxury feature and sporty handling.

By on Friday, December 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun and comfortable, and good value with low miles"

Cons: "No new gadgets eg. NAV System, etc."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has the luxury features like Premium Sound System Factory, Power everything, leather interior and cruise control while with the overdrive off and the power mode on the car moves and handles more like a sports car. Clean sleek body lines. It's a great all around versatile car. This car has the major 90000 mile maintenance done and the tires are relatively new. The first rotation and check are just now due. Therefore, I don't expect any major expenses unless it's a just something unusual that occurs."

best car ever

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a reliably car with beautiful handling"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i owned this car from 2001 until i lost it in towing in nyc this year, 2011, othrwise i would still have it. i loved my car. it handled like a pro in the snow and ice. i never had problems with it outside of regular maintaince. a wonder to my life. i never experienced any overheating because i cared for my car. i'd recommend this year (94) to any first car owner. i'll miss it dearly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Worst Car Ever

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great handeling"

Cons: "electrical, mechanical ........"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car thinking that all it needed was a fuel pump. i have changed the fuel pump, cv shafts, radiator, altenator, rewired the headlights, and changed the balancer. also the oil pan gasket and valve cover gaskets leak like crazy causing a horrible ammount of smoke to come off of the exaust and a bad smell. and lately the computer is malfunctuning causing the car to loose its guages, light and parts of the ignition system. i will never buy another lexus. if you do buy make sure it has been taken care of instead of just being ignored and driven."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

bought in2001 75000mi-now 261000 still fine

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,395

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "there are cupholders -it took me 2 yrs to find em"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"doesn't even burn oil yet- but the AC went this summer and I had to replace orig brakes at 230000. May have to retire the old girl as she needs suspension work."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great engine (if you take care of it)"

Cons: "no cup holders, cd changer in trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car off of this guy who owns a body shop in Massachusetts. It got me to Miami, FL from Massachusetts 2 times. Only maintenance that ever had to be done was a new radiator and regular oil changes. It now has 119,000 miles on it and is still kicking. I definitely want to keep Lexus as my future car/cars."

this is a ok car

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "comfortable car"

Cons: "need engine work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like this car"

great car

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car no problems with engine."

Best vehicle ever

By on Monday, September 12, 2011

I owned and sold this car
Reason: wrecked

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and price was great."

Cons: "nothing wrong at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle for my Grandson in December of 2010. This 1996 was as clean as a pin, no trouble at all. I carried it to my mechanic and had him to check it out front to back. He only found that one hose was not tight enough and that the hood mounts needed to be replaced. I carried it back to a local dealer , and they fixed the hose, and my mechanic replaced the mounts. My mechanic stated that this was the cleanest used vehicle that he had ever seen. My Grandson wrecked it and now I am looking for another one. Great vehicle. Very well pleased."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Friday, May 06, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"very reliable, fun car to drive, I purchased it used and it's been perfect"

By on Tuesday, May 03, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great vehicle

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"great car , the only thing I don't like where they put the cup holders above ashtray ,no room have to close one or the other to use !"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Lexus ES near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details