Go

1999 Land Rover Range Rover

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.3
Out of 10

Based on 119 Ratings for the 1995 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Money Pit

By on Monday, May 11, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I own two Range Rovers, 2001 and 2002. I have a love hate relationship. I love the car and what it can do, but I hate it because the repair costs are astronomical especially when the EAS parts go. Brake pads and rotors wear quickly as do the tires. I also have a 2000 Discovery Series II. Not any better. If you like to go off road it's a great vehicle. Just be prepared to spend a good part of your paycheck keeping it up."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Real SUV

By on Friday, December 18, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2001 4.6 HSE is the most solid and sturdy 4x4 SUV I have ever ridden in. Bought in 2007 with 50,000 miles on it. Runs solid but here is what I recommend very highly. Get extended warranty. Issues - air suspension went out at 85,000 miles. New air suspension would run $3K to $4K. Definitely convert to coil springs with 1-inch lift and Old Man Emu shocks. I find the ride way smoother with springs. Multi disk CD just broke. Have had to replace the following from 50,000 to 100,000miles - suspension, air accumulator, radiator, battery, pads, rotars, valve cover gasket. You get my point - super high maintence but none of these should ever need to be repalced again except pads, battery and rotars. Bottom line - most stylish, comfortable,dominant, classy off road vehicle ever but be prepared to spend $1,000 to $2,000 a year in this love affair."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great drive

By on Sunday, April 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "classic looks, comfortable, very quiet."

Cons: "really i have none, got a good one i guess?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had many cars, this is one of the most comfortable rides i've had. this includes my caddy, lincoln, mercury, infiniti, mercedes,the only car i can compare this to in comfort is my peugeot, the gas mileage is not to bad as long as you don't really put your foot into it. very safe and a feel that you are in command of the road."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

The ultimate SUV

By on Friday, December 14, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is one of the toughest trucks ever made. It looks classy, rides great and will go where a goat cannot. Maintenance is critical but has not been a big issue. (Once put an $800 alternator on! Yikes!) Over about 7 years it has been extremely dependable. With 149,000 it is starting to look mangy but keeps running great. Cheapest way into the range rover family and still get the good stuff. Gas mileage beyond miserable. If you are looking for fuel mileage, buy two Trans Ams and a Nissan pickup. Together they will be cheaper to feed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good When Not Broke

By on Sunday, December 23, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"When everything is working, this is a great vehicle. Since it spends several days in the shop each month, having a second vehicle to drive is a definite plus. Items that last 100K mi on US cars last 50k on a RR. One good thing is how solid a RR is; you will always come out the winner in a collision. Just make sure repairs are done at a certified RR shop or it will never be right again."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Range Rover near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement