Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Land Rover Range Rover

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.3
Out of 10

Based on 119 Ratings for the 1995 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 24 | Next

Loved it, When not in the shop

By on Sunday, February 07, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I had my RR for 4 years. Got it at 26K, The car ran great, when it was running. It left us completely stranded only twice. Once due to a battery issue, the other due to a Security System Malfunction. While those inconveniences were undesirable, the feeling every time I saw it was well worth the effort, even after 100K miles. Issues that I have had included EAS faults, clogged radiator, and many little electrical gremlins. That being said, this car is not for everyone in all situations. If you want a car that is ultra reliable, this is not your car, get a ML. But if you want a car that is exciting, great to look at, and that has a PERSONALITY, than this is the car for you. You have to have the time and funds to deal with the issues that can arise with this type of car, but with a purchase of a Range Rover, the car is for enjoyment, its a conversation piece, and believe me there will always be something to say about it (good and bad). Read the forums."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliability Questionable

By on Sunday, August 16, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought it used three years ago(it had apparently been neglected) and immediately had things fixed (air pump, brake sensors) and substituted the shock/spring suspension for the expensive air suspension when little issues began appearing. Have replaced drive chain and some other bits and pieces. The repairs are higher than usual cost because Land Rover stealerships charge US$125/hr. (without KY). Drove it 2,600 miles in three days from Florida to Arizona and it was flawless. A gas guzzler around town but is stylish and well appointed. Keep it maintained and it will love you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

RIP

By on Friday, August 01, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It was a sad day a week ago when a drunk driver slammed into my parked 1995 Land Rover LWB. A broken front axel and shifting the engine proved too much for an otherwise excellent condition Rover. I loved this truck! GREAT visibility. Commanding of the road. You felt like you were driving something substantial. Yes, it dripped oil; and yes, the windshield leaked but if you're going to drive any auto this age, those are things you need to expect and understand. Any auto this age will require some TLC; but, treated right it will last you. Although it will never be replaced, I now have the enjoyment of finding another one. I'm torn between the '95 LWB; a 2002 Classic; or, the newest body style SuperCharged! A great decision to have ..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

If you have the means I highly recomend it

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"These S.U.V's will roll over any hondo, toyota, dodge, chevy etc. Yes they are a little high maintenance, but the resale is so low that it works out inancially even. Put less into the sale price, more into maintenence. Allthe while driving in class, comfort and a little attitude."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Be Careful what you wish for

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Most awesome 4x4 ever, but I still would only recommend it to very few people. The owner is going to have to learn to fix it themselves if they go offroad and that is all there is to it without a near bottomless wallet. Rover's philosophy on what is a regular maintenance item is too broad for the average person to keep up with, you have to love working on it. Find a used one that has only been to the country club and has been pampered at the dealer and you will never regret a few extra $1000 at purchase. This is my third Rover and I love it. NOTHING can touch one of these Range Rovers offroad if they have been prepped right. You would have to spend $30-40 in upgrades on a Jeep or Dodge to get even close to this performance and then you would lose the on road manners of a comfortable luxury car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Range Rover near Honolulu. See local deals