Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Land Rover LR2

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 73 Ratings for the 2008 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

My favorite vehicle since 1971 Monte Carlo.

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like any thoroubred, more expensive to maintain."

Cons: "No cupholders or console storeage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 3rd and favorite Landrover. Previously owned 2 Freelanders LR2 major advance to its predecessor. Impressive profile, cozy ride in all terrains."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wonderful Reliable SUV!

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LR2 is a fun and reliable vehicle that has been incredibly reliable over these last 4 years. I highly recommend the Land Rover products."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Ride!!!

By on Thursday, December 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value , handles well on road and off road"

Cons: "expensive maintance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a BMX X5 before the LR2 and I prefer the LR2. The only thing I miss is the heated steering wheel. If you are looking for an SUV that looks great, handles the road well and can attack an off road challenge the LR2 is an SUV you will love. I have $47,000 miles on the LR2 and have had only two issues fuse went in cooling fan and AM radio not working. Land Rover replaced with no issue under warranty. Only advantage of BMW is the maintance plan. I love my Rover."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Small SUV

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and the outdoors with all the comforts of home"

Cons: "Small gas tank, MPG could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Land Rover LR2. It has a powerful engine, steady ride, comfortable inside with lots of amenities and can go ANYWHERE! My favorite LR2 experience is driving on a 4 wheel drive only road in Joshua Tree, air conditioning, listening to CDs on the great sound system and enjoying being the only human beings for as far as the eye can see. Land Rover sales and service are excellent. The car is expensive and repairs are rarely cheap but the service is top notch. I get good gas mileage for the size and weight of the car. Most of my driving is in the city so I don't expect to rival hybrids. The gas tank is a little small for any really long adventures. All in all a fun and comfortable ride."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this SUV

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great style and great drive"

Cons: "Can get into trouble offroad quickly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The LR2 took everything that was bad in the Freelander and made 10 times better. It goes anywhere and handles great in the snow. It gets decent gas milage and is so fun to drive. For anyone looking for an affordable Landrover this is the way to go."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice, durable small family vehicle.

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Durable."

Cons: "Not good on storage space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my LR2, it has never given me an issues. I bought it brand new with intentions of having it for a very long time. I find it to be a very comfortable and reliable car. I have only had a few small issues when it comes to storage. It is a compact SUV and meets my needs. The interior design could use a few alterations, but then again it's a foreign vehicle. The LR2 wears very well and the exterior wears very well in the various New England weather changes. All in all I cannot complain about the LR2. My favorite car out of my many previously owned vehicles."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

luxury in a small off roader

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Under-stated, not busy, quality looks both inside and out. Smooth ride on road, and capable off road. You don't see them everywhere."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Has serious reliability problems

By on Friday, September 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This Land Rover is really living up to the reputation LR has of being some of the least reliable vehicles on the planet. It is a very comfortable car and has lots of fun accessories that make trips in this car very enjoyable. The downside: I inherited this car when my father passed away. He kept immaculate care of it. Never been late on a service, has always been taken to the dealership for everything. I have had it for three months and it has been in for repair for over 2 weeks of that time. First, the power steering exploded in my driveway. That was a simple fix but irritating. Then, it decided to have a fault that completely locks me out of being able to start the vehicle. Initially the dealership replaced a sensor, that fixed it for all of 48 hours. When they took it back, they had to consult with the Land Rover engineers in Europe on the problem. Then they replaced PCM (Powertrain Control Module), or the brain that runs most of the car. Before I could even get it picked up, it faulted again and would not start. I will NEVER own a Land Rover by choice again. This one will be traded in ASAP for something I can count on starting on a regular basis."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Unreliable past the warrantly period

By on Wednesday, July 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Cons: "Reliability and Build quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have a 2008 LR2 which I bought brand new in 2007 and enjoyed driving this car for the first 50000 miles. Post warrantly period (at 58000 miles) within a matter of 4 - 6 weeks I have had to take the car back to the service center twice to get 2 major issues fixed. - first was a problem with the fan module which would cause the engine to overheat if the car was in idle and not moving. that cost me 700 to fix - within 4 weeks of the first problem my power steering had a leak and I had to take the car back to the dealer another 400 . Not sure how many more such issues await me in the near future ..."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best small luxury SUV!

By on Tuesday, July 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, mpg, standard luxury features"

Cons: "premium gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What can I say...I've driven this baby on many cross-country road trips. I have 74xxx miles and it's only 2.5 years old. For all around price vs. features, it is the best. I was dead set on purchasing another BMW, but the SUV seats didn't fold flat! The LR2 seats fold flat, which is great for hauling stuff home from Lowe's or bringing big dogs along in their crates :) Very happy with my purchase."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover LR2 near Honolulu. See local deals