Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2005 Land Rover Freelander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.1
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 2002 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.3/10
    Quality
    6.4/10
  • Reliability
    6.3/10
    Performance
    6.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.1/10
    Styling
    7.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

3 words: piece of junk

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2009

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

"DO NOT BUY THIS CAR, unless you wanted to spend twice the value of it just to maintain it. I bought this car thinking, "hey, its a landrover", after owning it for a little over two years, and realizing that ive spent enough in repairs to have the thing paid off already. I wish I never saw it. If you think im making this up, type in freelander problems, or freelander head gasket or thermostat in google and see how many people are disappointed. If I could give it less then one star I would."

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Run away as fast as you can!

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Cons: "Everything about this car is a con."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Worst vehicle I have ever owned. Multiple mechanicle issues along with the fact that any repairs were always very very expensive. Completely unreliable."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY

By on Tuesday, June 29, 2010

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

"DO NOT BUY 2002-05. land rover quit making Freelander 1st edition. reissued as 'revised model'. I bought an '03 in 2008, 3 mths later its in the shop with fuel flow problem. Recall issued June 2009 but vehicle not in dealer shop so Land Rover won't pay repairs. Parts are 3x more than domestic! if you can find them. DO NOT BUY!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

NEVER Again

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

"I bought my '02 Freelander in 2006 and less then 2 miles from the dealership the check engine light went on...should of gotten rid of it then. Nothing but problems...very expensive problems. Never have I had a car with sooo many window issues. Every window had to have regulators replaced...Ive been w/out use of the driver window & sunroof for a year now cause its too expensive to fix. Bad trans on this one too as well as bad coolant jugs...others have written about that as well. I know it looks good (especially to us females) but what a waste of money. DONT DO IT!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very expensive to fix!

By on Monday, November 03, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Bought this vehicle almost new (4K miles) and have to say that this is a nice car, as long as you never let it break! It costs a fortune every time you need to fix it. Last year I spent almost $6K keeping it running, for numerous problems. This year I'm at about 2K, so far - and its in the shop right now. My wife has a similar, but older model - and the exact same thing! From this experience, I will never own a Land Rover again. I thought that they were rugged and reliable - rugged yes / reliable, no."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Freelander near Honolulu. See local deals