Go

2004 Land Rover Discovery

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 160 Ratings for the 2003 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

03 LR2 SE7

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,111

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "a real suv designed for off road use"

Cons: "MPG and octane rating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"3RD time LR owner if you are planning on buying a Rover an advanced knowledge on the vehicle is needed and also where to find parts, They do need repair (just like any vehicle) but theres ways of doing it without getting hosed. I have had this vehicle for 5 years Drivin it on firebreaks of the NW, trails in TN and snow and ice, Never gotten stuck or disabled. Now for the Fuel economy 12/16 mpg at 90 or higher octane $$$ but worth it. Quirks I've found 1. gas cap seals wear out (causing check engine light to go on)2. if your 6'0 or taller I dont reccomend. 3. jump seats useless Ive used them once for children, small children."

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

fun truck, useful, luxurious, cheap!

By on Friday, June 19, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car sold for 35k+ when it was brand new, and now can be had for around 10gs. Its a great value and a good workhorse for someone who wants to combine their work vehicle, with their private car. Its super comfortable, can tow almost anything and the heated seats are nice in the winter. The styling is fantastic and overall its just a joy to drive. Repairs can be expensive, so don't buy this car unless you've got the income to support car repair bills that are at least double what you'd expect from a similar style Honda."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Tech savy buyers only

By on Wednesday, June 3, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"It's must be love. This SUV is for those who have some technical background and don't mind pulling out the tools when called upon. I own a 2004 SE and bought it new. At about 58K we developed a coolant leak at the drivers side headgastket. Dealer quoted 3K to repair. 350$ worth of parts from British Atlantic and 5 days of wrenching from someone who has never completed the task. The head bolts are very difficult to break loose specifically the head bolt located on the drivers side firewall outside the valve cover. Lack of room requires you to scar many knuckles during the job. This car is very simple in design and if you can read a manual you should be able to perform just about any task."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

So So

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Cargo room, 4x4 capability, looks, headroom"

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE, maintenance costs, reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

front

"I always wanted a Discovery, so I bought one. It is a very comfortable car, and you can see quite well out of it. The gas mileage is utterly terrible (12mpg), but I knew that upon purchasing it. I love the heated seats, heated windshield, and sound system, but the back seats are even hard for my children to get out of. I live in a small town, and going to a dealership isn't an option. It is difficult to find a mechanic (for those of us who cannot "turn a wrench") who will touch this vehicle. More over, it seems that this SUV is inclined to break at a moments notice. I do feel nice driving it, as it looks really awesome and few people own them. So, if you have the gas money, won't be getting into the back seat, and can either fix it yourself, or have the money to get it fixed by a reliable mechanic...I may suggest getting something more reliable and easier to work on."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

front

drives like a sports car with safety of a tank

By on Sunday, January 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safety, comfort, space, fun to drive"

Cons: "hard to get labor on it in my small town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car ever! Your kids and all their garb plus groceries fit in this car. If your driveway is a ice covered hill, no problem. This car beats every other car off the block with a 0-60 thats unmatched in an suv. Change your mind and want that parking spot you just passed up, turning radius- UNBELIEVABLE! excellent stereo, air condition/heat, storage, comfort. Seats make your back feel better and somehow the front window is angled so you don't get sunburnt. sunroof even has uv screens. want it all plus the kitchen sink- GET THIS CAR!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement