Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2002 Land Rover Discovery Series II

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 214 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next

Will go anywhere anytime

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "goes anywhere reliable"

Cons: "drivers front seat little cramped"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have had this vehicle for 5 years. Basiclly use it when weather in Pa. is bad. Used it to push and pack 14inches of snow in the driveway. Do my own maintance, which saves a bundle. Parts and labor at dealer is expensive. Replaced rear roters and pads, front pads, crank sensor, battery and rear tail pipe in the 5 years. Headliner is starting to come down. Gas milage is 13mph, but with AWD I expect that. Overall I love it, but again I do the maintance."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very well built vehicle rides excellent ac. and he

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "wood grain dash added cup holders"

Cons: "kind of wide but comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"w very good well built comfortable heat and ac. very fast to reach desired climate front windshield defrost excellent gas mileage on highway very good city mileage not to great"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Junk, Junk and more Junk

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Parted out

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great off-road vehicles . Beats Defender on some ."

Cons: "Lowest quality vehicles made"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Folks, these older Discos are for off roaders who put serious $$$ into these trucks to draw out their real qualities. The truth is that these trucks are some of the least reliable vehicles made by any car maker in the last 20 years. Discos suffer from 3 significant issues . Poor quality cylinder castings, poor quality radiators and steel frames that aren't galvanized and I could add another but I will give the pass to the Lucas system. If you want to buy a used one MAKE SURE the following has been done . Head Job , including welding of the cylinder pit holes or make sure sleeves were installed (especially 2001+ as these were out of tolerance when shipped out of the factory, Research British Leyland-Buick 215 castings ), new radiator (1994-2002) and some type of rust proofing on the frame. If this was done too late , you bought a lemon ready to drop at any moment and it wont pass a state inspection. These trucks are junk for luxury cruising but , with all the repairs done above , very good off-road trucks. Truth is I've owned them previously and am buying another 2000 soon for a sand / beach vehicle but only with all of the repairs done above. With none of the repairs documented , don't pay more than $1500."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Not too pleased.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Bought this car on a used car lot, thought great deal. Nothing but misery from the cooling system, absolutely dreadful design. Just blew my second head gasket, first one 6 months into owning it, another grand to fix, again, gonna sell it for parts. Note....everything else was stellar, little top heavy, but really nice off road."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Excellent travel car, w/o kids, seats 8

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "space, comfort, dependability, appearance,"

Cons: "not as quick or quiet as LandCruiser"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"New Coil rear suspension, rear music, room for tv for kids DVD. Air controls front and rear. Cold air"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery Series II near Honolulu. See local deals