Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sport Sedans
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2001 Land Rover Discovery Series II

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.8
Out of 10

Based on 209 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.1/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next

Best suv I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun capable looks great"

Cons: "Bad mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck will get you anywhere wrapped in luxury and covered with mud, super reliable I have owned three now not one has ever left me on the side of the road, could get better mpg's but who cares"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Vehicle is great! Classy looking on the outside.

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, durable, high seated"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfy on the inside. Back seat passengers love the high seated view of the front window. Dual sunroofs is awesome! Safe and durable. Perfect for large dog (70 lbs) in back seat. Great for camping and Pacific NW adventures to mountains and coast!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Unique looks, great style but expensive repairs

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Great styling and perfect for the outdoorsy person"

Cons: "expensive maintenance and parts, low gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I purchased my 2002 DISCO in 2002 and have not had any major problems. As of last year i'm now starting to experience oil leaks, braking and suspension issues. My DISCO has been great to me over the past 10 years for the expecption of the hefty gas fund i've invested in it. I've been pretty good about keeping up with my maintenance, which in itself is a pricy bill each time i have it service for routine things. This model is not very comfortable inside for long distance driving or for tall passengers and it does not deliver very good horse power but it will haul a great deal and weather any terrain you encounter. I am definitely a Land Rover lover and would purchase another, i however would probably not recommend purchasing a used 2002 DISCO this late in the game."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It's always something with this beast

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap SUV, fun to drive, fits a lot of cargo"

Cons: "always breaking down, parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Be prepared to replace transmission, alternator, drive train, and all hoses (nearly all at once) before 140,000. The front sunroof leaks and the vehicle is a total gas hog. On the flip side, you can go anywhere-snow, desert, rocky mountain sides- all year long and it built incredibly tough."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

unreliable

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "leather and great a/c"

Cons: "everything else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"very expensive to fix.. Kept breaking down. Nothing minor broke just the big problems. like radiator, heator core, head gasket, electrical, locks, windows.. I'm trading this in. I can't believe something sooo expensive turned out to be horribly unreliable. the 4x4 action was less than impressive on adventures as well.. almost flipped over on a minor tiny hill."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Discovery Series II near Honolulu. See local deals