Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 Land Rover Defender 90

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 9 Ratings for the 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    9.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Yaz's opinion of D-90

By on Tuesday, November 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"fun to drive. goes anywhere. unique. I don't care if my 3 big ole dogs jump in all muddy sandy ect. Pricey to maintain when something breaks. loud road noise. Small fuel tank. Ive owned mine for 11 years and still love it!!!!!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It's Different!

By on Friday, November 23, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"This vehicle is definitely different. It's really not meant as a daily driver and is a rather expensive toy, but if you have an extra $40 grand to throw around, plus more for repairs, you'll have fun with this vehicle! (note: we sold ours because it was too costly to keep on the road)"

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

My motorhome tow behind

By on Thursday, June 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I primarily purchased the Defender 90 because I needed a vehicle with high ground clearance but not long length to tow behind my motorhome. I found the only baseplate in the country for my towbar and had it installed. Put it into neutral-neutral and 1st position with the ignition key off I go. I've towed it all over the country. People stop me at traffic lights and parking lots all of the time to talk about it and some even want to buy it but I'm not interested. Got hit broadside last year...spun around...$8000 damage. Had it fixed... and it drives like a dream at any speed. Can't ask more than that from a vehicle. Had it up on the "Going To The Sun Road" in the Glacier Nat'l Park and it was surefooted all the way... my wife wasn't the least bit scared of the dropoffs."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Update on towing my Defender 90 behind motorhome

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great driver and towed vehicle."

Cons: "Gas mileage but if that is what you want.. sorry!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just purchased a new Roadmaster All-Terain towbar for towing my 1997 Defender 90 behind my motorhome. Still is just all I hoped would be the right vehicle. My motorhome is a Freightliner FL70 four-door chassis, 40-foot. And the Defender 90 is just the right size and weight. And it is my daily driver."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, December 09, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

"You either get it or you don't. I get it. And that's why I love my Defender 90."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Land Rover Defender 90 near Honolulu. See local deals