Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2009 Kia Sportage

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 317 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

I love my car!

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "love the fold down seats"

Cons: "no cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had no major problems, just minor wear and tear."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great commuter SUV and big dog hauler!

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Small, roomy, sporty, econmomical, easy to work on"

Cons: "No rearview camera 2007, roof racks noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought mine used from a leasing agency at 20K miles, use it as a daily commuter putting 100+ miles per day on it. Great fit for me (6'2" 250 lbs) plus two big dogs. Best inside feature is that the inside folds completely flat. Only ever had one problem (not counting 2 sets of brakes and 4 sets of tires over the years)with setting rear wheel alignment- had to go to specialty shop when the "usual" places couldn't get it into specs (since brand new). EXTREMELY dependable vehicle and would buy another in a second. With the 4 cyl engine, I added a 2" towbar, towed a 15 ft boat with no problem (flatland in Florida) with only problem being lack of vehicle weight for stopping, not guts (due to gearing). Not an extremely luxurious auto but don't have to worry about dog fur and occasional errant french fry either. EXCELLENT student car, easy to park and nimble with decent looks and style. AWESOME warranty- tho I went to full synthetic oils and changes every 10K after it expired. Normal routine maintenance costs about what you'd expect at any dealership- a kick in the pants for the MANDATORY timing belt/water pump etc. service. No surprise, just a super dependable vehicle that is fun to drive- the smallest SUV I could find that would fit FOUR 6'2" guys for the hour trip to the airport without trash compacting them; and getting 26 MPG at the same time. Great crash ratings- so what's not to like?"

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

A VERY RELIABLE AND QUALITY SMALL SUV

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fantastic value and holds it's value."

Cons: "Center arm rest is a little too far rearward."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have found my Sportage to be fantastic in handling in rain or snow. It rides like a much larger SUV and above all still feels like it did when it was new. No loose feel or loss of performance motor or trans. Also the KIA company has stood behind their product 100%! The quality fit and finish is remarkable for the value. I have the EX with the 2.7 V6 and get about 27 MPG on the highway and consistently over 20 MPG around town. Bottom line I will keep this SUV until the wheels fall off but I know this will never happen."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Excellent Automobile

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent auto for price and reliability"

Cons: "vision obstruction(s) no inside/outside thermomete"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Five years old - 50000 miles - no problems - have followed recommended service intervals Dealership service department excellent"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth and fun to drive"

Cons: "No COns..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have all of this as a highway miles, I drove 250 miles every 2 weeks , great on highway. Giving me 25 to 27 miles per gallon on highway and 22miles in city. Lot more then the Car expect to give. Using AMSoil changing oil every 25kmiles. Great driving. Smooth as brand new SUV's."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Cheap Foriegn Car

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "no resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Peppy on take off/Fair fuel mileage/Ugly with fair interior"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great little suv.

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "attractive vehicle, easy parking & fun to drive"

Cons: "I just need a heavier vehicle or would keep it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want to buy the Sorento as I need a heavier suv for my osteoarthritis. I'm 74 & still very active as much as my old body allows. I live where I must have a 4 wheele drive. This Sportage is my 2nd Kia & I plan to buy the Sorento. Great protection on all."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I'm very happy with it!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car!"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

No Resale value

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reasonable price,powerful.good radio"

Cons: "no resale,to small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Has lots of extras for the price.Lots of power for a small engine."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great AWD / 4x4 / V-6 SUV Sportage

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best sportage Kia made / No longer make AWD/4x4 EX"

Cons: "Don't have a 6 speed tran.s & silver colored trim"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After about 7,500 miles eng. broke in 3 oil changes car consistently gets 25.4 mpg at 70 mph "no air running" 2 friends have standard 4cyl.front drive sportages they get 21 & 22 mpg on hwy. !!"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

have owned for 4 years, very reliable but ...

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable and good quality"

Cons: "lousy traction in bad weather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"have owned for > 4yrs, very reliable and reasonable ride; does slip easily on wet roads and is terrible on hills in snow. Overall, I have been very happy with car, just wish it had better traction!!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Surprisingly Reliable

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "kept it's style - still looks good."

Cons: "I thought the mileage would be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is holding up better than my expectations. I've never held a car this long and I'm very happy with it. Repairs have been mimimal. Hope when I get a new one they're as good. My only complaint is that I didn't get the 6-Cyl because I live in the mountains and need it for passing on a hill. Not a trophy car but real nice."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Extremely Safe

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Very low horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Yesterday I had to say good bye to my sportage. Got into a head on crash today at 45 mph, then slid into a pole & brick wall. My wife, dog, & I all walked away completely safe with only minor bumps and bruises. If I had a kid who needed a car, this would be nice reliable and safe vehicle."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car. Love it

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent performance."

Cons: "No issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When it comes time to trade it in, I will do so on another Kia. It is a strong reliable car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all around a great vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think this vehicle is great. I have had this vehicle since brand new and beside regular maintenance I have not been to the dealership. Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle that is why I rate this vehicle a ten."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best value for the $

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good mileage, minimal maintenance, cute car"

Cons: "Road noise, upholstery quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a Sportage from 06-13. I am not one to maintain vehicles as recommended-I didn't even get oil changes very often. Yet this car held up to me with MINIMAL repairs (O2 sensor, bearings, brakes). I drive combined city/highway and typically travel 80 mph on the highway. This car didn't fail me until late 2013. The ONLY reason I didn't buy another one is because I was in a hurry and dealers didn't have one with the options I wanted. My daughter is in the process of buying one--knowing the experience I had with mine. This is BY FAR one of the BEST entry level vehicles on the road!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Kia Sportage, is it worth the money?

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The pro's of this vehicle are... Cheap SUV, great visibility of blind spots, nice dash and plastics, and a wonderful warranty. The con's of this vehicle are... Very weak V6, bad gas mileage, horrible pick up/power, rough cornering, and cheaper cloth seats. Personal experiences with this vehicle.... We are occurring an electrical problem that will randomly lock the vehicle with out the use of the fob. The pick up on the vehicle is utterly horrible, however to manage good gas mileage you have to endure a painfully slow start from a stop sign or a red light. Cornering in the vehicle at 10-15 miles an hour provides a somewhat frightening experience. The vehicle has a lot of "Body roll" and does not handle too well, however this is expected with SUV's. Due to the wonderful warranty we have taken good use due to issues with electronics, and parts on the engine requiring maintenance/ repair some parts were not accessible and had to be ordered out."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Perfectly sound family SUV

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel efficient and spacious"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've been the only owner, oil changed every 3k miles. Perfect in every way mechanically. Has never broken down. Extremely fuel efficient, it has the 2.0 liter engine."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No real complaints so far

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "has everything I need and then some"

Cons: "Could do with softer seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought an '08 Sportage several months ago and I'm liking it so far. I went from a tiny economy car to it so the gas mileage took some getting used to, but I expected that coming into it. Interior's plenty roomy but the seats aren't for the weak of butt. And visibility is a little iffy over my left shoulder, but that may just be me. Exterior's nice and clean and smooth, which I prefer over the sharp angular cars coming out now. Handles great, drives great, and has enough power to get it going when it needs to. All in all a good car and worth the money."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Can't wait to replace my 2005 with another Kia

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,297

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, attractive , smooth ride, sunroof"

Cons: "Low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been so happy with my Kia Sportage 4wd. It has never let me down. I get comments all the time about the car looking like a new one. The smokey brown/beige color does not show dirt and when it is washed Shines. Comfortable ride, handles well and has a lot of pick-up response to be only 6 cylinder. I love my sunroof and that is a must with my next Kia. Little disappointed with city mileage between 15 and 18. On trip's I get around 25 which is good. This is the only fault I found and my next Kia will get better gas mileage."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,542

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Lots of interior room, yet easy to park in small spaces. Heated seats are very nice and we added on auto-start after market. Drives well, good turning circle, anti-lock brakes work well. Never any problems and we travel often. Great deal, great warranty, nice family car without having a van."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

WHAT A MISTAKE.........

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THE DESIGN OF THIS CAR IS RIDICULOUS.......I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED 14 MONTHS AGO...I BROUGHT IT IN TO MY MECHANIC TO DO A SIMPLE TUNEUP !!! WE FOUND OUT THAT 3 OF THE SPARK PLUGS ARE ON TOP OF THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WHICH IS WHERE ALL 6 SHOULD BE, BUT THE OTHER 3 ARE UNDERNEATH THE INTAKE MANIFOLD. YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT A HUGE JOB IT IS TO REMOVE THE INTAKE MANIFOLD JUST TO INSTALL 3 SPARK PLUGS. THEREFORE, THE DEALER CHARGES $6OO FOR A TUNEUP & MY MECHANIC IS CHARGING $400 !!!!!!WHAT A MISTAKE !!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Cheap Built-no resale value

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Tires do not last,access road noise,"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

decent value. seats could be better thpugh

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "price good"

Cons: "hard seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"runs great. no problems. seats are too hard. after driving constantly seats feel like sitting on concrete. had to buy a pad for seat. only real drawback i have with vehicle. i have the 4 cyl. but power is good."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Have Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, excell quality, excell reliability"

Cons: "I don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new and honestly, I have never, ever had a problem with this vehicle. When I do trade for a new one I will feel sad to let this little jewel go. I have had Fords, Chevy's, Dodge, Mercury, Mitsubishi vehicles in my lifetime and none, absolutely none gave me the service this vehicle has. I usually have had to trade the others when they reached 70,000 miles because they started to nickel and dime me to death, not this vehicle. This vehicle has never so much as given me a rattle or squeak in its lifetime. Kia did a remarkable job in building this vehicle and when I trade, you can bet it will be for another Kia. I don't look to buy vehicles based on how expensive they are, because they only get you from point A to point B. So to have the flash and bells and whistles like many of the more high end and expensive vehicles do is just ridiculous. As it is if you want bells and whistles you can add them to your Kia. Kia has an excellent product and the right price for that product in my book. You can have a 40-50 thousand dollar vehicle and when it gets in a collision you just may well lose that. That's a big loss which I choose not to take, not to mention if it is your fault your insurance goes up and on top of that the premium you must pay just to have that expensive vehicle insured. No thank you, I'll stick with my Kia and a much lower insurance rate. Excellent vehicle, excellent price, excellent reliability, excellent quality. As I said, it only gets you from point A to point B to begin with so why does anybody want to pay 40-50 thousand dollars for a vehicle in the first place is beyond me. For a lot of people that live in cities (at least in my area) most of the city houses are valued below 100 thousand dollars, so you are saying their vehicles are on average half the price of their house. And it doesn't even come with a bed, refrigerator, stove or dishwasher. No, I'll stick with the Kia brand. One added note here. This little vehicle has had at least 1200 pounds in it as a load when I put the rear seats down, that is not counting two passengers. Yeah, it isn't a truck and yeah it did weigh the back end down so my headlights pointed up in the air a bit, but you know what? As long as I didn't act like I was on a drag strip it got me, my passenger and the load home without any problems. I would not recommend doing that on a regular basis though as it could be bad for the rear suspension. This just goes to show the excellent workmanship Kia put into this vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Sportage near Honolulu. See local deals