Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Kia Sportage

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 310 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

I'm very happy with it!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

No Resale value

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reasonable price,powerful.good radio"

Cons: "no resale,to small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Has lots of extras for the price.Lots of power for a small engine."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great AWD / 4x4 / V-6 SUV Sportage

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best sportage Kia made / No longer make AWD/4x4 EX"

Cons: "Don't have a 6 speed tran.s & silver colored trim"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After about 7,500 miles eng. broke in 3 oil changes car consistently gets 25.4 mpg at 70 mph "no air running" 2 friends have standard 4cyl.front drive sportages they get 21 & 22 mpg on hwy. !!"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

have owned for 4 years, very reliable but ...

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable and good quality"

Cons: "lousy traction in bad weather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"have owned for > 4yrs, very reliable and reasonable ride; does slip easily on wet roads and is terrible on hills in snow. Overall, I have been very happy with car, just wish it had better traction!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Surprisingly Reliable

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "kept it's style - still looks good."

Cons: "I thought the mileage would be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is holding up better than my expectations. I've never held a car this long and I'm very happy with it. Repairs have been mimimal. Hope when I get a new one they're as good. My only complaint is that I didn't get the 6-Cyl because I live in the mountains and need it for passing on a hill. Not a trophy car but real nice."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Extremely Safe

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Very low horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Yesterday I had to say good bye to my sportage. Got into a head on crash today at 45 mph, then slid into a pole & brick wall. My wife, dog, & I all walked away completely safe with only minor bumps and bruises. If I had a kid who needed a car, this would be nice reliable and safe vehicle."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car. Love it

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent performance."

Cons: "No issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When it comes time to trade it in, I will do so on another Kia. It is a strong reliable car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all around a great vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think this vehicle is great. I have had this vehicle since brand new and beside regular maintenance I have not been to the dealership. Nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle that is why I rate this vehicle a ten."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best value for the $

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good mileage, minimal maintenance, cute car"

Cons: "Road noise, upholstery quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a Sportage from 06-13. I am not one to maintain vehicles as recommended-I didn't even get oil changes very often. Yet this car held up to me with MINIMAL repairs (O2 sensor, bearings, brakes). I drive combined city/highway and typically travel 80 mph on the highway. This car didn't fail me until late 2013. The ONLY reason I didn't buy another one is because I was in a hurry and dealers didn't have one with the options I wanted. My daughter is in the process of buying one--knowing the experience I had with mine. This is BY FAR one of the BEST entry level vehicles on the road!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Kia Sportage, is it worth the money?

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The pro's of this vehicle are... Cheap SUV, great visibility of blind spots, nice dash and plastics, and a wonderful warranty. The con's of this vehicle are... Very weak V6, bad gas mileage, horrible pick up/power, rough cornering, and cheaper cloth seats. Personal experiences with this vehicle.... We are occurring an electrical problem that will randomly lock the vehicle with out the use of the fob. The pick up on the vehicle is utterly horrible, however to manage good gas mileage you have to endure a painfully slow start from a stop sign or a red light. Cornering in the vehicle at 10-15 miles an hour provides a somewhat frightening experience. The vehicle has a lot of "Body roll" and does not handle too well, however this is expected with SUV's. Due to the wonderful warranty we have taken good use due to issues with electronics, and parts on the engine requiring maintenance/ repair some parts were not accessible and had to be ordered out."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Sportage near Honolulu. See local deals