Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2002 Kia Sportage

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 305 Ratings for the 1995 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    6.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    6.5/10
  • Comfort
    6.9/10
    Styling
    6.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

Zippy 2000 Kia Sportage

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice little car. Drives well, good steering. Smog certified in 2014. Clean exterior and interior. Kept in garage. Minor problem with gas cap door. Needs to be opened from outside. Well taken care of, same mechanic has looked after it for years."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car has been excellent in the 3 years i have had it and the 4 wd is great in snow only thing i would have hoped for is the gas mileage could have been a litle better but i have seen worse"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great value and reliable

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price and fun to drive"

Cons: "did not do well with one type of gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new in 1999 and with regular maintenance and upkeep a very reliable vehicle. great on open road. Excellent mileage."

Headache car

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy to park"

Cons: "everything, cup holders in front of a/c"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had this car for 5 years after a family friend gave it to me because I didn't have a car to get to school. The first year or so was fine but after that everything stopped working. The radio stopped working, I think the antenna broke/rusted. All of the windows came off their motors so they're all being held up by door stoppers-the passenger window won't go all the way up so I always get wet when it rains. The catalytic converter doesn't work and needs replacing. The cup holder is right in front of the ac/heater so you can't feel the air when there's cups in the holder-which is terrible design in my opinion. There is also only 6 inches of leg room for the back seats which is also terrible design. The ac/heat don't work anymore. There were some cables in the engine that weren't connected right so a year after I got the car, it would turn off when I was driving in the middle of traffic! This car has just been a complete headache for the 5 years I have owned it. I would never buy this car ever again. The only pro is that it is a small car (length/width-wise) so it is easy to park in small parking spaces and to 3-point park."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I like this vehicle more than any I have owned.

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun,Fun,Fun!!!"

Cons: "Gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My Sportage is the third Kia I have owned. The first being a 1988(Ford) Festiva,the second a 1998 Sephia. All three had/have excellant engines and transmissions. The overall guality of the Sportage is better than the prior two vehicles. The gas mileage of the Sportage is disapointing but something I can live with. I find the emissions system a bit touchy but something I can deal with without automatically replacing suspected components. All three are/were reliable cars it has been my pleasure to own. It has been fun watching Hyunday/Kia rise to the top of auto manufacturing.I look forward to owning my fourth Kia. Steve"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Sportage near Honolulu. See local deals