Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Kia Sportage

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 304 Ratings for the 1995 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.0/10
    Quality
    6.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.0/10
    Performance
    6.5/10
  • Comfort
    6.9/10
    Styling
    6.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

great

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car has been excellent in the 3 years i have had it and the 4 wd is great in snow only thing i would have hoped for is the gas mileage could have been a litle better but i have seen worse"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great value and reliable

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price and fun to drive"

Cons: "did not do well with one type of gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new in 1999 and with regular maintenance and upkeep a very reliable vehicle. great on open road. Excellent mileage."

Headache car

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy to park"

Cons: "everything, cup holders in front of a/c"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had this car for 5 years after a family friend gave it to me because I didn't have a car to get to school. The first year or so was fine but after that everything stopped working. The radio stopped working, I think the antenna broke/rusted. All of the windows came off their motors so they're all being held up by door stoppers-the passenger window won't go all the way up so I always get wet when it rains. The catalytic converter doesn't work and needs replacing. The cup holder is right in front of the ac/heater so you can't feel the air when there's cups in the holder-which is terrible design in my opinion. There is also only 6 inches of leg room for the back seats which is also terrible design. The ac/heat don't work anymore. There were some cables in the engine that weren't connected right so a year after I got the car, it would turn off when I was driving in the middle of traffic! This car has just been a complete headache for the 5 years I have owned it. I would never buy this car ever again. The only pro is that it is a small car (length/width-wise) so it is easy to park in small parking spaces and to 3-point park."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I like this vehicle more than any I have owned.

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun,Fun,Fun!!!"

Cons: "Gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My Sportage is the third Kia I have owned. The first being a 1988(Ford) Festiva,the second a 1998 Sephia. All three had/have excellant engines and transmissions. The overall guality of the Sportage is better than the prior two vehicles. The gas mileage of the Sportage is disapointing but something I can live with. I find the emissions system a bit touchy but something I can deal with without automatically replacing suspected components. All three are/were reliable cars it has been my pleasure to own. It has been fun watching Hyunday/Kia rise to the top of auto manufacturing.I look forward to owning my fourth Kia. Steve"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle for low price!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Cost- $1850 Owened for about 1 Year Mileage 135K 2.0 Manual 5 Speed 2 Wheel Drive Repairs so far: Timing Belt, Spark Plugs and CV Joints PROS: Very comfortable and reliable vehicle. Very peppy and it is sporty looking. It can easily haul a Canoe, Kyaks, or Bicycles. CONS: Not great in snow unless you add 2 salt bags to cargo area. Spark Plugs are a hassle to change and new wires are expensive. Always use Ebay for more reasonable part costs. Also gas mileage is about 20-25 MPG. Neeeds a new timing belt about every 60k+ miles as stated by many owners, this is common among many vehicles today."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Problem car

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: everything

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "No pros"

Cons: "Everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I called this a problem car! I bought it because it is 4x4. But this car was nothing but trouble...from day one. I regret buying it. I put it on Craigslist and not a single soul was interested, even for $400, with 132,000 miles. I put an old Subaru with 265,000 miles for the same price and I got more interested souls. No more Kia."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The Best

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I already have recommended it to several friends."

Cons: "Great Price/Fun to drive/Reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this SUV from Texas to Providence, Maine, and back again. I have traveled many of the back roads of Texas and criss-crossed this state more times than I can count. I trust it completely. I would not part with it at all if not for the mileage. I plan on traveling a lot in my future and need something a little less miles on it. I trust her right now. I would not hesitate to keep her but my husband insists."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Unreliable Car

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Got it for only $2,400"

Cons: "Broke down a lot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've gone through so much time and money trying to save this dinky little car after it had broken down multiple times. But this last time it broke down I couldn't afford to pay $1,000+ to fix it. Ever since I got it this car has had it's many issues. I plan to stay away from buying Kia vehicles from now on."

Good Value for The Money

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4X4, reliable engine and drivetrain"

Cons: "Auto hubs, oil filter adapter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car used about ten years ago for $8500. It had been owned new for about two years and had about 30k miles on it. For a true 4X4 with leather seats and low miles, it was a good value. It has never had a major mechanical incident in the 10 years I've owned it. There have been three low-cost repairs needed in all this time. The vacuum system to engage the hubs went out early in its life, so I had it replaced with manual hubs-- cheap and effective. It developed an oil leak around year six or seven. The cause was an oil filter adapter (apparently used to accommodate different countries). So, no big deal, replace and reseal. About $250. The rear axle began seeping grease into the rear drum brakes, resulting in the rear tire(s) locking after releasing the brake pedal. The grease would leak in, and due to friction and heat it would become very gummy/sticky. Then when you applied the brakes the shoes would stick. On slippery Montana roads this was dangerous. $400 repair. Under $1000 in repairs in 10 years of ownership is a good value. A 4X4 where I live is nice. It's small, so it's not the best car for my family of five. It drives a little rough like a jeep, but goes just fine over the Interstate at 70mph. If you're looking at an older one, I would feel confident about the engine and drivetrain. Due to the age of the vehicle it's likely you'll have some repairs, but they probably won't break the bank."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good Value for The Money

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4X4, reliable engine and drivetrain"

Cons: "Auto hubs, oil filter adapter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car used about ten years ago for $8500. It had been owned new for about two years and had about 30k miles on it. For a true 4X4 with leather seats and low miles, it was a good value. It has never had a major mechanical incident in the 10 years I've owned it. There have been three low-cost repairs needed in all this time. The vacuum system to engage the hubs went out early in its life, so I had it replaced with manual hubs-- cheap and effective. It developed an oil leak around year six or seven. The cause was an oil filter adapter (apparently used to accommodate different countries). So, no big deal, replace and reseal. About $250. The rear axle began seeping grease into the rear drum brakes, resulting in the rear tire(s) locking after releasing the brake pedal. The grease would leak in, and due to friction and heat it would become very gummy/sticky. Then when you applied the brakes the shoes would stick. On slippery Montana roads this was dangerous. $400 repair. Under $1000 in repairs in 10 years of ownership is a good value. A 4X4 where I live is nice. It's small, so it's not the best car for my family of five. It drives a little rough like a jeep, but goes just fine over the Interstate at 70mph. If you're looking at an older one, I would feel confident about the engine and drivetrain. Due to the age of the vehicle it's likely you'll have some repairs, but they probably won't break the bank."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worst car ever

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "good reliability on motor and transmission"

Cons: "bad gas mileage bad window motors ,cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"bought for gas mileage 4 cylinder motor only get about 16/23 have done everything to get it better no go nothing else. 4x4 is a joke be sure to carry shovel or a winch with you . interior have replaced all window motors they are weak , cup holder in place in front of dash vents and above radio stupid engineering bought this with only 21,000 miles now has 137,000 cant afford to replace motor and transmission best about it good reliability to them except for gas mileage overrated ."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i loved this car!!

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "vary safe"

Cons: "the cheep interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i had owned this car for just over a year and tonight i got hit by a drunk driver who was going about 40 mph and hit me head on. This car did awesome a jeep liberty is the car that hit me. both cars we totaled but my car had less damage done to it. It keep me and my 2 other passengers safe and we did not go to the hospital. I would recommend this car to anyone who wants a suv that is good on gas and safe."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

one of the best vehicle

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great for mileage and gas"

Cons: "not enough room on inside that it just need space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I like this car I found it to be good one gas not a lot of work taking care of it I bought it in 2007 I have only to do regular mantaince work and a starter in the pass 7 yrs runs like a charm. Would love to tade in for a new one,can not afford it now will keep it."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great little vehicle with few compromises

By on Thursday, December 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great MPG, ergonomics, and looks"

Cons: "Always moving the spare mount"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I absolutely love this SUV. It looks good, drives well, 4X4 is awesome, gas mileage is great. No compromises here. I drove Trackers for years, but cannot find any without rust now so I moved to the Sportage. The only downsides that I see are.....having to move the spare every time I let the dog in and out of the rear hatch, GRRRRRRRR and $200.00 to replace four spark plugs. Who would imagine two hours of labor just to get to the spark plugs."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good reliable, affordable car

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "affordable, great on gas"

Cons: "not 4-wheel drive, no ac (just a shell)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have had this car for 12 years. I have over 210,000 miles on it. It gets about 30MPG. It is very reliable and affordable. However, I have had to replace the coil pack four (4) times since I have had it. This was due to a failed catalytic converter that is in the engine. I have also had to replace the carrier bearing two (2) times. With this being an older vehicle, the price of repair parts are expensive if you do have repairs that need to be made. This is why I do not rate it well on quality. As far as driving dynamics, this is a two wheel, rear wheel drive vehicle. I have to keep sandbags or something heavy in the back year round because it is so light. This is not a good family vehicle and it is not real comfortable on long trips for families. It is great for just driving to work and back. It is a great couple or single individual vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most ergonomic with good view. Perfect for me.

By on Wednesday, December 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, sturdy, efficient, good looking."

Cons: "old parts not great. relatively low quality built."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sportage (1996-2002) has a very ideal size, height, view from inside etc and makes it a very safe car to drive. It is also very pretty. The quality is not the best (designed 20 years ago by Ford and Kia jointly). However, in many ways, it is a milestone of SUV history. With new iridium spark plug, it is powerful and agile. Great car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still runiing reliably at 140,000 miles.

By on Friday, October 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Sportage. Sold the first at 120,000 thousand to buy an automatic. This one is now a lovely old lady at 140,000++. Except for one sensor replacement all service has been routine maintance. My Kia experience has been great all the way."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,220

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mileage handles quckly"

Cons: "Avearage body rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Easy to handle. great mileage. Handles very well. Pyshicyle sound!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Worth EVERY ppenny of the purchase price (new).

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT car for the purchase price (new)"

Cons: "Interior now well engineered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased new at model year end. Have spent less than $2000 in repairs (other than regular servicing and tires."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for any trip or use.

By on Monday, September 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Mileage is high per Gallon. Turning radius, small!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great mileage for trips,250 miles per 1/2 tank(15 Gal Compacity)! Comfortable suspention.Seats are very cozy.seats 4to5 easily."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable driving conditions.Seats 5 comfortably !

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great handling,no blind spots.for lane change"

Cons: "No Air conditioner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Comfortable handling Pick up on starting ,nice power,> Turnpike Under proper conditions, handling and good braking response. Some surface rust. Will post photo upon request!"

This car has been a very reliable ride

By on Tuesday, September 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's fun to drive.Like setting up high"

Cons: "Not very good gas mileage.interior 'cheap' quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car in 2002, 15,000 miles. It has had its problems but everything was covered under warranty. I also had an extended warranty up to 100k. I drove this car daily to work 50 mile round trip. This car is now used for a backup vehicle for family members as I have a new car for work. My Sportage is 4 wheel drive and it was awesome in the snow. In the day, I would pull sleds in my pasture; snow halfway up the tire. The things that I did not like are the "cheap" interior. A person can not just take a damp cloth and clean up messes from the fabric. I am proud to say that my Sportage has never left me stranded. I did keep the maintenance up to date and I believe that is the Key.I believe I got my moneys worth from this car and I liked it better as than my four year old Mercury that I traded for the Sportage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2002 Kia Sportage 4x4 Limited

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "4x4,Mazda engine,Awesome in N.E. snow"

Cons: "Frame rot,electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this kia dec. 2012 for $1500,wanted 4x4,standard trans.this kia had all the bells and whistles,warn lock-out hubs,a/c,cruise,etc.I looked it at in the dark,did not know the Kia's have bad frame rot....meaning the whole rear end can fall,so future owners and current owners beware!also the rear is leaking,not from seals,but the fact that is rusting through!I'm tradeing it in,going to salvage yard,motor and trans. still good,made by Mazda.Kia does not have any recalls on this vehicle for rust!"

Dependable pickup on acceration, with power.

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price is good. Fun to have around town or highway."

Cons: "Floor ia a bit worn. Some surface rust bubbles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"SHORT TURNING RADIUS. GREAT PICKUP ON ACCELERATION MOVING OR FROM A STILL POSTION. GOOD MILEAGE, CAN GO TO 225 MILES ON A HALF TANK! CONFORTABLE ADJUSTMENT FOR SEATING. MINIMUUM OR NO BLIND SPOTS. HAVE ALL REPAIR INVOICES OR BILLS. ENGINE IS COMFRABLE W/MILEAGE."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car ever so far!

By on Friday, August 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel efficient (24-27mpg); reliable; zippy"

Cons: "windows fog up easily in rain/snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rely on this car because it must safely deliver me 100 miles roundtrip twice weekly; and has done so for 7 years. I require 4WD capability, as I have been confronted with extreme road conditions due to weather. This car has safely traversed snow packed and icy interstate roads in blizzard conditions. I use it to carry my recycling, groceries, & even tree limbs stacked to the roof and on top. The extra wide tires change the car's profile such that it looks like a sharp matchbox car!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Sportage near Honolulu. See local deals