Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Kia Sedona Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $24,929 - $25,566.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $26,795

Fair Purchase Price $25,248
Fair Market Range ($24,929 - $25,566)

Invoice $25,704
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 6.5 of 10

10/6.5

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 333 Ratings for the 2006 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Good and comfortable

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,581

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical & fun to drive"

Cons: "Caution! It has rear blind spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this used car in St. Petersburgh in 2010 from a Nissan Dealer. It had just over 1000 miles of use. We can provide records if necesssary. We immediately had the Black finish weather protected with a special $300.00 Simonize coating. It has served us well at a time when we were still loading and unloading our belongings from when we moved here permanently in 2009. We have had the car serviced when necessary by the Gulfport Garage Inc. exclusively. We have replaced all four tires recently and have kept it in very good condition. It gets good mileage and now we only need it for transportation driving it only about 5000+ mile per year. I am looking to trade down to an older car in good condition. A newer car is not affordable for us at this time. I am a disabled Vet and because of my advancing age I find I now need a car that is more driver friendly in terms of more leg room and possibly without a middle console. I am 6'-3" tall & over 300lbs.so I will still need a mini van type of car because of the ease of entry and exit."

Drives like a dream. Comfy

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Plenty of power- nice ride"

Cons: "over priced new-trade-in value bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bad thing is rear view mirror night dimmer to bright. Original tires very loud, and don't like camera on rear view mirror: is distracting at night can't see back-up lights because to bright in eyes. Love it during the day. Poor security against theft .Drive is comfortable only if you are 5'5 or under. No room for tall people driver's seat doesn't go back far enough(this is serious problem). Sound system good. Service at dealership to high for 30,000 service check up. Paint good,interior nice - convenient(especially the tray between the driver and passenger seats). Plenty of room for passengers. Seats fold easily. Overall I love this vehicle, one of the best I've ever owned. Holds to the road excellent even in adverse conditions. Plenty of power if needed. Problem: rotors front and rear warp to easy.Had to replace by 27,000 miles. 90% of my mileage is highway, from Akron OH to Parkersburg WV."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE this van!

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great van! Love the space, the design...everything is well thought out. Very practical!"

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

first minivan

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "space,gas, A/C"

Cons: "none that i can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this van! would recommend this to anybody!!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is my 3rd van. Buying a 4th. Great car.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Goes exactly where pointed. Great in rain."

Cons: "Noisy on highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Buying a 4th van. Says it all. Great handling, stopping and comfortable. Car is nosy on high way. My only complaint."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I drove this car hard - very reliable.

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable; low maintenace"

Cons: "None really. It is what it is - a minivan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Lots of miles. City and highway. Not glamorous ; not sexy; but very reliable transportation. Low maintenance. Very good value."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Kia Sedona's are not reliable

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price, comfort"

Cons: "lots of repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Kia Sedona is a good vehicle until they hit the 70000 to 90000 mile mark and then watch out. We had a 2006 Sedona and after 50000 miles it was in the shop once every couple of months for major repairs. On the 6th major repair we finally was able to have Kia trade us for a 2009 Sedona. We had the same problem with the 2009 sedona, that once it hit 70000 miles it started having major mechanical problems that is costing us more money then the car is worth. We have a ford truck with 135000 miles and a saturn with 200400 miles that do not have trouble like the sedona. Be prepared to put a lot of money into the repairs"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

ALWAYS WANTED A VAN BUT AT A FRACTION OF THE COST

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ROOMY COMFORTABLE LEATHER SEATS AND RIDE"

Cons: "DIDNT GET DVD PLAYER"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS HAS BEEN WONDERFUL FOR MY FAMILY AND ME. SEVEN SEATER WITH 4 BUCKET SEATS. VERY ROOMY, I CAN ACTUALLY CHANGE CLOTHES IN THE BACK. THE RIDE IS WONDERFUL. LOVE THE FACT I GOT THE TOP OF THE LINE WITH AUTOMATIC DOORS AND TRUNK LIFT. ENGINE HAS NOT GIVEN ME A PROBLEM. BRAKES ARE GOOD. FOR THE PRICE OF A LUXURY VAN 2012 KIA SEDONA...I LOVE IT!!!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love this van just what I needed

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a great price for what I paid, fun to drive.."

Cons: "no cons as of yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this van right off the truck, with only 4 miles on it... I traded in my 2012 Kia sportage, loved that car to. Do to medical demands I had to go bigger, which was the van. I never test drove it on the lot.. I knew my sportage was good so I had no problems believing this van wouldn't be good to.. It's been a year, I still miss my sportage, but wouldn't trade my sedona either.. It hasn't given me any problems as of yet. What can I say... I Love my Kia!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable, affordable, functional

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "functional, roomy, dependable, great on trips"

Cons: "not real luxurious, seems to go through tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is our 3rd Kia and 2nd Sedona. We are pleased overall with all our Kias, especially this one. It is very roomy, great for trips, has been dependable, and with fair gas mileage. The extra seats have come in handy and with the 3rd row down, it is a hauler for many things. Ours is the LX and I wish I could have found a well priced used EX instead. However, we are happy. We will probably drive it for many more years."

Solid van and exceptional value

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, Reliability. Cost per mile is unmatched"

Cons: "slight road noise (easily fixed w/ better tire)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new in 2007. I have high praise for this van. I have owned Dodge Grand Caravan and Honda Odyssey. This was a fraction of the price new of those and had much better reliability. 2 minor issues, the head light bulbs would burn out quickly when using after market bulbs. One set of OEM bulbs later and no more issues. Last issue was slight road noise. Upgraded factory tires (which I got 67k miles out of) to better quality tire and its now quiet. I would definitely buy another. My driving conditions are varied. The first 2/3rds of its life was stop and go city traffic and the last 50k have been more highway style driving. The only thing I would ask from Kia is to make the rear wiper blade assembly available in aftermarket so I don't have to go to dealership for replacement. I had 2 small warranty claims during the 5/60 and they were handled quickly and done right the first time."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Meets my needs very well

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looking for a great value and warranty this is it!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"No mechanical, body, instrumentation or convenience issues. Gas mileage is acceptable given vehicle weight & size. Interior/exterior finish is good. Handles, rides comfortably and w/reasonable quietness. Cargo space and passenger access is very good. Std features are good."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Maybe the best vehicle I have owned at 60

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Does everything I needed in a vehicle and overnight stay."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

WORST CAR I'VE EVER OWNED

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: POOR QUALITY CAR

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap car"

Cons: "It's cheap for a reason. Electrical nightmare"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car new, and within the first year, I replaced the battery, only to have to replace that battery less than 2 years later. I have replaced 2 of the door lock actuators, only to replace all 4 less than 6 months later. I've replaced the assist handle on the passenger side when it crumbled in my wife's hand one day. Replaced the back up camera when it started working intermittently. In the last 7 months I have averaged a trip to the garage for warranty work every month. Oh and on the doors giving me issues, KIA was worthless in helping out, I called the 800 number just for them to tell me they couldn't do anything until it happens 3 times, when I told them the doors had already failed me 3 times they said well it will have to happen again before they could do anything. I took the car and traded it in for a Toyota and will never own another KIA again."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great van for the money! very reliable!

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "14 mpg city and 17 on hwy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have been driving this van for six years and have nothing negative to say. It has never needed anything beyond a battery and brakes. The inside looks good and it drives solidly."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles we own,

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good WARRANTY nice smoth driving"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THIS IS ONE OF OUR BEST VEHICLE WE OWN, WE USE TO TRAVEL A LOT WITH IT UNTIL WE GOT OUR FORTE AND NOW WE ALSO OWN A SORENTO. KIA HAS THE BEST WARRANTY ON THE MARKET NO WONDER HYUNDAI AND KIA ARE THE BEST TO SHOP."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought Brand New, Still Going Strong!

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy interior & storage area, great acceleration"

Cons: "Center console not removable, only collapses"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this van brand new in 2006, most dependable car I've ever owned! My husband has been through 3 SUVs since '06 and each have had many problems while my van has been our family's go-to. The interior is super roomy, the 2nd row captains chairs are invaluable because of 2 tall teenagers and a preschooler and all their friends! Like other reviewers have mentioned, I love to surprise the young adults that pull up next to me at red lights, makes me giggle every time! My only issue is that we've had to replace the headlights a few times, easy DIY. Just surpassed 100K miles, hoping to get another 100K!"

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Built like a tank

By on Sunday, April 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fabulous mpg for a big V6"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one heavy duty van. I looked at all the others. It's a 2012 LX and I've put 20K miles on it so far. Never a problem. Some competitor vans might be a slight bit more refined, but none drove as solid or handle as well as the Sedona. It even has 6-lug wheels. Lots of power and no strain even when full of people and luggage. Great MPG for a big V6. As good as 27 hwy with a load. I wish I would have held out for the EX, but that's because I like all the toys. For what we need it's a perfect van and was far less expensive than all the competition. I also had a 2012 Optima EX that I just traded in for a 2013 Sportage EX. I'm locked into their products. The Optima had 78K miles and never a single problem."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

do not want to switch

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy"

Cons: "low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have thoroughly enjoyed this van! Overall it has been relatively free of problems except the front turn signals."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Is this thing really a Minivan?!?!

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased the 2012 LX Sedona used in October of 2013. It now currently has 44,000 miles on it and going strong. We had a 2002 Kia Spectra that I bought new before I was even married. It had close to 200,000 miles on it when I sold it to an indiviual who is still driving it. A wife and two kids later forced us to need another vehicle and there was no doubt that I would look at Kia first. The van is very smooth riding and handles great. Very comfortable on long trips. And the get up and go is nice! I love the looks that I get when the light turns green and I'm gone before anyone; and not even meaning to. Great visability and if there are any "blind spots" I haven't found them. Cons: The wind noise at the driver and passenger windows. I know it is caused by the wind hitting the side mirrors and wrapping around them but it is noisy at times. Kia really should go with the side windows that Ford is going with on their vehicles. (thicker glass like the windshields). Also, the steering wheel has the buttons to control the volume for the radio but it would be nice for there to be a button to change the station from the steering wheel. Minor issues when compaired to the whole vehicle."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

No mechanical problems but electrical ones

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lots of room for friends and family"

Cons: "watch out for electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have been very pleased with the van in most areas. However, I have had much trouble with the lights and doors electrical systems."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car/van I have owned

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, nice driving , HUGE trunk space"

Cons: "The price is inching up to prices of other vans"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE LOVE LOVE this Van . The pickup is great I have no trouble merging into traffic when I need to "punch it ". It's comfortable with all 7 seats filled with passengers and gear. Runs smooth and quiet. Had a few minor problems but no issues with Kia fixing them quickly and well. I am contemplating getting another Sedona when this ones goes but I am hoping for another 100,000 on this one 1st !I have had no problems taking out the middle seats and lowering the back seats and can fit a love seat back ther for transport , Plenty of cargo space. Get this Sedona u won't be dissapointed!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

06 Kia used as a taxi! Customers love it!

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth, quite engine and comfortable"

Cons: "Expensive to repair and find parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this vehicle for 4 years! It drives well, quite engine, and my taxi customers are very comfortable riding in it for 20 miles or 100 miles! The cost of repairing it is the biggest fight! The parts are hard to find with out major expense! If you don't get the original part from on-line or a junk yard, I have found the local auto stores' after market parts don't last as long or work as well! The front end has been my major night-mare! Sway bar links have to be replaced every year, struts every year, headlight blubs blow every three months, and I have to have a repair shop put it up on a rack to put the blubs in! But these little van rides so smooth! I am now searching for another one!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Van, working well!

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,759

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great van, got it used for great deal"

Cons: "not enough power outlets for passengers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have a LONG commute now with new job and unfortunately need better mileage for my >100mile round trip commute! It's a great van... has a couple re-call's yet to get done at dealer. Works well... kept up on filters and fluids and always had winter tyres put on each year. Most are highway miles. It's a great van, working well.. has remote start and after market stereo with bluetooth/aux in. Has trailer hitch and pin connector for trailer, fog lamps window air deflectors."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Peppy handles well comfortable seats

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good pickup handles well"

Cons: "never gets out of 4th gear below 40 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Nice Mini Van minor mechanical issues handles well only complaint is that when driving below 40 mph the gas mileage is only about 14 to 15 MPG However on the Highway it gets about 22 to 23 MPG"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.