Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2011 Kia Rio

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 186 Ratings for the 2006 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

Great in snow

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very good in snow"

Cons: "not the gas mileage I expected 20 ish mpg in city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect small car , 4 cyl is very quick, great value. I have had my car for 5 years and no problems. 9 out of 10 for compact value car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

this car has been great

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"so far i have not had one problem with this car"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

great car .good gas mileage, stops on a dime.

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"great deal"

Great cheap car

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, great mileage - and it comes in red :)"

Cons: "none, really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sadly, my little Kia Rio 5 with 117,000 just got totaled while being driven by a family member (no one hurt). I will really miss it. The car was dependable, sturdy, and got great gas mileage. I got the one with no bells and whistles, and the only thing I wish I had gotten were electric door locking because of my short arms. It was peppy enough, handled well, and reliable. I think it would have made it to 200,000 miles. I think I'm getting another one. It's not a car my tech-loving engineer sister would love, but it was perfect for me."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New AC and timing belt Automatic transmission 118000 mile excellent car For 4500 my number 3342375205"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Safest car ever!

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, very safe"

Cons: "costly parts, slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great when it comes to style, comfort, drivability and spaciousness. The ONLY problem I've had with this car in the past 4 years is a dead battery. BUT the cost of said battery was $190.00. So be prepared to pay higher costs for parts per my mechanic since Kia's are just "coming up". I still love my car and am proud of it's 10 yes 10 air bags!!!! Makes me feel completely safe and trust that my kids will be ok in the event of an accident."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good gas mileage. Easy driving. Runs good.

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, inexpensive to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Economy driving. Great gas mileage.

"Very reliable. Not much to do but put the key in and drive."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Economy driving. Great gas mileage.

Great little car for the money

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price fun to drive very ecconomical"

Cons: "Basic car, no frills Plastic instead of padding,,,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car since 2007, has cost very little to maintain. It has been reliable cheap transportation, for years now. Very satisfied with the overall features and driving pleasure this car has given, me. Would buy another without hesitation....."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to drive and park plus it get great gas mi."

Cons: "No cruse control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Money was not wasted on purchasing this vehicle. It is very reliable and has great gas mileage. The body size is perfect for parking at crowded places because it fits in just about any space. It is easy to drive for going to work, school and running errands."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

My little Rio.

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "affordable car to own and drive!"

Cons: "cheap interior and some pesky motor issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My little Kia Rio has been a pretty good car considering how I drive LOL. It is a super affordable vehicle to own and operate the gas mileage is great I average 35-37 in mix driving, while I get 40 mpg on the interstate. I will say, the motor is probably the cheapest, besides the interior. I have replaced all ignition coils and did several tune-ups to maintain it, and I'm very religious on oil changes LOL. If you are looking for an affordable small car don't be afraid to buy a Kia - they have improved. I drive 450-500 miles a week without any problem! :)"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Transmission and catalytic converter already need

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good price"

Cons: "transmission and catalytic coverter went bad quick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"car required more maintenance then I expected"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Vehicle has been very dependable. Ready to go.

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Confident. Great start up. Acceleration wonderful."

Cons: "Regular size vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Body on vehicle great with just two exceptional dings on the driver side passenger door. Rear bumper backed into by someone. No apparent damage. MP3 CD player not used. Front tires changed out last year. Ignition switched out due to tumbler being messed up in December 2013. was under warranty. Knock-Knock sensor changed out in December 2013 on a recall. No problems otherwise. Mechanically sound. Great Transportation."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great little car!

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "No cruise control, no MP3/iPod dock"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I call this car my transformer because it's a compact car that acts like a pickup truck! I have thoroughly enjoyed owning and driving this car and it has never let me down! My overall rating and comfort & convenience rating are 9 out of 10 for two very minor reasons: 1. no cruise control and 2. no MP3/iPod dock. The gas mileage is great and I have hauled a lot of stuff in it from furniture to trees and shrubs! And I have NEVER gotten stuck in a snow storm! Routine maintenance has kept this car in tip top shape and very reliable."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BUYER BEWARE

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE 4 SENSORS ON THE KIA RIO 2011."

this is a very good little car

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliable and very good fuel economy"

Cons: "really nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car!I have driven this car daily for 4 years and can honestly say that this car has never wanted anything except for coil packs (3) and power steering belts (2). Very good powerfor daily driving with exellent handling characteristics. The pros are simple very reliable and very good car with a nice ammount of space. The cons are if you drive in either a city or a mountainous area the AC needs to off or turned down"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Purchased my car new in 2006 and still love it

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cold a/c, design features in and out, roomy."

Cons: "steering a bit difficult. No leather in 2006"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"At 144,440 miles I still love my car. Kia have the coldest A/c. I have never had to do anything with it except routine tasks like oil changes, shocks, struts, ignition coil. After 144,000 miles everything still works. Gets great gas mileage and drives fine for a compact wagon. The 2012 model made improvements with increasing the ease of use with steering as well as made it a smoother ride. Would buy another one in a heartbeat!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

i have had this 2006 rio for 6 years, very happy

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "cheap, dependable, quiet for a cheap compact"

Cons: "engine high rpms with 5 speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"purchased this used with 25k miles. it now has over 100k. i have the le model w/5speed and air. thats about all the options it has. it runs great, gets good mpg 28-33. i have had a few minor issues but nothing i wouldn't expect. at 90k front end was eating tires quickly, needed new ball joints to fix problem. (easiest ball joints i ever replaced on a car) starter went out at 95k (not so easy to get to). thats about all the work its needed besides brake pads. still runs great, not a rattle bucket, drives pretty quiet and smooth for the kind of car it is. i have been very happy with this car. one negitive is the engine high rpms on the hwy with the 5 speed. i put on a little taller tires and it helped."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

alignment issues from the start

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "decent gas milage, but not the 40 hwy advertised"

Cons: "poor workman ship, bad customer service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had this car since Jan of 2012. I never noticed any pulling, had my tires rotated as I should, yet had to replace tires in Mar 2013, and now again in jan 2014! The customer service I have received what I would call mediocre at best. They admit there are alignment issues, but are reluctant deal with much at all I have never had a new car give me problems like this. I am completely disgusted!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Kia Rio Hatchback

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I was not originally in the market for a Kia. I was looking for a Hatch either mazda or subaru. I have always wanted a subaru impreza wagon and in all honesty will most likely get one in a couple of years when I am in a more financially stable situation. But I do love this little car. It looks good (I think the LX 5 version is the only one I could ever be atracted to) and it drives really well. Great gas mileage, nice hatch look and fully manual. I love it. Highly recommend it as a nice starter car or extra family car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Small Car for the Money

By on Thursday, July 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price"

Cons: "Low Resale Value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I just bought this car used and I love it. I went from driving trucks to this little car, but it has plenty of seat room and trunk space. I love the gas mileage and the way it drives, so glad I bought this car, used at that!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome price exciting to drive."

Cons: "no heated seats. No power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most gas efficant vehicle I have ever owned. Has some get up and go. Love the menuverability and the upkeep is easy."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "awesome price exciting to drive."

Cons: "no heated seats. No power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most gas efficant vehicle I have ever owned. Has some get up and go. Love the menuverability and the upkeep is easy."

very good value

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great mileage fun to drive great interior space"

Cons: "bumpy ride CD average"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought it 1 year old with 12000K Has been very good on repairs excellent on damage and very good in performance for this type. Ride bumpy and noisy but handles good great acceleration In short for the $ great value good reliability and great interior and exterior fit. It does not quite measure up to the Toyotas and Hondas of the world so get a good deal"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Buy!

By on Friday, June 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good value for the money, reliable."

Cons: "Ride could be smoother, not super roomy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my little Kia Rio. I was strapped for cash and picked it up from a rental company with 40,000 miles. It now has 110,000 and runs great. Recently had an expensive repair as the timing belt broke, but it was my own fault as I didn't realize it needed to be replaced at a certain mileage. Super gas mileage, very easy to maneuver. I am likely to replace this Rio with a new one at some point. This one still runs great so I have no immediate plans to trade in, but it's a great buy for the price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

You get what you pay for

By on Saturday, June 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, great on gas, fun to drive, cheap up keep"

Cons: "not rear-facing infant seat friendly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car simply because it was either this car, or nothing at all. I absolutely HATED it. I left the dealer bawling I hated it so much. Now, three months later, I LOVE it! I do a ton of long distance traveling and for that, its not the best since it doesn't have cruise control and it does struggle up hill at high speeds but you have to consider the engine size. That is honestly the only "complaint" I have. But this car isn't made for that! But in town it is so fun to drive! Its amazing on gas! It fits everywhere. And I LOVE the hatchback for groceries! My dad drives it a lot and has plenty of room and he is 6'2". The only down side is that its not very infant car seat friendly. I have to sell it now and get a new car because of that. As long as you don't have a rear facing car seat, there's plenty of room. I love that the back seats fold down too! I fit a crib in the back and still had room! Such a great car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Rio near Honolulu. See local deals