Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2005 Kia Rio

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.2/10
    Quality
    6.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    6.6/10
  • Comfort
    6.6/10
    Styling
    6.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

Worst experience ever

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "gets you from a to b"

Cons: "can cost you alot of money to keep going"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Piece of junk car it was a waste of space and time I have it for sale now if interested for a teenager this is an okay car"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

it realy a nice little car

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i drove my rio 367 miles back from iowa and i got just over 40 miles to the gallon, the car rides realy great for a small car i would recamend it to anyone"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very good service for 13 years

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, economical, good basic transportation"

Cons: "Poor dealer support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Vehicles require maintenance. This is no exception. I followed the recommended maintenance schedule in the owners manual and never had an engine problem. I've read horror stories about camshaft belts breaking and bending valves and I have no doubt this has happened. If you don't replace the camshaft belt at the recommended interval you are gambling. The only real complaint I have is the rubber boots in the CV joints. They split after 7 years and the warranty would not cover them. It costs more for the dealer to replace the rubber boots than it cost to replace the entire CV Joint / Axle assembly myself. Replacing the assembly requires minimal mechanical experience, Three bolts and a clip. My other complaint is the dealer. The original dealer quit selling KIAs and the new dealer refused to honor the terms of my original warranty. He wanted a $100.00 inspection fee that was not in my warranty. I may be the exception but my experience is recommended maintenance kept my KIA on the road for 13 years so far and I have no reason to expect it will quit any time soon. The only reason I would not buy another is the local dealer is too difficult to do business with."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable to drive. Good gas milage. Tires

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,388

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "No AC or cruise control."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"arein excellent condition, as the battery, which is less that a year old. Am selling only due to a death in the family."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, reliable"

Cons: "paint job started fading after 5 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Loved this car. Great mileage, very reliable. I just kept up the regular maintenance as scheduled. I would get another one with no problem."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Rio near Honolulu. See local deals