Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Kia Rio

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.3
Out of 10

Based on 268 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.2/10
    Quality
    6.5/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    6.6/10
  • Comfort
    6.6/10
    Styling
    6.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next

Interior elements prone to breakage

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Cheap"

Cons: "climate controls break frequently."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have had to replace inside door handles, replace sun visors, repair door latches, and replace the climate controls (3 times now). It has also developed a short that I can not locate that blows the fuse to the right-tail light. Also has an issue where it will not start. Mechanic has not been able to isolate the issue because it happens at random."

Worst experience ever

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "gets you from a to b"

Cons: "can cost you alot of money to keep going"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Piece of junk car it was a waste of space and time I have it for sale now if interested for a teenager this is an okay car"

it realy a nice little car

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i drove my rio 367 miles back from iowa and i got just over 40 miles to the gallon, the car rides realy great for a small car i would recamend it to anyone"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good service for 13 years

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, economical, good basic transportation"

Cons: "Poor dealer support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Vehicles require maintenance. This is no exception. I followed the recommended maintenance schedule in the owners manual and never had an engine problem. I've read horror stories about camshaft belts breaking and bending valves and I have no doubt this has happened. If you don't replace the camshaft belt at the recommended interval you are gambling. The only real complaint I have is the rubber boots in the CV joints. They split after 7 years and the warranty would not cover them. It costs more for the dealer to replace the rubber boots than it cost to replace the entire CV Joint / Axle assembly myself. Replacing the assembly requires minimal mechanical experience, Three bolts and a clip. My other complaint is the dealer. The original dealer quit selling KIAs and the new dealer refused to honor the terms of my original warranty. He wanted a $100.00 inspection fee that was not in my warranty. I may be the exception but my experience is recommended maintenance kept my KIA on the road for 13 years so far and I have no reason to expect it will quit any time soon. The only reason I would not buy another is the local dealer is too difficult to do business with."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable to drive. Good gas milage. Tires

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,388

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "No AC or cruise control."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"arein excellent condition, as the battery, which is less that a year old. Am selling only due to a death in the family."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, reliable"

Cons: "paint job started fading after 5 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Loved this car. Great mileage, very reliable. I just kept up the regular maintenance as scheduled. I would get another one with no problem."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Sunday, January 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very good on gas, very reliable, taken gd care of."

Cons: "small but comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have never had any major problems with this car. Every 30,000 miles it has been serviced by dealership engine in Excellent condition. New brakes , new clutch , new timing chain, new tires and brakes, oil changed since first purchased brand new every 3 to 5000 miles. Few bumps and dings on body new rear speakers good sound system"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle If You Are Not Big On Features

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "inexpensive small sedan"

Cons: "slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The 2001 Rio is a great car if you want something that isn't too big or small. If you are not big on features and are the only passenger in this car, this is a car for you. I love the gas mileage it gets and being able to fit the car into tight spots. The trunk sits lower in this car so vision is better when backing out. The only drawback is acceleration can be a little slow at times and problems with the spark plugs. Misfiring of the spark plugs caused my car to stall. There is no trunk release inside the car and on a very windy day you can feel the wind moving around the car. Overall my experience has been good."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,751

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nothing bad about it"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you like to spin on a dime this is definately for you!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This was a great car. 184,000 miles W/out problems

By on Saturday, October 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas millage, price, reliability"

Cons: "Load on road, shaking noise when go over bumps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this car for 12 years, 184,000 miles. No major repairs called for. Not great pick up, and a little loud on the road, but otherwise I can not say a bad thing about it. Time for a new car after 12 years. You will be missed and thanks for 12 reliable years."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Decent small compact!

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive - easy to park - good on gas!"

Cons: "No engine power - Not comfortable - Cheaply made!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This vehicle is a decent small compact car. The quality of this particular year is OK but could have been a lot better. They have improved this vehicle a lot since 2005 making it better. You generally get what you pay for but this car is fairly easy to work on and most of the parts are cheap. It is a great little car for running around town but its not much of a open highway/expressway vehicle for power or comfort. The gas mileage is fairly good!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent compact vehicle

By on Thursday, August 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car 25mpg city 38mpg highway"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Yahoo!

By on Wednesday, July 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mild-mannered, quiet ride"

Cons: "little light for the freeway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Car's not perfect, but does well on fuel, turn-key reliability, does enough to get down the road, and at the end of the day, that's all you really need. It's 1 of only 6.5 million made, but that's fine because if/when it comes time t o go to the boneyard for parts, there'll be a lot of stuff out there for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,945

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable car with great gas millage"

Cons: "The power is sometimes not as much as I would like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car provides all my needs without breaking the bank. It gets very good gas millage, drives smooth and is compfy on longer trips."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Horrible Car!!!

By on Tuesday, May 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "good on gas"

Cons: "the engine died at 67000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I do NOT recommend buying this car!! I purchased it as a commuter car with only 30,000 miles on it and it was clean. No frills, no a/c, no cd player, no power locks or anything...just a straight up, most basic commuter car that came with nothing extra at all. Just something to drive from point A to point B. It lasted me three years and 37,000 miles more were put on it. The engine died at only 67000 miles. To replace the engine at $2000, it is not even worth it! The car itself is not even worth that much now! Especially without an a/c in it. I will NEVER buy a Kia again. My husband is a mechanic and we did all of the regular, expected maintenance on this piece of junk. One day it just decided to die on the side of the road, with no warning at all. The check engine light never came on. Do NOT buy this car. You have been warned."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This car is horrible

By on Tuesday, April 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "price"

Cons: "engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had so many problems with this vehicle. I've put more money into to it then its worth. I brought it only to get to school and back and it let me down horribly."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Most dependable car I have owned!

By on Wednesday, January 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, fun to drive, cargo room, gas mileage"

Cons: "Slow transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car in 2005 with 22 miles on it...91,978 miles later the car is still going strong. Great on gas, comfortable ride, lots of cargo room. My only complaint is a bit of a slow "git up and go" but I have a bit of a lead foot , so this is probably not a bad thing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Would never recommend

By on Friday, November 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Only had 74,000 miles on 2002 Kia Rio and it just completely died on me while driving down highway. Such a shame. I will never buy another."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good size for small people; easy to see out .

By on Thursday, October 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Convenient reachable interior features. Noticeably affected by wind volume at highway speed; but controllable. Expensive repair bills if driven on rough roads by rough drivers! THIS car has had all of the above and currently needs new front struts and shocks and who knows what else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good cheap transportation

By on Thursday, June 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "35 mpg"

Cons: "Looks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great A to B car. Lumbar driver seat comfort exceedes the Lexus EX 350!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love this car

By on Tuesday, June 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great deal"

Cons: "not particularly fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I chose this car over a 2004 Honda Civic and I haven't been disappointed! This car has needed very little maintenance, and has almost 170,000 miles on it in 8 years and is still going strong. It still has great gas mileage as well! I'm looking to get a second car this year and will definitely be looking at the 2012 Kia Rios!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

o.k. for point A to point B driving

By on Sunday, April 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Very weak in acceleration, do not plan on trying to pass anyone. Engine revs up high RPMs but acceleration is slow to repsond. Also the seating is very low and feels like you are sitting on the ground. Hopefully the newer models have improved."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Kia's are "throw away cars"

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cheap"

Cons: "cheap...you get what you pay for."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Can't figure out why motor won't keep running. Only KIA dealership has mechanic book so husband can't work on it like other cars. Autozone clerk said "Kia's are throw away cars. Drive them til they quit running"

5 people out of 14 found this review helpful

great little car

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "MPG ,reliable,"

Cons: "timeing belt replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really have enjoyed this car its been all around the country and then some.Never left me out in the cold it has handled all weather and terrains and has always come out the other side.love it"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Cheap wrong purchase. loss in value/investment

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Cons: "Too much money trash out keeping the repairs neede"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Would donate to charity if I didn't need help with trade-in. Will probably just go back to a used Honda."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 11 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Rio near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details