Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Kia Optima Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $30,667 - $32,054.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $35,300

Fair Purchase Price $31,046
Fair Market Range ($30,667 - $32,054)

Invoice $32,975
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.8 of 10

10/7.8

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 235 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

excellent performance for a 4 cylinder

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles and performs well"

Cons: "I experience occassional stall in acceleration,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I find the vehicle to perform exceedingly well, just not easy to get repair or contact info when living in a small town with no dealership."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very nice but needs improvement ... Read on...

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Attractive, plush, premium features, mpg, spacious"

Cons: "Road noise, low pass seat, no spare tire, steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"2012 kia optima ex. Awesome car but other reviewers are spot on; excessive road noise, low passenger seat, it DOSENT like to stay straight (always seems to need driver tweaking to keep it straight) there's no spare tire! ( it comes with an electric kia pump and a bottle of tire sealer in the trunk where the spare tire should be- which wont help you during a tire blowout) However- the interior is plush, tons of "premium" features and a solid warranty. It looks real sharp and has plenty of power (200hp in a 3200lb car that gets 37mpg / hw!!!!) I was equally amazed at the generous amount of room in the back seats for passengers. The seats are firm (my car is new) but very comfortable. Overall- you won't regret buying this car for what the msrp is."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

High level of road noise.Low front passenger seat

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great engine power.- Good fuel milage"

Cons: "Low front passenger seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Front passenger seat should be higher to better match height of the drivers seat. Passangers remark that they feel like they are sitting in a hole. Excessive road and tire noise. A bit of added sound proofing would make ride much more pleasant."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

grate car!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,121

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is vary vary smoot, drive real nice and smoot, gas is good, vary cheep to put gas in and drive ware want to go with my wife , she like it vary much!"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

What more could you ask for?

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style plus all the bells and whistles"

Cons: "Cost to update GPS, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2011 Optima in the fall of 2011, so this review is written 2-1/2 years and 60K miles later. I love this car. Mine is a pearl white EX model with the black panoramic sunroof and most of the available options ... the heated & cooled seats are one of my favorites. In my opinion, it is one of the sharpest looking cars on the road, and apparently other people think so, because, as other reviewers have also experienced, I routinely get compliments on it. The non-turbo engine is plenty for me as a fairly conservative driver. My daily commute is partly highway, partly stop-and-go city, and I average 31-32 MPG; on a cross-country vacation it improved to 34-35 MPG. I recently replaced the original tires (though I was told that I had plenty of tread left and didn't really need to) and am pleased that the road noise decreased, which is on my short list of complaints that follows. I haven't had any mechanical trouble whatsoever since I bought it. The place that does my routine maintenance says everything still looks pretty new, including my brakes. Someone said in an earlier review that it didn't do well in snow; I must respectfully disagree. The car has handled quite well all the Wisconsin conditions I've encountered this tough winter (though that is one of the reasons I switched tires). To summarize, the Optima is eye-catching, economical to own, doesn't break the bank to buy, and has most every amenity found in luxury cars, but without the luxury price tag. My rating reflects my satisfaction. When I need one, my next car will almost certainly be another Optima. After these 2-1/2 years I do have a few complaints: 1) I've been a passenger in Cadillac and Lexus sedans, and they are considerably quieter inside. If low road noise is high on your priority list, the Optima may not be right for you. But, of course, you'll pay considerably more for the quieter ride. 2) The in-dash Garmin GPS has great features, tracks perfectly even surrounded by high-rises or mountains, and you can even talk to it and it will help you find what you're looking for. BUT ... updating the maps is ugly. Neither Garmin nor Kia web sites even mention updates (except for the recommendation that you should check with your dealer), so Googling around you'll discover that updates are only available on a USB stick from a third-rate, third-party web site. The cost for a single update is more than twice what I paid for a LIFETIME update subscription on another Garmin GPS I own. Forget that. Frankly, I'm surprised with the thoughtful attention to detail exemplified in every other aspect of this car, that Kia would miss the mark so badly on that one thing. I'm hopeful this shortcoming will be addressed in the future, because I really don't want to part with this car."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details