Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2008 Kia Optima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 272 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

BIG BLIND SPOTS

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Pretty good gas mileage."

Cons: "Big blind spot on front passenger side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have had my 2010 Kia Optima for 4 years. When you are in the drivers seat, there is a HUGE blind spot over to the right side of the windshield. This spot is over where the Passenger side view mirror is located. The mirror (which is huge) combined with the passenger door frame metal (where it meets the windshield) on the right, together make an enormous blind spot. I have on Many Occasions, almost hit both cars and pedestrians. The seats are not electric. Gas mileage is passable and it's not the most comfortable. It only has 1 cd player and not lumbar support. Also the drivers vanity mirror has no light, which is stupid. Don't buy this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,275

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very great car : great on gas mileage and maintenance. Easy to park and maneuver. Very reliable."

Very dependable car

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage"

Cons: "no power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The only downside is no power seats. If you are on a long road trip and you need to adjust the seat for better comfort you will need to get off the road to manually adjust the seat. That is important if you have back or leg issues."

So far, very good.

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,522

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Mechanical- quality-built, no rattles."

Cons: "Glad I got the V-6, peppy & responds well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just got the 1st inkling that all may not be well in Minnesota Happy Land. The Engine Light came on... So off we go to the Out-Patient Clinc (aka "the Kia Dealer"). They haven't seen me in so long a time, I'll e-mail my photo ahead so I'm recognized! Happy New Year!"

7 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,395

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful car. Worth the money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this automobile new. It has given me great service. It is dependable, comfortable and excellent on the highway."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Nothing negative to say yet. Still happy!

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,491

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All pros."

Cons: "No cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's been no less than what I hoped for. No major work on it, unless you call lining of brakes major. Just do the required stuff, new wiper blades, change oil, new battery. The latter is a MN must!"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

See complete review

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent quality and no problems...NONE!"

Cons: "Zero."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car bought from rental co. At 31k miles. In four years we bought one tire, two sets of wiper blades, a new battery, and three oil changes. No other services or parts needed! Car runs like new and we love it. I don't even know here the nearest kia dealer is."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Decent

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Somewhat comfortable to drive"

Cons: "Break issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This car is decent for a sedan. I have a lot of problems with the breaks, they lock up sometimes, and notice that the original tires need air sooner than it should. I drive this car to work almost every day. Overall it's an alright car, but not one I would like to buy again."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great car for the price I paid!

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, held up well with 100k in 5 years"

Cons: "interior is a little cheap in some spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has outlasted my expectations - at purchase, we were able to talk the dealer down to 13,900. It is the base model, but I was not looking for fancy. The 100,000 mile warranty was the biggest selling point, as my daily commute is rather long. At 5 years and 100,000 miles, I really cannot complain. The transmission didn't die, but was slipping a bit - so the dealer replaced it under warranty at 80K+/- miles. I gave it a 7 for quality because for a few different reasons: the original brakes had to be replaced at 30K and the rotors near after. The visor vinyl is cracking and pulling away from the mirrors, and the latch on the front armrest compartment is broken. The seat coverings seem durable and the interior does easily clean up. The car has always driven well in terms of comfort and road handling. The exterior design is nothing fancy, but seems pretty modern alongside parked BMW's. There is LOTS of trunk room, and the back seats both fold down. I had to use the free roadside assistance a few times - once for a lockout and once for a flat tire - that was helpful."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Never had a problem. Great pickup for 4 cyl.

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only problem with car is middle passenger in rear seat is uncomfortable due to drop down arm rest (causes bulge in seat) Only an occasional problem, as usually there is only my wife and I in the car."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Kia Optima near Honolulu. See local deals