Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2012 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 723 Ratings for the 2007 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great SUV

By on Sunday, February 22, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Newer model

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "All around a fun vehicle at a reasonable price."

Cons: "Wish that both the back seat could totally fold down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Over the years, I have owned two Wranglers prior to this vehicle. These were stick shifts because of the lack of response in the automatics. With the 285HP engine and new auto transmission, response is not a problem. Blending into traffic on entering the expressway is no problem, acceleration is all that is needed to blend in efficiently. Structural integrity: I hit a deer doing 72 MPH ($4300 damage). When the officer arrived he said, "I didn't know these vehicles were so well built." I'm glad they are! I was able to drive the vehicle until it was repaired. Recently took a 5500 mile trip to the West coast and back. Comfort was totally acceptable and soft off roading completely satisfactory. Milage: 21.5 MPG, much more than I expected, but then a lot of open road driving. Even at 70MPH limit I never went over 65MPH. Also, 4WD in winter is great."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best off road performance of any i have driven

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like everything about it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A goat named Jeep

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "This thing will go anywhere"

Cons: "Access to rear is limited and awkward ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Rubicon option is the only way to go with a jeep. I call this thing My Goat, because this Jeep will handle more than the average driver will ever put it through. Extra stiff suspension with gas shocks, skid plates underneath, Dana 44 axles front & rear, extra heavy transmission, extra heavy transaxle, front & rear locking differentials, sway-bar disconnect, side rock rails, & more. I occasionally need a rugged 4-wheel drive vehicle & this Jeep is beyond expectation & comfortable to boot! The dealer has been first class all the way. The only drawback is that this vehicle is with limited comfort on highway drives ----drives more like a truck (which I kinda like)."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

FIRST TIME TO OWN A JEEP!!!!

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,645

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "IT CAN HOLD A LOT OF FOLKS COMFORTABLY & CAN TOW ,"

Cons: "THE FIRST 2 YEARS IT PERFORMRD GREAT....THEN IT NE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I BOUGHT MY 2007 JEEP SAHARA..IN RENO FOR $38.000.00. IT HAS BEEN GREAT...NOW THAT MY CHILDREN ARE YOUNG ADULTS..THEY HAVE THEIR OWN CAR'S AND I FIND IT'S TOO BIG FOR JUST ME...SO IM LOOKING TO DOWN SIZE MY VEHICLE...WITH POSSIBLY A LIBERTY OR THE 2 DOOR MODEL..."

VERY NICE CAR TO DRIVE

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"VERY NICE AND SAFE CAR TO DRIVE"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Best SUV Ever

By on Friday, February 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes anywhere and it holds a ton of stuff!"

Cons: "Back seat is a little tight on the 2 door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My beautiful Blue!

"I've always wanted a blue jeep, and now I have the perfect one. The only thing...I should have gotten the automatic windows, but I can live without them :)"

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

My beautiful Blue!

Awesome!

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehicle for on or off-road use."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

@rest.

"My first Wrangler, and I love it. True offroad fun and no problem driving for everyday use. Just got to find a way to keep it away from the wife."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

@rest.

Always been a Jeep person.

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Only a legend in my mind"

Cons: "Expensive. Try Toyota"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"So sad to see the Jeep turn into a TIN CAN. The outer shell dents even when you wash it, and it is marked as a trail vehicle. My old 1998 Cherokee was more a Jeep than this recycled beer can. Oh, by the way, the dash rattles like plastic."

9 people out of 23 found this review helpful

best jeep ever!

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,176

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I live where winters are nasty!snow ice cold we get it ! jeep runs with no problem! even though nothing is good at all onice! but it is great in the winter!real fun in the summer!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Its alright

By on Wednesday, January 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "jeep wave"

Cons: "all above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"When i bought this sahara jeep with almost everything in it, i thought it would be a dream. I was expecting something more comfortable. -The chair does not have enough adjustments -Wheel horse power is 189, not 285 -suspension is not as good as i expected -It drives okay... decent car -the opposite of a sports car -hard top hard to take off by yourself -dings easily -rust spot forming on door the worst part is, when i rolled it off the lot (literally), the center console lifting tab broke off. not impressed with jeep. in the city i get 13mpg. off roading isnt as fun as in a truck. feels fake and plasticy. i cant wait until i find time to trade it in for a sedan again. i came from a 2008 volvo s40 manual to a 2013 jeep wrangler sahara.... aaaandd il be going back to either a volvo or bmw very shortly."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

It's a Jeep

By on Saturday, January 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a Jeep, what else is there to say?"

Cons: "I haven't done all my upgrades yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You don't buy a Wrangler if you want a quiet luxury type car. It's boxy, doesn't get the greatest of gas mileage, and rides rough. But that's exactly why you buy it. It's a fun car to drive. It's a Jeep, you either "get it" or you don't, in which case I hear Toy-o-ta makes a very boring car one might enjoy. Compared to my '91 Wrangler this is a luxury car. Like Jeeps of old, this one is easy to work on. Easy to get to the engine bay for fluid changes etc. Like any other car, take care of it and it should be fine."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Not for everyone

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"First start by saying my last two vehicles were Nissan Frontiers, which I loved. BUT, it was time for something new. I've always been intrigued by the wrangler but was skeptical of chrysler products. If I was going to get an SUV it had to be unique so the Wrangler Unlimited Sport fit that perfect. Pros: short wheel base and pretty agile, engine and transmission feel great, very versatile, looks cool, capable off road, has the features I need. cons: They are expensive! had to get seals replaced after 2 weeks for. drivers side leaking, but they were dilgent and fixed it. solid axle makes it a bit swirly, but not bad (vehicle isnt meant for freeway anyway. Summary: This just a fun vehicle to drive! ...I highly recommend the alpine stereo upgrade, as the factory sounds horrible! Head unit is a poor design as the button for BT and USB are the same, so if you synce you rphone, but plug in an Ipod, you cant have both, so you have to either use aux plug, or stream music via bluetooth. If you have a dog i suggest getting the "dirty dog - trench covers"...when the seats are flat in back there is a huge trench that could be a hazard."

12 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Very enjoyable ride, fun driving manual shift.

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great 4x4 for snow and good gas mileage."

Cons: "Not much storage space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drive a lot of rugged backroads on a daily basis and winters in Michigan are long, cold and snowy. The Wrangler has never failed me yet and it has 113,000 miles. The manual transmission is the best one to drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I enjoy driving it.

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "goes anywhere, fun to drive and cost to own is low"

Cons: "Would not recommend to people who text and drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is a blast to drive, especially if you enjoy a stick shift. Very quick steering. Don't take your eyes off the road or you will be off the road. Can't wait to get this one paid off so I can upgrade to a Rubicon."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great look, engine and transmission but!!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "good look and great headroom and legroom"

Cons: "LEAKS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Vehicle has been reliable and enjoyable as an around town second car for my wife and family. Never been off road or even put in 4WD Vehicle has been in shop 5 times for leak issues. Hardtop bought so we would not have leak issues. The top has never been removed by us. Dealership has made 5 attempts to resolve issue with no success. Too bad we love the car but cant live with a flooded floorboard every time it rains. Dealer has done their best but now we are stuck with leaky jeep that was promised to be dry with hard top setup."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

awesome

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We love our 10a"

13 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Not for the feint of heart

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "absolutly great off road"

Cons: "bad ride,poor gas mileage,screwed up window contro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Very rough ride. to get to the rear seat you better be a kid. window controls on dash instead of door. getting spare tire loose takes awhile. poor gas mileage. but off road I don't think it can be beat!"

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Quiet easy to handle awesome off road

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4 wheel drive is the best, easy to handle"

Cons: "Storage is limited"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall great vehicle"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Off road beast

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to ride, off road beast"

Cons: "Low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are looking for a vehicle to go off road and feel the air in your face look no more. But if you want a vehicle that has a soft ride and for everyday commute this may not be the best choice. This vehicle is for a special type of person. I really love my jeep and plan to get another"

16 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Second time around

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well built, comfortable and fun to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Retired to Northern Arizona and realized a 4 wheel drive was a great toy. Never owned a Jeep and really did not want to. Ended up buying a '04 cheap Jeep and really enjoyed it. Decided to move up and bought a used '12 and really fell in love with Jeep. A/C, auto, nice V6 and trans. Very comfortable and, so far, reliable. Seems to be very well built and it is comfortable. It really has no competition for true off road capability. My wife has claimed it as hers......oh well."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 SUV

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Jeep one year ago new, and i love it.I put over sized mud terrains on it, and it even drives better than stock tires.I am so thrilled with the power it has compared to the older models.So fun to drive, i love being in the Jeep family now.."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Powerful, Agile, And FUN!!! 285 HP with a 6 speed

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Engine"

Cons: "Needs a metal oil filter housing or spin on filter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

my 14 billet silver 4X4 sport

"Todays Jeep Wrangler has to do more than ever before. It goes down the highway at 70 all day long with ease with the 285 HP it tows my trailer loaded with my atv and camping gear. It Plows through snow, rain, muddy roads, Over small obstacles with ease. And it looks GREAT. I opted for the 6 speed manual and three piece hardtop. The ride is smooth and the fuel economy is awesome. My 07 Rubicon only pulled 14MPH but with the new 3.6Ltr I can get 25 MPH when I baby it back and forth to work. I have the 3.21 gears and 225/75/16 stock tires this puts going 70 at only 2000RPM. And at 55 in 6th gear it just cruises. Id give this wonderful version of the Jeep Wrangler a 9.9 of 10. I simply love it and hope to heck they keep the manual transmission available. I LOVE rowing through the gears."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

my 14 billet silver 4X4 sport

Love my Rubicon!

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, off-roading"

Cons: "Not cheap!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Wranglers for 7+ years now and I have to say my 2014 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon is the best one yet. It's very comfortable and I love to power of the 3.5l pentastar engine. I really like the 430N stereo--easy to use and the navigation is garmin based. Yes Jeeps are expensive but they hold their value really well. When I traded my 2013 in, I got almost what I paid for it new. It's a great vehicle and you will not be disappointed one bit."

14 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Makes you felel like u are in Colllege"

Cons: "Wish the back window wen up higher when open"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun jeep to own and drive in summer or winter"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

The most attractive Jeep yet, awesome styling

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Looks great inside and out, good price"

Cons: "Not a city or highway ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Best looking Jeep ever, inside and out. That being said? Wish the 4.0 was back or I'd waited for the 3.6. The ongoing leaking roof that took the better part of 2 years to fix with multiple visits was my only major turn off. I expect to bail water in a boat, not in my vehicle. I'm a Jeep fan, especially liked seeing 98% American made, a huge selling point. That alone would keep me buying Jeeps. That it looks good doesn't, hurt either."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals