Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2004 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1207 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

best of the three jeeps i have owend

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great for snow removel, going on short trips"

Cons: "need more leg room (6'5")"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"garage kept, original canvas top and windows all repairs replaced with new parts"

had three jeeps best ever

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"garage kept original soft top and windows, no visual rust engine parts that were need over years replaced with new parts"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun vehicle to drive on or off road

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable daily driver, backup, or just for fun."

Cons: "Not owning one would be sad!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"3rd Jeep I have owned. 1998, model,93,000 miles, had it painted and airbrushed, drive it for fun, replaced the radiator and it is just totally reliable and simple. Used the 4WD in the snow and let me tell you, nothing beats a jeep, not even my 4WD truck. Put the top down, off or use a bikini top in the summer and you can have a lot of fun summer driving. Nothing attracts attention like a nice looking jeep. Highly recommend especially for a second toy so you can spend lots of money on accessories, wheels, and tires maybe a lift!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

BEST VALUE IN THE MARKET

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Cons: "FRONT FENDERS RUST"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"EASY TO REPAIR. ONCE YOU'VE REPLACED THE RADIATOR AND THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD, YOUR DONE WITH REPAIRS. WISH THE PASSENGER FRONT FENDER WOULDN'T RUST OUT THOUGH. STILL A CHEAP FIX,"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle I have ever had.

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best reliable vehicle ever"

Cons: "Cup holders would be nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great Vehicle

"This vehicle has taken me any where I have wanted to go over the years. I have been in the sand dunes of Pismo Beach, To the top of the Sierrs Nevada Mountain Range, All across Death Valley and down the Freeways to work and back. This is by far the funniest vehicle to drive. I love my Jeep."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

second hand love

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "its a Jeep and more"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"so i got this off someone second hand and they messed up a lot of the wires under the dash trying to do something them self but i was able to fix it up and she runs perfect best investment i could of made for a fun off/on road vehicle."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Christmas Present

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "There are So Many!"

Cons: "NONE!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Husband got me a 2000 Jeep Wrangler as a Present. I Drive a Prius Plug-in as my daily driver. But, when I got this Jeep it had a Hardtop. And my husband put a remote start, New Radio with Nav, bluetooth, and touch screen. He pulled up the carpet and put sound deadening down and new carpet. He also put sound insulation on the underside of the Hood. What a difference so much quieter. He also added a NEW springs and shocks with a 1" lift on. I drove it too work a week later and haven't stop driving it! The Wrangler is so much Fun to drive I don't even want to drive the Stuffy old Prius anymore!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"except for the radiator this jeep has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned that's why I still own it. Excellent buy."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

BEST vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hard to get stuck."

Cons: "none for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this jeep 11 years ago and the water pump is the only work I have done to it."

Love the Jeep , has all the extras - must sell

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive off road and on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"spray-in in Bedliner,and carpet soft top canopy cover bikini top.half top, u haul trailer. 6000 lb winch installed on front bumper, Allco wheelS spare on rear mounted to match warranty to 200,000 miles"

15 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Awesome Jeep

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Tuff strong vehicle"

Cons: "Stiff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great off-road vehicle you can take them everywhere"

I purchased the Jeep used.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If maintained properly and not in the condition I found it in they are very reliable. Repairing the vehicle is less than you would pay for repairs on a similar vehicle and parts a inexpensive. My mpg has been above the EPA rating by 2 to 4 miles per gallon."

25 people out of 36 found this review helpful

The most fun vehicle to drive. It is cute,sassy.

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive and easy to park says it all. Bouncy"

Cons: "not a terribly comfortable back seat. but a thrill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2002 Jeep APEX

"I had a new top installed last year. Has never been driven off road but sure needs to be. Sturdy, efficient, reliable. It is an APEX: 7 speakers, beautifully maintained. Fun to drive through the city, but certainly need to test its mettle off-road. I bought this jeep from a dealer in central PA, but in the three plus years I've owned it,I have only driven it about 8 thousand miles. The cognac bucket seats (leather) are sought after by jeep afficianados."

12 people out of 20 found this review helpful

2002 Jeep APEX

Jeep has been garage kept and driven 2 mnts a yr

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Reliable transportation and lots of fun"

Cons: "gas mileage and accelaration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've really enjoyed my Jeep , getting close to retirement and not driving as often .I'm the 2nd owner and I've had it 5 years . Car-fax will come back clean ."

12 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Most reliable and funnest vehicle I ever owned.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, coverage, fun"

Cons: "offer lower gears for off roaders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Let's face there is a reason Jeep is the number one off road vehicle more than any other maker. It is what they do. If you want to put around town looking cool with the top and doors off this is your vehicle, but don't waste the opportunity to take it off road and test it's limits. It's one of the very few vehicles where off road damage to the drive train is covered under warranty. I took mine off road the day I bought it and many times since. Never a drive train problem. Scratches, a few dents yeah. Stay on top of them with primer and touch up to avoid the rust. NOTE: If you are going to buy bigger tires for your Jeep and take it off road make sure the fender clearance is enough for your shocks to be fully compressed and not rub. Only downfall , with the 6 cyl. the gears are more for highway use. If you plan to take the sport off road on a consistent basis, which I highly recommend, Install a quality lift kit, 33 inch tires and change out the differential to something around the 5.00 range. The 4 cyl. wrangler with no extras is comparable to a modified 6 cyl. with the exception of climbing taller rock formations. For mud and dirt trails the 4 cyl. is the better cheaper alternative, especially if you never take it off road. For off road fun and versatility, through outfitting, The sport with the Power in-line 6 engine, (ask an old mechanic about the in-line six engine) It is one of the funnest man toys. kids love it too."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

most fun vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and value. FUN to drive!!"

Cons: "side windows zip."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

FUN! FUN! FUN!

"I purchased this vehicle as a graduation gift to myself. Now life is changing abit and I need to pass on the fun to another person! I absolutely loved driving this vehicle. I've never been off road. No accidents. Added chrome step ups and 12 disc CD changer. AC is great!!!"

16 people out of 25 found this review helpful

FUN! FUN! FUN!

If you enjoy the outdoors, you will love a TJ!!!

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great adventure vehicle... goes to any terrain and place in any weather!"

Best 4x4 of the decade

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun. Great in winter. Awesome off road."

Cons: "Low gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I read reviews complaining how a wrangler doesn't ride like some luxury car. Duh! My wife and I both drive and love our wranglers. Lots of fun, super in the snow. Top down and doors off can't be matched by anything around. But they sure aren't easy on gas."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my 2000 TJ Sport for several years. It's been great, with only the #3 fuel injector having issues with over heating. This happens infrequently, and only when it's REALLY hot(110 degrees plus), and driving in stop and go traffic. This year jeep rides like a Cadillac compared to the generations before. These are not luxury vehicles, which I'm fine with. As a matter of fact, I pulled all the carpet out, so I can just hose out any mud, etc. I'm running a small lift, and 35" tires. Rear axle is a d44, and both have been regeared to 4.88. Keep it light, and you'll be fine. Start throwing on bumpers, armor, winch, etc, and you'll need bigger axles, and a v8. I would buy again."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Good Condition Power Train done Motor, Trans

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive Handles and drives like New"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car had 300 miles on Radiator Engine, Transmission Clutch Throw out Bearing when"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great beach Car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun car to drive."

Cons: "Pain letting people out of back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Had this car from new. Second car and children drove through college."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Have enjoyed its total reliability.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Mechanically perfect, great in winter weather"

Cons: "No CD player, poor MPG, body needs some work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for 13 years. I have had regular maintenance done (unfortunately I did not keep records). It has been a truly reliable car and relatively inexpensive to own, outside of non-exceptional maintenance cost in replacing an alternator as an example. It has handled like you would expect from a Jeep, not the smoothest or quietest ride. It has some "cosmetic issues" such as fender rust,bumper damage from striking a parking garage post. Otherwise totally accident free. Transmission works perfectly. Truly, my only issue is its poor MPG, which has not changed since purchase, but we all know what gas prices have done over the years. It has very low mileage, given its age. Still enjoy the car and only considering a change for better MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lifetime Jeep owner

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, great in bad weather"

Cons: "Rough ride, small for big people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely LOVE my Jeep! I have owned it the entire time and while it's getting older and needing repairs, it has kept running and been very reliable. I love taking it off-roading! I've had a few accidents in it, one I should have rolled, but due to the model and wider wheel base package I got, it stayed upright (black ice on a highway is bad!). I will always own a Jeep, most likely this Jeep for as long as I drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 ever

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2003 Jeep

"Pros: Most capable vehicle ever made for non-military use.... Cons: Some do not like how they ride & drive, but you don't buy one for driving comfort or gas mileage.."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My 2003 Jeep

great "fun" vehicle

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable beer runner, easy to modify"

Cons: "lower MPG, no stock diesel option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Don't buy a jeep thinking it will ride like a sports car and you will enjoy it much better. Love my 2005 Unlimited rubicon Wrangler. The extra wheel base helps for off road and on road conditions. Has run solid since I bought it 4 years ago. Been rock crawling, dune hopping, beach bummin, and camping on it and the only thing I could ask for would be a diesel engine for fuel economy but the 4.0 is a beast for a stock or slightly modded jeep. Pull out the carpet drop the roof and hit the beach. For what it is this unlimited version from 2005 to 2006 is one of the best jeep models in my opinion."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals