Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1180 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, looks great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was going to keep it many more years, but III am now unsble to drive a manual shift."

Can't Beat a Jeep Wrangler - It's all that!

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Relability, Drivability, Style, Tough, Fun"

Cons: "Small back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jeep has been making great vehicles for years. The wrangler is at the top of my list of the greatest ever! The Wrangler has been used by the Military. It's tough, reliable and the inline 6 motor (known as the 4.0) in the wrangler is "bullet proof" according to an engine re-builder I know and many others have the same opinion. He says there are few motors better built as this one. Sad they are no longer using this motor in the new wranglers. Fools! I will always be a wrangler owner. Love them!"

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

nice jeep

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle to joy ride in."

Fun vehicle to drive in the mud

By on Sunday, April 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price"

Cons: "rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great car to drive around on the beach and in the mud. Not the best ride driving around town or on long trips"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Perfect for my lifestyle.

By on Wednesday, April 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had nothing but fun and great perfomance with my jeep. I won't buy any thing else."

Great all arround powerful vehicle, get u anywhere

By on Friday, March 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power and versatility"

Cons: "Noisy on highway driving, soft top"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From the road to real off road, this is the vehicle. It's not like the modern "jeep"that has an engine that belongs in a Prius, it really hauls and has the torque to get u up any mountain no matter the conditions. I use it in Snow and Ice as well as dirt and Mud, nothing stops it! And it is completely stock."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Review Wrangler

By on Tuesday, March 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "convertable, cheap insurance"

Cons: "gas mileage, needs repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Has no Top (complete) has no back seat Clutch in need of repair. Front Wheel well damage Paint scrapes, need repair AC needs repair Fog Lights not working No Horn working"

1 person out of 18 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep

By on Tuesday, March 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love it every time I fire it up"

Cons: "Don't sweat the small stuff ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Raised it from a pup. You couldn't have any vehicle be more fun. Not a highway cruiser and not real fuel efficient but never a problem in 10 years. Original battery and top. Change the fluids, check the belts and it's ready to rock. A basic vehicle for doing basic things. A classic look. This baby will be in my will to the next generation of family funsters."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

If you want a tough jeep this is it!

By on Thursday, November 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased with 4 miles on it. It now has 211,000. 2 water pumps. ORIGINAL CLUTCH still in the transmission. It has been T-boned twice and is now a totally custom sleeper rock crawler, daily driver with 1 tons."

15 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Extremely fun car

By on Saturday, November 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun, cheap, excellent in mud, sand, rock or snow"

Cons: "loud, inefficent with mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable vehicle that kills it off-road. Nothing like bouncing around off road with the top off in the summer! Works as a daily driver as well, but tends to guzzle the gas and isn't the most comfortable highway ride as it can get quite loud with either the soft or hard top."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car, but not for everybody

By on Monday, November 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Very tough, fun to drive, reliable, offroading"

Cons: "Gas guzzler, noisy, very basic design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought a 2004 Jeep Wrangler SE with the 4 banger brand new in September of 2004 and I love this car. Mechanically, I have replaced the brakes, replaced the tires, had the AC fixed (freon leak), replaced the 02 sensor, and replaced the battery twice...no other mechanical issues. I religously service my vehicle according to the maintenance schedule. I have had issues with the front end shimmy (death wobble), but through research on the internet, got it fixed. The engine is underpowered, especially when you try to get on the highway. You'll love a Wrangler as long as you keep your expectation in check. The car is very tough and designed to go offroad, but there are other vehicles that are better, smoother, and better designed for on road travel. It's a blast to drive because you can take the top down and is pretty reliable as long as you maintain the car. It gets horrible gas mileage (around 21 MPG without AC, around 16 with AC). Good luck!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

It's a Jeep.

By on Saturday, October 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Dead stupid reliable and cheap to fix."

Cons: "Like being shaken about in a box?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Loud, gas guzzling, generally uncomfortable, and a ride akin to sitting on a bag of sharp rocks and being shaken about violently. Awful, and I mean, scary on the highway. The NP231 transfer case lacks a viscous coupling, so it's all but useless for 90% of your winter driving - Though it does shine with good tires and 3-4+ inches of snow on the road, and the heater will burn your hands. That's a good thing, because even with an insulated hard top, it's always drafty inside. And leaks in the rain. If your Jeep doesn't yet, it will someday. Repairs are near constant on the suspension, the evap system, and random small problems - Mine started at 40,000 miles. The windshield needs replacement regularly as it is flat and pits excessively. Plan on replacing your heater fan resistor a few times through the life of the vehicle. Everything will leak before 100k. It's a Chrysler, and built like garbage, and lacks meaningful rustproofing. The interior is spartan, and cramped. Did I mention loud, and all over the road at any speed above 55mph? Now, it sounds like I hate this thing, but that's not the case, the information above is all true. It's a Jeep. It has never, ever broken down and left me stranded somewhere. It will soldier on broken for thousands and thousands of miles. The roof comes off, I don't hate myself for driving it in the winter, and really I never feel bad about anything I do to it. Parts are cheap, readily available, and simple to replace. There's nothing to break for the most part. And it's cool. It's a Jeep! Re: My score of 1 to "Likely to Recommend." If you want a Jeep, you buy one. But most people really don't."

19 people out of 27 found this review helpful

best and toughest vehicle ever owned

By on Thursday, October 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "durable, good looking, sleek and a work horse."

Cons: "rough rider, wabbly after a small lift job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this vehicle has over 90,000 miles and never had a major break-down, i have accessorized my vehicle very much and looks like i just bought it from the showroom... very dependable,cost efficient, quick and a work horse, i would not trade it for anything under $ 13,000.00"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best $700 dollars spent in my life!

By on Thursday, October 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 2002 jeep Wrangler for $700 crashed put $800 in parts and runs like a champ what a great car that is super easy to work on yourself!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Jeep Tough

By on Tuesday, October 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tough, reliable, off-roading is a blast"

Cons: "No way... best vehicle ever!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Loving the Jeep

"I have a 2005 Wrangler X with half doors and a soft top. This is the best vehicle ever.... I have owned, and subsequently destroyed/totaled about 8 other vehicles it was not until I bought my Jeep that I finally have a vehicle that is tough enough for my driving. On road, off road, it does not matter to the jeep. It is the perfect vehicle, I use it every day as a commute vehicle and use it as a toy for off-roading trips. I have had a few issues with the wobble after the lift but it is a good toy to fix up and it is fun. If you need storage take out the back seat they have a storage trunk insert, or a roof rack, if you are worried about the handling... well it's a jeep. Worried about the gas mileage... don't jack it up and it's a jeep. LOVE IT!!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loving the Jeep

It's a JEEP, what did you expect?

By on Sunday, September 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Holds its resale value, customizable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a JEEP. That means that it can do almost ANYTHING and go almost ANYWHERE! Completely stock, you would be AMAZED at where this vehicle can go. My friend's Jeep is completely stock and was climbing hills, crossing streams that other vehicles at the ORV park couldn't go. With just a small lift kit and bigger off-road tires, this vehicle is almost unstoppable. Steep inclines, mud holes, deep snow; this Jeep can take it all. Even though it is small and light, it can tow / pull bigger vehicles out of trouble. The last big snow storm we had, our Jeep must have pulled 50 cars out of snow banks & ditches. The hard top is awesome in the winter. The soft top is awesome anytime. And the fact that you can take off the top and the doors makes this the most awesome ever!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle i ever owned

By on Friday, September 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will tell anyone to buy this vehicle .It is a very reliable car.I was in a accident where the person ran a red light and it took a 50mph impact .I walked away from it very sore but i was ok.the durability was excellent."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love it!!

By on Thursday, September 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4x4 king!"

Cons: "a little cold sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"wrangler, best rigs i have ever owned"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Took a beating

By on Friday, August 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfy-go-anywhere. It's a Jeep!!"

Cons: "roughish ride, lots of road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove my 2001 jeep from Montana to Wis. enough times to put 116000 miles on it and I haven't had to fix anything! And that's down to the floor with my poor 4 cylinder almost the whole way. Talk about tough!!!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My favorit Jeep yet.

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellent resale, convertible, go-anywhere"

Cons: "not a commuter vehicle, needs a marine radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned about 15 Jeeps from year model 1947 to 2005. My current 05 Rubicon is by far the best and most capable. I purchased it used with about 5000 dollars worth of modifications. I love the venerable old inline 6 motor, I wish they hadn't stopped making them. The Jeep gets a lot of attention and the Rubicon package along with aftermarket components makes for a truly 'go anwhere' vehicle that one can feel confident while driving. The modern soft tops are great compared to the old days. Having a 6 speed manual coupled with 4.10 gears for the 36" tires is a perfect combination on the road and when in low range (4-1 transfer case helps there). Mileage is not bad for a massive lift and tires, about 17 mpg (I do not drive more than 65 mph, though, Jeeps are not aerodynamic). Big Jeeps and Rubicons are not for everyone. They require driver attention and knowledge of their unique handling. They are not Cadillacs. They are a vehicle you can still work on yourself and the less frills, the less trouble you will have in the long run. I may have to get a four door one day, though, just for comparison."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Wow, Black, hardtop and chrome package

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wife loves to drive it too!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a great fun jeep, hasn't been in rain or snow in the past 3 years. Garaged last 3 winters. Great black wrangler with auto, air, great heater, ps, pb, factory hardtop with rear defroster & wiper, chrome package which includes (chrome wheels, front, rear & door chrome bumpers,gas filler,tail light covers) and gray soft-top. Has it all, turns heads everywhere it is driven by seniors, kids and all auto enthusiasts. There aren't any scratches, dents, never been off road or rock climbing. Just 24400 miles on this 2006 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2 door. A real fun jeep. Last of this body style."

I love this CAR!!!!

By on Monday, July 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive, holds its value well"

Cons: "High price, gas hog"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a really fun car to own...but you need to buy it at the right time in life and/or have a deep pocket. This car is a huge gas hog. But dont get me wrong it is worth the gas money. Its just full of fun waiting to happen on and off road. But be ready to feel every little bump in the road as if it was a pot hole...and btw pot hole will send your back into spasms. All around if you are looking for a fun ride this is the car to get. Its a Wrangler so you either love it or hate it, there is no in between."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is my 6th Jeep!!

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of adrenaline rushes and admiring stares"

Cons: "Won't fit in the house."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. I have owned many jeeps and loved them all! It's like driving a big go-cart. Fun, easy to drive, great in traffic and parks anywhere. Can't tell you how many times we went to an event and parked right up front because I could park where no one else could. I have never lost money on a jeep. I have usually made double what I paid for them and up to three times their original new price for the older ones. In the summer, a bikini top and half doors is what gets many looks. For the single guys it is a chick magnet. I once had a dozen cheerleaders at 7am in 30 degree weather in McLean, TX dancing around my jeep. Unbelievable."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great vehicle. Fun to drive.

By on Monday, July 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great little vehicle. Fun to drive. Dependable."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had for 6 years and it only took a couple of months for it to become my daily driver. So much fun to drive, and handles great. Have had off road and it goes anywhere you want as long as you watch what you are doing. Dependable."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

So much pride in owning a wrangler!

By on Monday, May 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Super fun, almost everyone loves jeeps"

Cons: "GAS, offroading and then it breaks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Jeeps aren't just vehicles! They're a life style! I remember wanting one for the longest time and I got one when I graduated and I couldn't be happier. Everyday I feel like the king of the road. Waving at other wranglers and after I get back on the roads after a good muddin trip and I get so many stares and thumbs up. It's the greats thing in the world."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details