Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1198 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 120 | Next

fun to drive

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have three tops hard top,safari top,and soft top(never used)"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

what can I say. Its a Jeep and is what it is.

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "snow won't stop you from getting to work"

Cons: "snow won't stop you from getting to work (lol)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my mid-life crisis purchase and I never let it go. Have only had to replace those items that you would expect to fix/replace (tires / brakes wipers etc.) Still has original top that is in good shape. I replaced the side windows after 10 years which is longer than the average. I have sliding windows on the doors and that is better than folding a dirty pc of plastic into the car against your leg. Have liked it from first day I got it."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my 04 jeep wrangler rubicon

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,425

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes where other 4x4s fear to go"

Cons: "GAS MILAGE 16-17 city 20-22 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle used... It is by far the best vehicle i've ever owned. I do not do much offroading BUT if i wanted/needed to it would take me where I want to go. I've been asked than in the south why do you need 4 wheel drive.MY answer is always the same I'd rather have 4 wheel drive and not need it than to NEED IT and not have it. Yes it rides a little rougher than a car and it takes more gas to go somewhere BUT its built to take on almost anything and bring you out the other side. IT IS A GO ANYWHERE DO ANYTHING MACHINE."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle for price

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price, great for plowing, Safe"

Cons: "Gas mileage so so. Replaced heater fan 3 x. AC 2x"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than on going heater and AC problems I love this vehicle. Gas mileage is not great but Great safe winter driving in Wisconsin. This Jeep will go through almost anything. I am getting a little old now for the climb up to enter but will probably keep this vehicle with plow until it dies or I do."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good vehicle - could be designed better on inside.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good for off road situations"

Cons: "not a lot of room on inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good overall 4-wd vehicle"

very reliable, great car

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "goes anywhere"

Cons: "gas mileage is 14 around town and maybe 17 or 18"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"wrangler sahara model with no power windows or fancy electronic nav. been a great car and will probably keep it forever"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

lots of fun, second one I owned

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "low gears--- low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle except the low gas mileage. It Always gets me home (I live on a dirt road over a hill) in the winter. Lots of fun, I like taking the top and doors off in the summer. I've crashed a motorcycle into a drunk driver, with the jeep-- I have seat belts, air bags 4 tires, a stout bumper and feel much safer for when the next drunk hits me. The wrangler is a spin off from the military jeep and a good tribute to a vehicle that served our military well."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great solid rig

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,020

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Rock solid, fun, easy to maintain"

Cons: "Jerky suspension."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over all I love the Jeep. I have had almost no problems mechanically with just routine maintenance performed. Of course I also run Amsoil Signature fluids in the engine, tranny, and frond and rear diff. I think that if you run this rig with the correct fluids it will not just not let you down but it will run to the end of the trail and then some. My one complaint is that I wish it had Bluetooth integrated with a prompt on the steering wheel."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

TJ for me

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low gears, air lockers, cast iron straight 6."

Cons: "Should have bought 2."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this Jeep, and very happy I got the Rubicon Edition. The newer model JK has no appeal to me with a V6 since I actually use mine off road from time to time. You just can't replace the low end torque, slowly creeping up a tough hill, with an aluminum block mini van engine. I held on to my 89 YJ up to the point Jeep rumored fundamentally changing the Wrangler, and 2005 finally offered a 6 speed manual. The 05/06 Rubicon is the holy grail of the Wrangler and I have one in khaki, hard & soft top, lift, wench, etc.."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Glad I bought this Jeep

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price was right; very much fun to drive."

Cons: "No locking console (but glove box is lockable)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first Jeep, and have no regrets getting it. We bought it brand new. It does what it's supposed to do, and has never let us down. About the only inconvenience that comes to mind is the lack of a locking console between the front seats, but that can be taken care of with aftermarket products. Its 4WD system is of the outstanding quality you can expect of Jeep from the early 2000s; the only time we got stuck in moderately-deep wet snow was due to having plain old street tires on it at the time. It's practical (to a point; you can't load Everything into it), and it's quite fun off-road and as an open vehicle on pleasant weather days."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 120 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals