Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1192 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

most fun vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price and value. FUN to drive!!"

Cons: "side windows zip."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

FUN! FUN! FUN!

"I purchased this vehicle as a graduation gift to myself. Now life is changing abit and I need to pass on the fun to another person! I absolutely loved driving this vehicle. I've never been off road. No accidents. Added chrome step ups and 12 disc CD changer. AC is great!!!"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

FUN! FUN! FUN!

If you enjoy the outdoors, you will love a TJ!!!

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great adventure vehicle... goes to any terrain and place in any weather!"

Best 4x4 of the decade

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun. Great in winter. Awesome off road."

Cons: "Low gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I read reviews complaining how a wrangler doesn't ride like some luxury car. Duh! My wife and I both drive and love our wranglers. Lots of fun, super in the snow. Top down and doors off can't be matched by anything around. But they sure aren't easy on gas."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my 2000 TJ Sport for several years. It's been great, with only the #3 fuel injector having issues with over heating. This happens infrequently, and only when it's REALLY hot(110 degrees plus), and driving in stop and go traffic. This year jeep rides like a Cadillac compared to the generations before. These are not luxury vehicles, which I'm fine with. As a matter of fact, I pulled all the carpet out, so I can just hose out any mud, etc. I'm running a small lift, and 35" tires. Rear axle is a d44, and both have been regeared to 4.88. Keep it light, and you'll be fine. Start throwing on bumpers, armor, winch, etc, and you'll need bigger axles, and a v8. I would buy again."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Good Condition Power Train done Motor, Trans

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive Handles and drives like New"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Car had 300 miles on Radiator Engine, Transmission Clutch Throw out Bearing when"

Great beach Car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun car to drive."

Cons: "Pain letting people out of back seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Had this car from new. Second car and children drove through college."

Have enjoyed its total reliability.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Mechanically perfect, great in winter weather"

Cons: "No CD player, poor MPG, body needs some work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this car for 13 years. I have had regular maintenance done (unfortunately I did not keep records). It has been a truly reliable car and relatively inexpensive to own, outside of non-exceptional maintenance cost in replacing an alternator as an example. It has handled like you would expect from a Jeep, not the smoothest or quietest ride. It has some "cosmetic issues" such as fender rust,bumper damage from striking a parking garage post. Otherwise totally accident free. Transmission works perfectly. Truly, my only issue is its poor MPG, which has not changed since purchase, but we all know what gas prices have done over the years. It has very low mileage, given its age. Still enjoy the car and only considering a change for better MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lifetime Jeep owner

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, great in bad weather"

Cons: "Rough ride, small for big people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely LOVE my Jeep! I have owned it the entire time and while it's getting older and needing repairs, it has kept running and been very reliable. I love taking it off-roading! I've had a few accidents in it, one I should have rolled, but due to the model and wider wheel base package I got, it stayed upright (black ice on a highway is bad!). I will always own a Jeep, most likely this Jeep for as long as I drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 ever

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2003 Jeep

"Pros: Most capable vehicle ever made for non-military use.... Cons: Some do not like how they ride & drive, but you don't buy one for driving comfort or gas mileage.."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My 2003 Jeep

great "fun" vehicle

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable beer runner, easy to modify"

Cons: "lower MPG, no stock diesel option"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Don't buy a jeep thinking it will ride like a sports car and you will enjoy it much better. Love my 2005 Unlimited rubicon Wrangler. The extra wheel base helps for off road and on road conditions. Has run solid since I bought it 4 years ago. Been rock crawling, dune hopping, beach bummin, and camping on it and the only thing I could ask for would be a diesel engine for fuel economy but the 4.0 is a beast for a stock or slightly modded jeep. Pull out the carpet drop the roof and hit the beach. For what it is this unlimited version from 2005 to 2006 is one of the best jeep models in my opinion."

great ride

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,328

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "wonderful and powerful"

Cons: "no running board"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great loyal fun car"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pristine

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,425

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent vehicle"

Cons: "needs 2 rear tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent one owner vehicle, 61,400+ miles, must be seen to be fully appreciated..."

Love this vehicle. Lots of fun

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun drive"

Cons: "no air conditioning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to drive...easy to park. This has been my fun time baby. Have made several cross country trips...lots of good fun memories. Lived in California...moved to Texas. This vehicle does not have air conditioning. That is the only reason I will be selling it. Summers are HOT in Texas"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most versatile vehicle you cold own

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, looks, convertible, has personality"

Cons: "slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Jeep. I've had it for three weeks and have no regrets in buying it. It has been the most fun vehicle I have ever owned and has really changed my opinion on cars in general. It takes a little getting used to, but once you learn to bring a jacket with you every time you drive and take every turn about 15 mph less than you think you can take it, you will fall in love with it. I came from a 2004 infiniti g35x, and I couldn't be happier."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

fun to drive

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have three tops hard top,safari top,and soft top(never used)"

what can I say. Its a Jeep and is what it is.

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "snow won't stop you from getting to work"

Cons: "snow won't stop you from getting to work (lol)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my mid-life crisis purchase and I never let it go. Have only had to replace those items that you would expect to fix/replace (tires / brakes wipers etc.) Still has original top that is in good shape. I replaced the side windows after 10 years which is longer than the average. I have sliding windows on the doors and that is better than folding a dirty pc of plastic into the car against your leg. Have liked it from first day I got it."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love my 04 jeep wrangler rubicon

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,425

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes where other 4x4s fear to go"

Cons: "GAS MILAGE 16-17 city 20-22 highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this vehicle used... It is by far the best vehicle i've ever owned. I do not do much offroading BUT if i wanted/needed to it would take me where I want to go. I've been asked than in the south why do you need 4 wheel drive.MY answer is always the same I'd rather have 4 wheel drive and not need it than to NEED IT and not have it. Yes it rides a little rougher than a car and it takes more gas to go somewhere BUT its built to take on almost anything and bring you out the other side. IT IS A GO ANYWHERE DO ANYTHING MACHINE."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle for price

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price, great for plowing, Safe"

Cons: "Gas mileage so so. Replaced heater fan 3 x. AC 2x"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than on going heater and AC problems I love this vehicle. Gas mileage is not great but Great safe winter driving in Wisconsin. This Jeep will go through almost anything. I am getting a little old now for the climb up to enter but will probably keep this vehicle with plow until it dies or I do."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle - could be designed better on inside.

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good for off road situations"

Cons: "not a lot of room on inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good overall 4-wd vehicle"

very reliable, great car

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "goes anywhere"

Cons: "gas mileage is 14 around town and maybe 17 or 18"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"wrangler sahara model with no power windows or fancy electronic nav. been a great car and will probably keep it forever"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

lots of fun, second one I owned

By on Friday, May 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "low gears--- low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle except the low gas mileage. It Always gets me home (I live on a dirt road over a hill) in the winter. Lots of fun, I like taking the top and doors off in the summer. I've crashed a motorcycle into a drunk driver, with the jeep-- I have seat belts, air bags 4 tires, a stout bumper and feel much safer for when the next drunk hits me. The wrangler is a spin off from the military jeep and a good tribute to a vehicle that served our military well."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great solid rig

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,020

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Rock solid, fun, easy to maintain"

Cons: "Jerky suspension."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over all I love the Jeep. I have had almost no problems mechanically with just routine maintenance performed. Of course I also run Amsoil Signature fluids in the engine, tranny, and frond and rear diff. I think that if you run this rig with the correct fluids it will not just not let you down but it will run to the end of the trail and then some. My one complaint is that I wish it had Bluetooth integrated with a prompt on the steering wheel."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

TJ for me

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low gears, air lockers, cast iron straight 6."

Cons: "Should have bought 2."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this Jeep, and very happy I got the Rubicon Edition. The newer model JK has no appeal to me with a V6 since I actually use mine off road from time to time. You just can't replace the low end torque, slowly creeping up a tough hill, with an aluminum block mini van engine. I held on to my 89 YJ up to the point Jeep rumored fundamentally changing the Wrangler, and 2005 finally offered a 6 speed manual. The 05/06 Rubicon is the holy grail of the Wrangler and I have one in khaki, hard & soft top, lift, wench, etc.."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Glad I bought this Jeep

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price was right; very much fun to drive."

Cons: "No locking console (but glove box is lockable)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first Jeep, and have no regrets getting it. We bought it brand new. It does what it's supposed to do, and has never let us down. About the only inconvenience that comes to mind is the lack of a locking console between the front seats, but that can be taken care of with aftermarket products. Its 4WD system is of the outstanding quality you can expect of Jeep from the early 2000s; the only time we got stuck in moderately-deep wet snow was due to having plain old street tires on it at the time. It's practical (to a point; you can't load Everything into it), and it's quite fun off-road and as an open vehicle on pleasant weather days."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Glad I bought this Jeep

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price was right; very much fun to drive."

Cons: "No locking console (but glove box is lockable)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first Jeep, and have no regrets getting it. We bought it brand new. It does what it's supposed to do, and has never let us down. About the only inconvenience that comes to mind is the lack of a locking console between the front seats, but that can be taken care of with aftermarket products. Its 4WD system is of the outstanding quality you can expect of Jeep from the early 2000s; the only time we got stuck in moderately-deep wet snow was due to having plain old street tires on it at the time. It's practical (to a point; you can't load Everything into it), and it's quite fun off-road and as an open vehicle on pleasant weather days."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals