Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1202 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next

second hand love

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "its a Jeep and more"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"so i got this off someone second hand and they messed up a lot of the wires under the dash trying to do something them self but i was able to fix it up and she runs perfect best investment i could of made for a fun off/on road vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Christmas Present

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "There are So Many!"

Cons: "NONE!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Husband got me a 2000 Jeep Wrangler as a Present. I Drive a Prius Plug-in as my daily driver. But, when I got this Jeep it had a Hardtop. And my husband put a remote start, New Radio with Nav, bluetooth, and touch screen. He pulled up the carpet and put sound deadening down and new carpet. He also put sound insulation on the underside of the Hood. What a difference so much quieter. He also added a NEW springs and shocks with a 1" lift on. I drove it too work a week later and haven't stop driving it! The Wrangler is so much Fun to drive I don't even want to drive the Stuffy old Prius anymore!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"except for the radiator this jeep has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned that's why I still own it. Excellent buy."

BEST vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hard to get stuck."

Cons: "none for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this jeep 11 years ago and the water pump is the only work I have done to it."

Love the Jeep , has all the extras - must sell

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive off road and on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"spray-in in Bedliner,and carpet soft top canopy cover bikini top.half top, u haul trailer. 6000 lb winch installed on front bumper, Allco wheelS spare on rear mounted to match warranty to 200,000 miles"

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Awesome Jeep

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Tuff strong vehicle"

Cons: "Stiff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great off-road vehicle you can take them everywhere"

I purchased the Jeep used.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If maintained properly and not in the condition I found it in they are very reliable. Repairing the vehicle is less than you would pay for repairs on a similar vehicle and parts a inexpensive. My mpg has been above the EPA rating by 2 to 4 miles per gallon."

24 people out of 33 found this review helpful

The most fun vehicle to drive. It is cute,sassy.

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive and easy to park says it all. Bouncy"

Cons: "not a terribly comfortable back seat. but a thrill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

2002 Jeep APEX

"I had a new top installed last year. Has never been driven off road but sure needs to be. Sturdy, efficient, reliable. It is an APEX: 7 speakers, beautifully maintained. Fun to drive through the city, but certainly need to test its mettle off-road. I bought this jeep from a dealer in central PA, but in the three plus years I've owned it,I have only driven it about 8 thousand miles. The cognac bucket seats (leather) are sought after by jeep afficianados."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

2002 Jeep APEX

Jeep has been garage kept and driven 2 mnts a yr

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Reliable transportation and lots of fun"

Cons: "gas mileage and accelaration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've really enjoyed my Jeep , getting close to retirement and not driving as often .I'm the 2nd owner and I've had it 5 years . Car-fax will come back clean ."

12 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Most reliable and funnest vehicle I ever owned.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, coverage, fun"

Cons: "offer lower gears for off roaders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Let's face there is a reason Jeep is the number one off road vehicle more than any other maker. It is what they do. If you want to put around town looking cool with the top and doors off this is your vehicle, but don't waste the opportunity to take it off road and test it's limits. It's one of the very few vehicles where off road damage to the drive train is covered under warranty. I took mine off road the day I bought it and many times since. Never a drive train problem. Scratches, a few dents yeah. Stay on top of them with primer and touch up to avoid the rust. NOTE: If you are going to buy bigger tires for your Jeep and take it off road make sure the fender clearance is enough for your shocks to be fully compressed and not rub. Only downfall , with the 6 cyl. the gears are more for highway use. If you plan to take the sport off road on a consistent basis, which I highly recommend, Install a quality lift kit, 33 inch tires and change out the differential to something around the 5.00 range. The 4 cyl. wrangler with no extras is comparable to a modified 6 cyl. with the exception of climbing taller rock formations. For mud and dirt trails the 4 cyl. is the better cheaper alternative, especially if you never take it off road. For off road fun and versatility, through outfitting, The sport with the Power in-line 6 engine, (ask an old mechanic about the in-line six engine) It is one of the funnest man toys. kids love it too."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 121 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals