Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1180 Ratings for the 1997 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 46 47 48 | Next

great

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great for fun ok for trip ."

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

It's a Jeep Thing

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Buffalo snow storms are no match for my Jeep, and summers with the top down are just as sweet. The gas mileage isn't great, but what it lacks in that department, it makes up for with a high fun factor. In addition, other than routine maintenance, I've never had a major problem with my Wrangler. There's nothing like owning a Jeep."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Chick magnet

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"When its hott out, and you have the doors down, its an automatic chick magnet. Jeeps are actually very reliable, and the engines are very tough. Mine has never broken down on me. I highly recomend. The only problem is, you would have to sacrifice room in order to have one of these things. But it is completely worth it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Beware of Engine Problems

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Jeep has been in the shop 8 times since 2004. Four of those trips were for major engine problems. The other four have been for everything from the radio eating CD to leaks in the drivetrain. Best vechile I have ever driven for off-roading but don't plan on it for an everyday driver."

2002 Sahara

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"What a vehicle!! My first jeep (bought new 2002) and not a problem in 5 years and still running strong and looking good. Drove from Alaska to Florida with no complaints or problems. Do consider this a 2 seater as it's about impossible to take a family of 4 on a long trip (the wife packs alot, lol). This is not the jeep of the past, plenty of creature comforts, cruises the highway at 85mph all day (try that in a Rubicon!!), so easy to park, and a blast to drive. Feels very sure footed, plenty of get up and go for city or highway driving, and ready to take a trail anytime. Fun, fun, fun!!!!"

It IS a Jeep Thing

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I’ve owned Jeep vehicles for over 15 years and now the vehicle I drive every day is a 2005 Jeep Wrangler Sport. I bought this vehicle new in May ’05 and except for scheduled maintenance, it hasn’t been in the shop once. The feeling of knowing that you can go anywhere – anytime I think is what the “Jeep” is all about. My Jeep came with both the hard top and soft top. I took the hard top off shortly after getting the vehicle and it hasn’t been back on since. The soft top does not generate nearly as much noise as the older Wranglers and CJs (if it did the hard top would go back on). The ride of the Wrangler is a bit stiff, but then again it is a TRUE off-road vehicle. If you want more of a softer ride, you may want to consider a Liberty, Grand Cherokee, or Commander. I’ve owned two “Grands” and my wife currently drives an ’06 Commander. For me, I want to know that if I get off on some gnarly trail, that I’m going to get back out. It’s a Jeep thing..."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Buyer Beware

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"Exhaust manifolds are a problem with these vehicles. Typically last only 50,000 miles and are not covered under warranty (figure that one out!). Strong running otherwise, just very dissappointed in Chrysler's handling of obvious design flaws."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

it's a classic

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"The jeep never goes out of style! It's fun to drive in the winter and the summer. No, it's doesn't have all the comforts of a luxury vehicle, but you have to love a jeep to understand the lack of "no-frills" options."

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"owned nothing but wrangkers... great jeep"

FREEDOM

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my Jeep since new in 2000. The longest I have ever owned a vehicle before was 3 years. I love it! Since gas prices are outragous though, its' milage isn't too impressive. It is still my most favorite vehicle I have ever owned. I must admit though, I live in the desert so it has a lot of opportunity for use."

Ultimate

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"The is by far the most ultimate ride"

fun vehicle

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought my 99 wrangler about 4 years ago with about 35k miles on it. I now have a little over 76k. I've given it a 2" spacer lift and upgraded my tires and wheel package to oversized mud tires. Its been off road numerous times. I've played in the mud as well as done some rock crawling with it. Needless to say I driven it pretty hard and the only mechanical problems I've had other then routine maintenance were a bad alternator and the exhaust header sprung a leak. If your looking for an everyday vehicle to drive to work and run errands, buy a mini van. If you want something that performs well off road, is fun(not comfortable) to drive and versatile, then get a wrangler."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Its a Jeep

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have owned 2. Only drawback is the Mercedes 6 speed. The only good manual tranny Wranglers have had is the Dodge NV3500. Otherwise, the only vehicle in its class and the inline 6 is much better than the new V6. MPG of 20 on the hwy if you drive the limit."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun in the Sun and Snow

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The title says it ALL, I've owned 3 Wranglers, 2 Cherokees and a Grand Cherokee hands down the best all round vehicle."

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love / Hate

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Love the style, feel, utility, etc. HATE all the (little and not so little problems) - poor craftsmanship."

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned my Wrangler for 9 years and have loved it the whole time. It's a blast camping, 4-wheeling, or just riding around town with the top down. It's got a great image, it's a work horse (few repairs), and it's fun. Who could ask for more?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Hung Jury

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

"Part of me likes the Jeep but it is lacking in several other areas. I don't have a complaint about the gas mileage, I knew it was going to be bad when I bought it. The issue that I have is the small gas tank. I only have a range of about 250 miles so it seems I am constantly filling it back up again. I have already had to replace warped brake rotors ( not under warranty at 20,000 miles ), And the steering can be vague at times. However it is very manuverable. For performance, if you enjoy being the slowest car on the road, then this is the car for you. As far as comfort goes you dont necessarily buy this car for comfort. If you do decide to buy an older Wrangler, make sure you get the after market arm-rest for the driver and passenger doors."

One cool 4x4

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned a wrangler for a year and a half and love this vehicle. with a procomp 4" lift and 33" tires i can go litteraly any where."

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 46 47 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details