Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1995 Jeep Wrangler

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 282 Ratings for the 1987 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
 

Fun in the summer, Fun in the fall

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Parts always available"

Cons: "Needed more than home tools to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love my 1994 YJ SE. Bought it for $3000 from a plumber. Right rear frame rotted, "full of sand" but repaired. Was lucky to find this gem. Never had any problems. Four cylinder, 5 speed, no body rot, only frame. Slapped a lift kit on it, and 31 inch tires and she was done. Took me through thick and thin, the summer heat, topless. And the winter snow with no problem. Just bought a 2006 TJ SE and the process starts all over again..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

So much fun and reliable.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,240

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice gas mileage."

Cons: "no cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best fun car ever."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

EXTREMELY reliable, best vehicle I've driven

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: wrecked

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun, holds its value, not much repair, reliable"

Cons: "snow driving, less power w/ 4 cylinders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it with 82.000 miles, drove it until my daughter crashed it with 144.000 miles 11 years later. Changed out the muffler, the radiator and tires. That's it, other than regular oil changes. Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. ALWAYS started, even in - 20 weather. In fact, we used it to jumpstart our other cars. I could take it anywhere, and never got stuck. Great in snow, once you get used to the short wheel base. An absolute ball to drive, especially in the summer with the top off. I cried when it was wrecked. I would buy one again, any time, anywhere. LOVED this jeep. Still held it's value, even after it was wrecked."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Jeep

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cool, reliable, drives through anything, and FUN"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Jeep Wrangler new in 1995. It is a 6 cyl, manual transmission. This vehicle is so much fun to drive, tough and very reliable. I have had body work done to it, replaced the battery once and the usual parts (brakes, lines, fuel pump, etc.) but after nearly 20 years, it never lets me down. I will NEVER sell it!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great little ouyfit.

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to play in"

Cons: "it is a jeep"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great running outfit no problems with it"

Nothing likw it!!!!!!

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun Re;iable Good Invesment, did I say Fun?"

Cons: "What???????? LOL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"40th B-day present to self. So much fun in the spring, summer, fall. Winter? Was the only one getting to work with no worries through a foot of snow. I don't know many things that fit all the bills, nut my Jeep is one. Practical but fun, rough and reliable, you take care of her and she'll take care of you. Not only that but they go forever, and keep their value. Jeep Wranglers are win, win. If you've always wanted one. Do it. Don't wait. Get that good deal and get on the road. Just remember to wave, my friend!!! BR"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Bouncy, noisy and I love it!

By on Tuesday, January 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Simple and fun to drive for short trips"

Cons: "Poor choice for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"By car standards, the Wrangler is bad on ride, noise, acceleration, aerodynamics and economy. But it's not a car, it's a Jeep. It's a blast to drive, and makes every trip an adventure, with small size, 15 neat gear choices, and go-anywhere maneuverability. I own 9 vehicles, and this is the one I choose most often. I bought it in good condition and improved it to excellent, using readily available parts."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable vehicle - quality drivetrane, enjoyed 4wd

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,409

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Good price, 4wd fun, good in snow, safe"

Cons: "Poor comfort & interior , gas economy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Pro's: Vehicle reliability, 4.0L engine MFI, 5spd. transmission,transfer case, clutch, 4wd long lasting. Good in snow and basically what vehicle designed for. Cons's: Poor fuel economy,Cheap interior components and door handles. Not that comfortable. Vehicle used for 4wd offroad applications, but axles are weak dana 30 and 35. Should be atleast dana 44 with options for dana 60. My vehicle was heavily modified with upgraded engine and supercharger. Also made axle,suspension,and other upgrades. Part houses catering to upgrades for older Jeeps and parts availability are good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great price, dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is truly the best car ever made. She is reliable, hard working, and just so much fun."

Best friend ever!

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "Never a smooth ride in this beast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been through everything with my Jeep and i LOVE it soooo much! I will never sell it, i have been driving it since September of 1994 and she's still going strong. Loyalty right there!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car for a younger person

By on Monday, October 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "Needs hard top"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fun car"

It is a JEEP. A wonderfully fun and exiting rig.

By on Tuesday, March 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ITS A FOUR WHEELED HARLEY DAVIDSON! FUN, FUN, FUN,"

Cons: "NONE. . .ITS A JEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"YOU CAN HAVE MY JEEP WHEN YOU CAN PRY IT FROM MY COLD DEAD HANDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I'll never let it go

By on Sunday, March 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Takes me places I couldn't get to otherwise."

Cons: "Low MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 94 YJ 6 cyl in 98. I put 4" lift, 33s, slip yoke eliminator and Slickrock shackle brackets on the front. I took the sway bars off, front and back for better articulation. Besides that it is stock, and I have gone places you would not believe. From the desert of Texas to the mountains of Colorado and the trails of Moab, Utah. Stock axles and no lockers, and it climbed up rocks in Moab I would not have believed if I hadn't been there. I'm not a mud guy so I can't say anything on that. I have had a lot of people try to buy it from me, but I won't let it go."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nothing better than "my" Jeep

By on Sunday, January 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Turning, Reliability, Endurance, Torque, FunFactor"

Cons: "Topend Speed, Noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4wd, no a/c (do not need it), standard trans, 4 cyl. A lot of torque, slow at the top end speed. Turn radius is outstanding. Can pull a stuck tractor out of the middle of a forest (trust me, I've done it). I purchased her new in 1995. On Jan 1, 2013 she had 180,000 miles w/ 1x rear end, 1x exhaust system, 2x alternators, 1x water pump, 3x batteries and a few tune ups. Oh, and 3 radios (it's what happens when you get them soking wet). I'll never sell it. When the engine goes, I'm just going to put a V8 in her. If for some reason she gets totaled. Well then, I'll have to buy a new one, but until then I'll just fix whatever goes wrong with her (and so far, it hasn't been much)."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle for the mtns.

By on Wednesday, November 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "A real bumpy ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Living in the N.GA mtns it has been very good I do not care much for hiway driving in this model but it has gotten me out of some bad spots and not really given me much trouble at all I bought it used and have not had any real problems out of it in the 10 years I have owned it"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nothing like a Jeep

By on Sunday, September 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Best off road vehicle ever designed."

Cons: "Fuel mileage; about 15 mpg overall."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 94 Wrangler new. If you hunt or fish, or just like to be outdoors, there is nothing quite like the feel of a Jeep."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good MPG, quick and responsive throtle, fun to dr.

By on Wednesday, September 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price, holds value, fun to drive."

Cons: "stiff suspension, soft top noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It has a different ride than my 99 wrangler, but still a lot of fun."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nothing Beats a Jeep

By on Friday, August 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Easy to work on. Extremely fun to drive."

Cons: "A bumpy drive, no a/c"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Jeep is now 20 years old. I am the first onwer and would never get rid of her. She has been durable and easy to work on. She is fun and can do things the average car can't! I will pass her on to my first born when she starts driving. Jeeps will be a family tradition."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

BEST CAR IVE EVER OWNED

By on Saturday, June 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Top Comes off, easy to work on,lots of aftermarket"

Cons: "Not very comfy, loud, kinda slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive had my Jeep YJ for about 3 months now and i love it, the top comes off, its easy to work on and fun to drive. I will never get stuck. the bad thing is is that it is somewhat loud inside the cab and doesn't have very many creature comforts. I still love it and will be driving wranglers for the rest of my life. There is a very big community of jeepers. Its a jeep thing! Don't forget to wave if you buy one!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most Awesome vehicle in History

By on Saturday, May 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything It is absolutely awesome"

Cons: "None It is perfect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 95 Jeep Wrangler YJ. This is my second Jeep the first one was a 97 Jeep Wrangler TJ. It had coil spring suspension and I loved it but not like I love my YJ. She is leaf sprung with square headlights. Thats how a wrangler is supposed to be. I currently have it lifted 3 inches and she is getting ready to get new 31 inch tires. Plans are a SOA(Spring over axle) conversion which will give me 9 inches of lift and then 35 or 37 inch tires. With the tires I will be 14 inches higher than stock. You can go wrong with these. In 13 inches of snow I pulled a full size 4 door Chevy Tahoe out of a 3 foot deep ditch that on top of it he had buried to the axles in mud. I put her in 4lo and hooked up the straps and it pulled that huge Tahoe out like it was nothing."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good for price

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great as a off road truck, perfect for budget"

Cons: "aerodynamic as a brick. slow 4 cyl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was the first Jeep I owned and I love it. It has some problems but it is from 1995 with 150000 miles on it. Runs great and has had no problems offroad. Good for budget minded off roaders. Cheap to lift too. Slow 4cyl. Big tires with a 4 cylinder is a bad idea. If you can buy a inline 6, if you can't don't plan on much highway driving. don't think the inline 4 gets better mileage."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I hate this vehicle! Very uncomfortable, no power!

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,812

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Good price."

Cons: "Horrible ride, hard to turn"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Worst vehicle ever! No power steering, stiff suspension and very noisy! Hard to get soft top off and windows zipped. Only bought for the 4 wheel drive. Good thing it's only used in the snow! Would not recommend this vehicle to anyone!!!!!!"

1 person out of 12 found this review helpful

So Reliable

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "It's Fun To Drive In!"

Cons: "Kind Of Noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a great car. I bought it in '93 and it's still running great!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Jeep

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We just bought a 1990 Jeep Wrangler.. Got a really good deal on it. I bought it for my husband as a gift. It is perfect for him to fish and hunt and just be a man in!! he loves it and i am glad we bought it!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep!!

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, get noticed, great during the summer"

Cons: "Winter a bit chilly, top tears, zippers break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 1998 I bought my first Jeep!!! I did not realize how much I would actually love it!! Now 14 years and I still have my Jeep!!! It is amazing... It has had very few problems and my mechanic does not see me much... Except when he sees me on the road going somewhere... Over the years I've had many people tell me they want to buy my Jeep.... I say, It's not for sale... The only thing that could part me from my Jeep is if it gets totaled in an accident... It's fun to drive and sure to get you noticed... I rate it as a perfect score... Out of all the vehicles I've owned, the Jeep is the best and my favorite!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Wrangler near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details