Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Jeep Liberty

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1274 Ratings for the 2002 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next

classic jeep

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"If you have ever owned a jeep, she provides what you expect. little trivial things die out on her, like window regulators and starting relays. But she runs like a beaut."

It says Jeep and that"s what it is!

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It's a Jeep! enuf said!"

Cons: "M.P.G."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great little four wheel drive vehicle. Been all over the states from North Dakota to South Carolina. 197,000 and just traded it in still going strong!! Gas mileage is the only thing I don't like but it is a Jeep with lots of power for a v-6."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A one of a kind experience for a jeep.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "inexpensive, very reliable, safe, fun, good mpg"

Cons: "not as much room as a full size suv"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this jeep for five years and loved it. It's been fantastic to me through all seasons. I bought the roadhandler tires available for it and have gotten great fuel economy with those. It comfortably fits five people and you may push the back seats down for cargo space. I've used this to cart mountain bikes around and kayaks. I have the tow package and it does a great job towing my boat, and atv's. It's a smooth ride with the trailer and sometimes you forget it is there. Going uphill though you will definitely notice that the vehicle is working to get up the incline. It's a great on and offroad suv. I owned a BMW for awhile at the same time and I ended up getting rid of it because the jeep was more fun to drive. I've never had a problem with it and haven't had to repair anything. I've taken good care of it and it shows. I still get compliments on how it looks, a lot of people think it's new. But it's an '04. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants a smaller suv."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My video 

walk around and look inside

Excellent value; DOES ride like a jeep

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "see above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"4WD gets you around even on icy snow conditions (of course, not on ice alone). Rides kinda rough but better tires helped this. DID have repeated problems with emission system; orig catalytic converter was from CA, which initially contributed to confusion of getting the appropriate replacement. I don't know if it's faulty design but , for the last 2-3 years, I've had to replace cat or 02 sensors, ea year, to pass emissions (seems that this might be attributable to not getting to the cause of the problem, however, in my opinion). The seats stain TERRIBLY, even with water, which is asinine for a JEEP but I still feel like the benefit of being able to get around places that others cant (secondary to 4WD and V6, the room to haul my consignment finds, and longevity make this a great value. Plus , it's cute"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love My Little Liberty

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, adorable, reliable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I used to get a new car every three years. Saw this one as a 2006 in 2011 and fell in love, traded in my newer Mazda for it! Very reliable, I've only had to replace the sunroof. I lucked out, it only had 25,000 miles after 5 years, and it's still just under 60k at 9 years old, so I'm planning to keep it for a long time!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Ok!

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, offroad capability, great value"

Cons: "gas milage, cargo space, subpar electronics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pretty good car. At 12 years and 170K miles, it's beginning to show signs of Chrysler-itis -- hesitates to start when cold, small electronics failing (side mirrors, window regulator, door solenoid) -- that I tend to see on late model, high-mileage Chryslers. I get a steady 20 mpg on the highway. Not nearly as good as most SUVs these days, but still pretty good for a dedicated 4WD. I do wish the cargo space was bigger - it's not very deep with the seats up. Nothing serious has failed, just had to replace various parts (radiator, condenser, ball joints), and nothing before 150K other than typical maintenance. Engine valve covers tend to leak. I'm just now starting to have problems with the 4WD transmission - it's loud and hesitates to shift back into 2WD. Overall, I have no reason to suspect that the powertrain won't last another 100K miles."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Solid little 4x4!

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price."

Cons: "not the best gas mileage for a small 4x4."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"The only downfall to my Jeep is the gas mileage.Only gets about 16-17 mpg. It was the first vehicle I bought on my own, without my husband or anyone coming with me. It is great in the snow! Outdoes the other Jeeps we have owned in the winter. I have owned it for 8 yrs. and I feel I have definitely got my moneys worth"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car well taken care of

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, love the car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought new and used as family car for several years. My wife drove to work, about 10 miles, on state hiway. We could not part with Liberty after buying new Maxima"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Loved it, would buy it again

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,180

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatile, nimble, comfortable, tough, useful"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought 2002 vehicle in 2005 with 65K miles on it, drove it to 2015 with 116K miles. Equipped with leather, auto, CD, 2WD. It was the perfect size for a woman and a very versatile, useful vehicle, even though the MPG was poor. I happen to like the rough Jeep ride, so bumps don't bother me. Head room was poor for a man over 6' but fine for me. When repairs started to cost more than the vehicle was worth, it broke my heart. I'd buy it again in a New York minute, but they have stopped making the Liberty."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 397,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, smooth ride, plenty of room"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We purchased a 2002 Jeep Liberty Limited edition in 2004 with 45,000 miles on it.11 years later the Jeep is still running perfect with 397,000 on the Jeep. With a vehicle at this age and mileage yes there is some work to do on it, A/C not working, upper and lower ball joints need to be replaced, just typical upkeep of the car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep Liberty!

By on Monday, February 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 241,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Visibility, Reliablility, fun to drive, sporty"

Cons: "MPG, less cushioned riding than car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We purchased our Jeep Liberty Ltd with approximately 20,000 miles on it. It now has over 240,000! We have traveled the country. While the MPG is not great (avg 16 mpg), this has been one of the best cars we've ever owned. The oil has been changed faithfully and in all those miles, we have only had to replace the water pump! Ours came with a power sunroof, a 6 CD changer, leather/heated/power front seats... This has been a great vehicle. Small and easy to maneuver, especially nice in city traffic. Nice visibility, easy controls... Because of the short wheel base, it can be slightly less comfortable than a car. But I have driven this vehicle on trips of over 5000 miles and found it acceptable."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I LOVE this Jeep!

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,811

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Size, maneuverability, gumption."

Cons: "Gas mileage not as good as 4-cylinders I've owned."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this Jeep new in 2002, drove it cross-country to Michigan a couple of times, drove it to work 9 years and took good care of it. And it took good care of me. Have had no major work done, all the bells & whistles still work, is easy to park & handle. Has a lot of pep, and is my favorite vehicle to date. I would buy another."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle that handles well.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Lots of power, seats 5 and back seats fold down"

Cons: "NONE REALLY, NICE RIDE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"drawback was problem with windows but the problem was finally fixed."

Best car I have owned in 58 years of driving.

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,866

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, looks new after 13 years ."

Cons: "2 recalls, but dealer took care of them ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I get 28 to 32 miles per gallon. My retired mechanic Husband knows a few tricks to help get better gas mileage and has really helped keep me on track about oil changes and what-not. I am older with bad legs it is easier to get in and out of than a regular car. It is not long like a lot of SUV's. But the seats let down when I need extra space to haul horse feed or a months worth of groceries. The seat is roomy and second row is a split bench seat, that seats 3 adults with room to be comfortable. I love my car !!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Could be better ...

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good on gas, easy to park!"

Cons: "Too small, not enough console space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This car is OK at best. Too small to really transport family for activities. Not enough space for two adults, two kids, and two dogs ... dogs are cramped and kids do not have enough space between them. When car is fully loaded with people/animals there is no space for bags/purses without taking up foot-board spaces. For a single person this is probably a perfect vehicle with more than enough space. Utilizing the back seats for storage would be convenient and make the car more useful. Great control on winter roads, the 4WD is a must!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great price for a great SUV

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awesome for the mountains"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I'm a Jeep loyalist! Bought this car used and never had a single issue. Interior is a little small in the front. I drove this car from Ohio to Colorado. It's great for road trips. I even took this car off-roading up in the Rocky Mountains. It is sad that this car is getting bad reviews. Jeep did a great job on this little truck. Great in the Colorado snow and ice."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I've owned.

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "no ash trays and the cigarette lighter has never w"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"With the exception of a 1996 Lexus lx450, this is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I love the way it handles on the road and the gas mileage is actually pretty good."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not drivable.

By on Friday, November 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "4 new tires."

Cons: "As stated above."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car is not running. It needs motor work and a catalitic converter. Right front fender damaged."

6 people out of 32 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle! Great around town & off road

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value,dependable,easy driver"

Cons: "Front seats are not long enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle for 9 years and except for the air cond compressor all I have done is the regular maint. (I go by the manual) I have had NO problems. I take it off road on a regular basis, drive it daily to work,16mpg in town, 19mpg free way. All work is at the dealer or a very good repair shop (repair shop has been operating for over 60 years, family owned all that time). For the price, you can't get a better deal. Off road is in mountains, over big rocks(I have factory skid plates), desert, forest trails, anywhere I want to go."

15 people out of 32 found this review helpful

not a wrangler, but a great jeep

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "durable, reliable, looks good, its a jeep"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought my 2005 liberty renegade over a year ago. i wasnt a big fan of the liberty but i decided to buy this because of the slightly different body style of the renegade. ive put almost 20,000 miles on it and ive only done regular maintenance such as oil and brakes. no major repairs. ive seen a lot of complaints about failing window motors, leg room, and reliability but ive had only good luck with this one. its frame and body are holding off the rust very well. bad gas mileage. decent power and does fine on the freeway. great in the snow and mud. most of my driving is on road but some has been off road. im 6'2 and dont have any issues with leg room as the driver, the seat moves far enough back. hopefully i can drive it for another 100,000 miles as ive seen some other people in the reviews."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great Small utility multi-use vehicle

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "turns on a dime"

Cons: "rear seat back doesn't lay flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Take good care of your Liberty with regular preventive maintenance and it will run indefinitely with no glitches. It turns on a dime and can be parked anywhere. It's a great car for hauling smaller loads, camping, off road transportation, beach driving, bicycle rack, carrying a kayak or canoe. Head space is probably better for people 5'8" or less to drive. Only negative is rear seat back doesn't lay completely flat when folded down."

16 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, no rust after 12 years.

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good handling, very dependable."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Could use a little more storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No rust after 12 years of every day use. Never had any mechanical issues. No breakdowns. Headlight lens never clouded up. It does bounce a little due to its short wheelbase over rough roads, but its easy to park. Great light truck overall, one of Jeep's best buys. Jeep built a new plant in Toledo, Ohio to build the Liberty and they did it right. Thanks Jeep"

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best overall vehicle

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Fun, great sound system, spacious back"

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Jeep has been reliable from the start. It handles great in all weather & the 4 wheel drive part-time is good too. I commuted 30 miles one way with going over a mountain pass. In the winter it always has snow on it. I never had any problems getting to work & back. My only complaint was the gas mileage. Average of 18mpg. I recently purchased another vehicle & am having a hard time getting rid of the Jeep!"

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love my car, wouldn't trade for anything else.

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great at towing and in slick conditions"

Cons: "Not very spacious."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a great car. Got me got through a tough winter without problems. I have had it since 2008. Replaced the brakes and rotors twice. In 2014 I have replaced water pump, radiator, timing belt, and head gaskets. I have put hard work on this thing and was never disappointed."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent car in snow or town driving

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "convenient 4WD car for winter driving"

Cons: "passenger compartment crowded"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have been very pleased with this car and just want one with more passenger room and automatic drive. It's energetic, easy to park and maneuver, gets fairly good mileage, and has been very convenient in winter driving."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Liberty near Honolulu. See local deals