Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Jeep Liberty

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1253 Ratings for the 2002 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 126 | Next

Great vehicle, no rust after 12 years.

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good handling, very dependable."

Cons: "Poor gas mileage. Could use a little more storage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No rust after 12 years of every day use. Never had any mechanical issues. No breakdowns. Headlight lens never clouded up. It does bounce a little due to its short wheelbase over rough roads, but its easy to park. Great light truck overall, one of Jeep's best buys. Jeep built a new plant in Toledo, Ohio to build the Liberty and they did it right. Thanks Jeep"

Best overall vehicle

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Fun, great sound system, spacious back"

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Jeep has been reliable from the start. It handles great in all weather & the 4 wheel drive part-time is good too. I commuted 30 miles one way with going over a mountain pass. In the winter it always has snow on it. I never had any problems getting to work & back. My only complaint was the gas mileage. Average of 18mpg. I recently purchased another vehicle & am having a hard time getting rid of the Jeep!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my car, wouldn't trade for anything else.

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great at towing and in slick conditions"

Cons: "Not very spacious."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a great car. Got me got through a tough winter without problems. I have had it since 2008. Replaced the brakes and rotors twice. In 2014 I have replaced water pump, radiator, timing belt, and head gaskets. I have put hard work on this thing and was never disappointed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent car in snow or town driving

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "convenient 4WD car for winter driving"

Cons: "passenger compartment crowded"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have been very pleased with this car and just want one with more passenger room and automatic drive. It's energetic, easy to park and maneuver, gets fairly good mileage, and has been very convenient in winter driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This vehicle has pleased me for 10 years.

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,567

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had no major problems with this vehicle until recently and I have had it over ten years. When it died it died (engine failure)."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best SUV I ever owned. 30 mpg. on long trips.

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Diesels are low maintanence and run forever."

Cons: "Fuel costs a bit more but 30 mpg makes up for that"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No mechanical problems with this jeep and the diesel can tow more and is faster than the gas engine.Starts great on the coldest winter day. What a sweet ride!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best bang for the buck

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, great acceleration fun and sporty"

Cons: "None yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently purchased the liberty and although I've only had it a day I love it. Driving home from los angeles I have a 6% grade to climb which it handled no problem at 70mph. I had only driven two other liberties before I bought this one. I was impressed with the acceleration and tight feel of the steering. I drove it down a rough road on purpose and absolutely no rattles. The timing chain engine was a major upside of the liberty because typically you can hear timing chain components before they break. The interior was in perfect condition and you could tell that the owner had been very diligent about the maintenance on the vehicle. After seeing, driving, and feeling the difference it was apparent that proper maintenance was the key to success with the liberty. After searching for weeks and comparing the xterra, Honda, Toyota, Saturn, and several other suv's, I found that they were all terribly overpriced because of the name. I believe that for the money, the liberty was a great investment and hopefully will be a great vehicle for many years to come."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Daily Driver over 11 Years - It's Been Excellent!

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, capable off-road, comfort"

Cons: "16-18 mpg due to low geared drive train."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this 03 Renegade new December 2012. In 11 1/2 yrs and 90,000 miles, the turn signal switch broke, one electric window regulator broke, and the AC compressor died. That's it, other than regular service and a new set of Michelens last year. Haven't even had to do the brakes yet! We've enjoyed the car so much that we bought a diesel Liberty new in '06. That one had all the elec window regulators replaced under warranty. No other issues. The Liberty's are comfortable on long trips for the three of us, and extremely capable off-road. Drove my stock Renegade into hunting camp and the guys could not believe it went in there like nothing. They had lifted big ol' trucks and got dents and bumper damage. Not my Liberty. It turns tight- drove right around all the big stuff. Both the '03 and the '06 have been as good as we could have hope for. Only thing is I'm thinking about selling mine because I need a pickup for more hauling space. I would not sell if I did not need a larger vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still looks and drives like new

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, wish they still made this vehicle."

Cons: "Better sound system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle has been great for the last 11 years, and still looks and drives great. Have had no problems with the liberty in 11 years.. In the past 11 years I have put tires , a battery and change the oil every 3000 miles.. Wow.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

MY FAVORITE VEHICLE!

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My garage is full... new suburban, new titan, mustang an yet I (we) always choose to drive the old jeep. Fun and easy to drive. Very capable 4X4 great bang for the buck. approx. 24mpg HAPPY HAPPPY!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 126 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Liberty near Honolulu. See local deals