Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $47,208 - $48,961.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $52,190

Fair Purchase Price $48,030
Fair Market Range ($47,208 - $48,961)

Invoice $49,535
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 308 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

better than expected

By on Monday, May 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very fun/comfortable, plenty of power"

Cons: "factory nav system, rain sensing wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love it!"

excellent

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of comfort,utility,great to drive very smooth"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best automobiles on the market"

Great Versatility

By on Monday, April 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "off road, highway, quiet, handling"

Cons: "tall outside mirrors obstruct turning view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Unlike many users I off-road; the unit has an off road and trailer towing package, which it seems many do not. It also has Quadratrac 2. I tow this vehicle behind my motor home and must say that it tracks superbly compared to an'07, it replaced. I think the key to Jeep reliability is to keep to the basics. Most complaints involve electronic wizardry; I have not had those issues. Fuel mileage with the 3.6 liter has averaged 23-24, a great improvement being attributable to the eight speed transmission, which after some minor computer reprogramming works superbly. The original Goodyear tires proved problematic and the vehicle has been refitted with Michelin LTX MS2 tires. They are superb. I rate the quality of my vehicle at 8. There have been no major repairs, just several "flashes" to improve HVAC and as stated the transmission tractability"

Sturdy..Comfortable..Smooth..Quiet..Roomy

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior..ride comfort..Uconnect interface"

Cons: "Reluctance to downshift means heavier braking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd Grand Cherokee. I traded in my 2012 Overland RWD (30K miles) so I could get a 4x4. I chose a Limited with Luxury II package as it included everything I liked in my Overland, but for a few grand less. I really like my GC. It looks great, rides extremely well, firm yet slightly compliant suspension, and very quiet. Downshifting from 2nd to 1st can be rough. Slowing down from speed takes extra time probably due to transmission being reluctant to downshift. I'll probably ask to have shift map changed at first oil change if I'm not used to it. I have been very, very happy with both my Grand Cherokees. My teens like that the rear seats recline a little. My spouse likes the dual climate control. A few driving items to consider: "A" pillars (either side of windshield)are wide and take getting used to when cornering/turning. As large as the windshield is, I sometimes have to lower my head to see underneath the rearview mirror during certain turning situations. Nothing feels unsafe when I have to move my head to get a better view. After 2 of these vehicles, I am used to it. I did a lot of research and knew this was the best vehicle in the class, with so many bells/whistles for a good price when compared to more expensive import/luxury models. Fuel economy with the V6 is about 18 city/25 highway. The updated Uconnect interface is great; very easy and intuitive to use. I gave a 9 overall only because the downshifting should have been corrected by this time of the model year."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent SUV

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, easy to drive, reliable"

Cons: "acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My car is Overland 2014, I bought it as a brand new and so far I have not noticed any problem. It is very comfortable, easy to drive, has nice interior and exterior look and relatively fuel efficient compared to similar SUVs. The only problem I noticed is acceleration, which is not as good as I expected. Overall, I am happy with my car so far."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

too much road noise

By on Monday, April 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "0"

Cons: "not like my 04"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"too many recalls dealer not having parts"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome, could use better tires for all the snow

By on Thursday, April 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle, comfortable with all the amenities. Not one issue after 33000 miles. Cons: The stock tires were not very good in snow, but very comfortable on dry pavements. Ground clearance in the front is limited by the air dam also in the snow. Acceleration is sluggish, but helps with the gas mileage. Pros: Awesome 4wd, cruising comfort, sound, navigation all excellent. Quality of material inside with not a single rattle or loose piece. The panoramic roof gives you a sense of being outside, especially when open (but not as much as my wrangler). A truly sophisticated vehicle - civilized ride."

20 people out of 40 found this review helpful

I was disappointed

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I owned and sold this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice looking truck, comfortable, nice interior"

Cons: "performance and transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I owned this vehicle for less than a year and was not happy with it. I still receive recall notifications in the mail. The vehicle has great styling, but the biggest fault I have is the transmission, which seemed to shift at the wrong times and, on several occassions, when I needed the power to get in or out of a situation, the engine/transmission refused to perform. It hesitated and just stopped, I had to brake hard, and wait, and try again. Need to perfect the new transmission. Mileage wasn't that great in city, but managed to get 26-28 on the highway."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

This is a fabulous car.

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, convenience, everything you need and more"

Cons: "at low speeds a wonka sound in the right front suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is the second best car I ever owned - other than the second Jeep I owned, which I am so sorry that I did not keep as a second car. Not sure how the newer Jeeps will ever compare to these."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Not ready for the consumers. Not worth the $

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, style and function"

Cons: "Monthly service visits and noxious exhaust smell"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Eco-Diesel about a year ago and have been in and out of the shop once a moth over this last year getting the CEL reset and parts replaced and DEF fluids drained and refilled half way. At this point I would tell anyone who thinks that they want a Jeep Eco-Diesel to take their money elsewhere."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

this jeep has a HEMI engine- very quick

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "this is our 6th Grand Cherokee"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has a HEMI 363 HP engine-there was no option to list this engine in the 0ptions on the jeep"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

LOVE MY JEEP

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,240

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LOVE THE VEHICLE, HANDLES GREAT IN WINTER CONDITIONS, QUICK ACCELERATION AND HANDLING."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My second Jeep

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,119

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driving, Uconnect, space"

Cons: "500 option for a cd player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Jeep, my first was a 97 Cherokee Sport. The upgrades of course with the times is nice, the engine purrs and the fact that it sips gas even with being a V-6 engine. Previous to this car I had an Audi A-4, no comparison...love that it is taller and is bigger. Albeit, my frustration is that a cd player is almost a $500 extra option...seriously???? Also, I would of like to seen the ability to control the radio from the steering wheel (thanks for spoiling me Audi). Although I am happy not to spend $132 for an oil change. I have had white lighting (my car's name...and yes I am a girl who names all her cars), for almost a month now and it only had 18000 miles not bad for a 2014. The other thing I am having issues is replying to text messaging or asking to call certain numbers.. Uconnect just doesn't get it. I have had it in for the recalls but I am not worried. The last thing I don't like is trying to find a cover for the cargo area...oh well. But I love the car and it rides wonderfully. Jeep I would like to make some recommendations 1)Auto-dimming side mirrors and making a sunroof not an option....just saying. Plus my mom likes it so much in two more years she wants my car so I can give her my jeep....for real come on man...."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I am currently leasing this car and want to buy it

By on Sunday, March 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good car"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Love our Grand Cherokee, great all around suv

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amazing 2 year ownership, no issues, just love our 2014 jeep grand cherokee"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,320

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LOVE IT"

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle to drive, rides well, good fuel

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good ride, good fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"primary reason for buying was to tow behind motorhome. Pleasantly surprised by great ride & fuel economy"

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned. Period.

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this vehicle for two years and still feel like I'm in the honeymoon stage. Just absolutely love everything about it."

29 people out of 51 found this review helpful

Best Jeep Ever!!

By on Wednesday, January 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the interior, exterior and engine (3.6L gas)."

Cons: "None!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland and simply love the vehicle. Test drove many of the North American (Ford & Chev) and Euro (BMW & Mercedes) SUV's and the Overland is by far the nicest and best equipped. Jeep hit a home run with this model!!"

25 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned hands down!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Enjoy driving, good gas mileage for comfort/size!"

Cons: "Miss a Moon/sun roof, wish had garage door buttons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Ready for another year of fun driving after my Ziebart re-applications of protection!!!

"This Jeep is amazing- luxury ride, great gas mileage (better than the estimated some times). Love the room in both front and rear seats, and all the cargo space. I took it to Ziebart as soon as I got it for complete protection- Rust Protection, Undercoating, Sound Deadener, Diamond Gloss® Paint Protection, Inner-Guard® PLUS, Germ Defender®- (I get this updated yearly)- along with tinting the front windows, adding the back up camera with microphone, adding vent visors, bug shield, mud flaps and running boards. It is great! It takes me safely everywhere I want to go without a moment's trouble even in the snow. I just recently had Wrangler Fuel Max tires put on with a new alignment. My oil is changed regularly by my son in law and I couldn't ask for more!"

18 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Ready for another year of fun driving after my Ziebart re-applications of protection!!!

Trading it in

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks great inside and out"

Cons: "1 hour on window defrost on high to move wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I've had my Jeep grand Cherokee Laredo for about a year and a half. I bought it used with about 40,000 kms on it. I love the inside and the outside of this vehicle however after 4 recalls, and the fact that it takes one hour to run my vehicle so that the wipers will work when it's cold, considering I live in Canada, i'm trading it in. there is a huge blind spot created by the extra-wide front pillar, wide rearview mirror, and I guess the position and height but I have my seat into drive as well that's problematic."

21 people out of 43 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle. Highly Recommend!

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, Appearance and Reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Jeep vehicles all my life and have never been disappointed. We love our new Grand Cherokee Summit and feel it is the perfect size for our active family. We drove every brand out there in the same class and higher and could not find an SUV that was more capable."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Buyer Beware

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great styling"

Cons: "Transmission problem. Radiator leak.Many recalls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"just received the sixth recall for this vehicle. Have owned it for one year. It is currently at the dealer for the second time due to transmission problems. Also, they are replacing the radiator because it developed a leak. I really love the appearance of this vehicle and the comfort. But I am beginning to think that i have a lemon on my hands. Perspective buyer need to research the problems associated with this vehicle before you purchase."

39 people out of 53 found this review helpful

I ADORE my Jeep!

By on Wednesday, December 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, capable, looks great!"

Cons: "Capless fuel door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"***2014 Grand Cherokee Summit 4x4 v8 Hemi*** After my trouble-prone 2005 Honda Odyssey Touring finally died this past summer while it was loaded up with people and gear for a family vacation, I took a chance on the vehicle I'd been wanting for a while - a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Honestly, I was initially hesitant due to the poor reliability reviews surrounding the Jeep brand but after my awful 9 year experience with the Honda Odyssey I figured I had no where else to go but up.*** After ditching my dead van in a strange city and cramming our stuff in a compact rental, we set out to buy a new vehicle so we could complete our vacation in relative peace. After an exhaustive day of searching & test-drives, I found my ride - a new 2014 Grand Cherokee Summit 4x4 v8 Hemi. I. am. in. love. *** After 12,000 miles in almost 7 months of ownership I've experienced exactly 1 minor issue that required a trip to the dealer. A headache for sure, but after pouring BIG $$$ into keeping my 'reliable' Honda in working order over the years, this was trivial. I did purchase the lifetime extended warranty from Chrysler (not a 3rd party company) for peace of mind - something most other manufacturers don't even offer. *** Before making our purchase I did test drive several other comparable (or larger) vehicles - BMW x5, Audi q7, Toyota Sequoia, Toyota Highlander and a Suburban LT - but I liked the size, handling and interior quality/layout of the Jeep the best. There is more 'hard plastic' interior panels than I would prefer but it seems to be on par with the other vehicles in the 'luxury' category and it is MUCH more upscale that the van I was used to driving, even though it was the top of the line as well. The cabin is fairly quiet and there is just enough 'road feel.' Some people prefer a more cushy, soft ride (Toyota, Lexus comes to mind) but I like to drive hard and fast and prefer having a bit of feedback in the wheel. *** The v8 takes a LOT of gas, but only a bit more than my v6 van, surprisingly. I don't really enjoy the capless gas filler door but it's not a dealbreaker. Can't really think of anything else I dislike or would change at all. I just really, really enjoy driving this Jeep!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Jeep I've ever bought

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this Jeep... I have the V8 360hp, gas isn't the greatest but the power is worth it. It's fun to drive and it's a great looking truck.. It's my 3rd new Jeep Cherokee and it's the best one by far. I highly recommend this vehicle."

27 people out of 50 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.