Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 295 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next

Jeep Makes a Comeback

By on Wednesday, December 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, fast, safe, versatile, stylish"

Cons: "seats are a bit hard, gas mileage (V8)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been thoroughly updated- a leap from 2010 to 2011 so drastic it's like comparing an elephant missing a leg to an overenthusiastic puppy. The 2010 was impressive enough, with decent on road manners and commendable off-road performance, but the interior was lacking, as was the safety and the styling. the 2011, however, takes everything 100 levels up. the styling is modern and sleek, the on-road manners are commendable with well-weighted steering, quick responses to anything the driver does, and athletic and graceful movements. Off-road, the beast is nearly unstoppable with 3 4x4 systems and even air suspension, plus exceptional standard approach, breakover, and departure angles, and a generous amount of standard ground clearance and traction. The safety is a standout, with many awards including the MSN Autos Safest SUV in America Award. interior room in generous with a large cargo area, fold-flat rear seats, and plenty of legroom for all five seats. The optional 9-speaker Alpine sound system is exceptional, as is the Garmin navigation system. With the standard 3.6 Liter V6, the Jeep is modestly quick but becomes a hot rod with the scorching 5.7 Liter Hemi V8. The only downside of this new Jeep is fuel economy with the V8... but who cares? that's not why you buy a Jeep Grand Cherokee. You buy it because you want a fun, fast, off-road capable, safe, stylish, versatile Sport-Utility-Vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Jeep!

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Design, ride comfort, gas mileage."

Cons: "Nothing so far."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid ride and great gas mileage. Huge improvement over the previous V6 engine option."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent ride. Best handling of 4WD vehicles

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stable, handles well, hemi is easy on gas."

Cons: "No wings included for take-offs and landings!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome redesign of the alread successful Jeep."

I love this vehicle!

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxurious interior with the feel of a car"

Cons: "transmission slow to shift sometimes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4wd in March of this year. I usually stick with Ford, but they have since changed over to their suvs being awd. Ive always seemed to like the look of a Jeep. I decided to test drive other vehicles when I started looking for a new one. I tried a GMC Acadia, Ford Edge, and Kia Sorento. They all were nice vehicles, but I kept coming back to the Jeep. Jeep did it right this year. Once I test drove the Jeep, I fell in love!!! This is definately a vehicle that fits my taste to a "T". The interior is superb. I love the wood trim along with the leather. The sound system is amazing. My kids and I love to listen to our favorite songs while driving down the road with the sun roof open and cruising. Its fun to drive and rides like a car. I haven't got to test it in the snow yet, but I am excited to see if it will live up to the hype. I haven't had any problems with it; however, I am not a fan of the transmission. It seems to be slow to shift at times, but the pros definately outweigh the cons."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxury quiet ride"

Cons: "tire lack of mud tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 20" wheels and the only thing I don't like is the lack of mud tires or aggresive tires available with the air suspension."

great SUV

By on Friday, December 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best 4x4 SUV ever, great in the snow, good ground clearness."

GREAT SUV! My first jeep

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price/value, nice suite of amenities, power"

Cons: "small luggage space, not much else"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This jeep(Overland) offers outstanding value for the price. The multitude of features embedded within the traditional rugged Jeep frame, to me, is really well done by Jeep/Chrysler. Heated"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth quiet and powerful."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased our Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit approximately six months ago. During this period of time, I can say this has to be the finest vehicle I have ever had the pleasure of owning. Traveling down the road it handles beautifully and is surprisingly smooth and quiet. The interior fit and finish is outstanding, and the seats are comfortable and supportive. All of the amenities which were optioned out on this vehicle such as adaptive cruise, blind side monitoring, etc. all operate flawlessly. I ordered this vehicle with the 5.7 hemi engine with some concerns about gas mileage. However, travelling at around 65 mph on interstate roads I managed to record a steady 22 miles per gallon. Drop down to 55 mph and the mileage goes up to 24 mile per gallon. All things considered with the size and power of this vehicle I was pleased with these figures. Granted, someone else with their driving habits might obtain better or worst mileage results. At this point, the only problem I have with this Jeep is trying to get the keys away from the wife, needless to say it's a losing battle!"

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Jeep Grand Cherokee for Life

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas milage"

Cons: "as of now, there aren't any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my third jeep grand cherokee and by far the best.I have owned a 2000, 2006 and now 2012 Laradeo X. With the improved gas milage and looks, you will not find a better vehicle for the price."

The very best SUV I have ever owned.

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, style, price, power makes it very complet"

Cons: "I get about 22-23 on the Highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just purchased my new 2012 Grand Cherokee 7,000 miles ago and am so impressed with it's performance, power, design, interior, Nav/Stereo system. I normally can find fault with something, but have yet to do so with this Jeep. Even the paint job on it is top notch quality. I have taken it to the mountains of Tennessee with it not thinking twice about going up and down those steep grades. It is also one of the most quiet vehicles I have ever driven. You barely notice any shifting sound or change from the engine. It happens fluidly. And when you pass a semi, you are not blown away by the road or other vehicle sounds. All in all, I will be keeping this Jeep until it dies. And I am thorougly convinced that is what it will take."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Friday, December 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"EXCELLENT NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Jeep hit it out-of-the park, PERIOD!

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior, Exterior, Ride,"

Cons: "In city mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1st Jeep! Traded 2004 Suburu Outback 6 cyl for used 2011 Overland 4x2 in early April. Loved it so much, traded up for full Overland 4x4 package 28 days later (Hemi, 730 Radio, TrainSelec). Online reviews and YouTube videos are spot on. BEST-IN-CLASS ("

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best SUV I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Many features, drives well, great appearance"

Cons: "Not the best gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the limited version and I love everything it has to offer. You don't need the overland in my opinion, the limited comes with a lot of features. If you're looking for a luxury SUV but are not wanting to spend $50k (as you do with most luxury brands because you pay for the name), then this is your best option. I would recommend this SUV to everyone!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Outstanding ride and looks

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Fuel Mileage in city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best SUV I have driven. It has all the features and reliability."

nicest car i've owned

By on Sunday, November 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quality workmanship"

Cons: "heated seats and bluetooth phone not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good gas mileage.better quality than gms i've owned. only disappointment is heated seats are not as heated on my previous gm vehicles"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE my JEEP!

By on Tuesday, November 08, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, great options!"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's very comfortable with the leather seats and it drives like you are in a luxury car. The back seat reclines and the trunk is big enough that it could still fit anything that you needed it to."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Gas Guzzler

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice to drive, looks great, well put together"

Cons: "Gas hog"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish it got better gas mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Jeep, Disappointed With Winter Performance

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,800

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice crusin' suv in the summer"

Cons: "Not good in high snow areas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"We have always owned 4wd trucks cos we live in snow country and decided to buy a Jeep. The sales person assured us it would be excellent in snow. We took our new 2011 Cherokee out in the snow storm we just had in late Oct. and was disappointed with it. Oh yes, it goes great when you are just driving on snow covered town roads, but when it comes to country roads and steep inclines, it does not live up to a true 4wd truck. I would trade it in if we wouldn't lose so much money. Guess it will sit in snow storms and I will use our 4wd truck. Live and learn, a very expensive lesson. If you live in high snow fall area, stick to a true 4wd. My next suv will be another 4wd truck!"

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best SUV I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, feels bigger than it is"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Except for a few minor issues (daytime running lamps not working, roof rack came loose) which were solved by the dealership it is a great SUV. I am very happy I bought the V8. The additional power is amazing and I am still getting around 17 MPG. The Limited offers all the options I didn't need the Overland model."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,435

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "heated"

Cons: "steering wheel in way of speedo,although ajustable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drive approx 30,000 per year and I am extremely happy with my Jeep. I have owned this vehicle for 6 months. Just recently, I am noticing some possible transmission issue with exeleration after letting off the gas..(a kind of chug chug)We need to take it to the dealer to see what's going on there. But overall, I love this vehicle. I am going to rely on this vehicle for many years.There are a couple things I would suggest to the manufacturer such as the way the dashboard is set up..it's hard to read the speedo unless your stearing wheel is adjusted quite a ways UP..also, the doors tend to close into you as you try to get in...the stoppers dont hold the door properly."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Jeep. Very solid and quite frankly a "tank". The unibody cage of the vehicle is solid as I do not hear any outside noises except from my radio playing inside. Safety is number one for this SUV. It rates 5 stars and has multiple airbags to include shoulder and shin airbags. Its standard that way not an option. What 2011 SUV have you heard of have airbags for the shins and shoulder w/o paying for anything extra. Nice deal. I have an Overland Summit. ;)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Transmission shifting

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Having a problem with erratic shifting and banging in and out of gear at certain speeds. Dealer did software upgrade-no change."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the best SUV out there!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,900

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Rides like a dream, georgeous vehicle,sweet"

Cons: "Dash board not idealy positioned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this 2011 grand cherokee 70th edition for almost 3 months now and what a beauty. This vehicle was made for Highway driving, as it eats up the road like a top of the line sedan. The interior is sweet and comfortable with all the upgrades you could want. The Bose stereo is well....wow. Iwould buy another one in a second. The whole SUV is so nice since Jeep put so much thought into this new model."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

EXCITING

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "SUPER VALUE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"FIRST NEW VEHICLE IN A VERY LONG TIME THAT I HAVE CONSIDERED TO BE A TRUE MASTERPIECE. JEEP SHOULD BE CONGRADULATED ON FINALLY TAKING A FLAGSHIP VEHICLE AND MAKING IT LUXURIOUS ENOUGH TO COMPETE WITH EVERYTHING OUT THERE... I BOUGHT THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY PACKAGE , WHAT A BARGAIN, LEATHER, NAV, BACK UP CAM, MOONROOF, UCONNECT MEDIA CENTER, HEMI, 42 GRAND? WHAT ELSE OUT THERE CAN COMPARE, ONLY A JEEP. 0IIII0 BE HAPPY, BE JEEPIN...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle for about four months now and absolutely love it! It rides incredibly smooth for an SUV and handles exceptionally well. Gas mileage is decent, I average between 20-21 mpg highway, and around 16-17 city, but I do tend to get on it a little bit. I would highly recommend this vehicle for anyone shopping for an SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals