Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Great in the city or on the open road.

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and ease of driving for long hours."

Cons: "The size made it difficult to get more than 5 in i"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way I can turn on a dime. It is easy to drive, has great pickup, gets 21 to 28 mpg depending on starts and stops, speed, wind, heat, etc. It is beautiful both inside (light gray) and outside (black iridescent paint and lots of chrome). Wish the GPS screen was a little larger. Would hate to give up the heated steering wheel, blind spot mirrors, backup camera with colored guidelines, front sensors, and air lift."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

absolutely the most favorite vehicle

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price was not too terribly bad"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my most favorite vehicle that I have ever owned. Even compared to an Infiniti QX4 that I had for years. Sporty looking, drives and rides smooth."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV for the MONEY, No Doubt!!

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, reliable, fun, and attractive"

Cons: "none that come to mind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Couldn't be happier. Over the past several years this SUV has maintained attractive styling, it's very comfortable for long trips and plenty of room for most anything you need to transport. Good leg room in the back and lots of adaptability with the interior. The upgraded sound system was worth every penny and I've had zero issues with reliability. Highly recommend this Jeep to anyone!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

not as good as previous cherokees I have owned

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of optioms for decent money"

Cons: "no power for my needs........gas milage lower than"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I feel the veh has received too many minor recalls that waste my time."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Going to buy another"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Avoid at all costs

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, powerful engine, quality of interior"

Cons: "See above!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Without going into much detail (because it would consumer several pages), I have been in the dealership for repairs over 30 times in 15 months, which includes several recalls. Some of the issues include: Steering wheel falls apart (replaced by a cracked steering wheel which Jeep refuses to address), faulty key fob sensors which do not allow me to open the rear lift gate and falsely signal that the key fob has left the vehicle -Drooping exhaust pipes, navigation not recognizing common destinations, voice recognition software is basically useless, touch display will not respond to touches many times, speedometer goes blank so I don't know how fast I'm going, rear lift gate handle was falling off and entire lift gate was misaligned, causing water to leak inside, awful gas mileage compared to the competition, an old-style floor based parking brake (Mercedes and others are using electronic switches to activate parking brake), vehicle unlocks itself (have had items stolen from my car because of this), complete incompetence of Jeep to handle this properly (lots of denials, refusals for service, etc.), many more issues... At $53,000 please go buy something else. I will be so very happy if others can learn from my experience and buy something that is worth that amount of money. Looks like I will be reverting back to Infiniti."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best Vehilce I have ever driven

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Superb vehicle."

Cons: "Great power but a little tough on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Superb power, comfort and handling."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great value SUV with tons of features!

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "V8 power adjustable ride height, heated wheel"

Cons: "small nav screen, difficult nav. , gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Our Jeep Cherokee Overland edition is a fun to drive and well put together vehicle for just under 50k. Many luxurious features and great on and off road with a powerful and throaty 350HP V-8. Don't expect great mileage with the v-8 but enjoy the powerful acceleration and snow eating ability of this beast! The Nav screen is tiny and not very user friendly."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, lots of technology, comfy, sleek"

Cons: "Expensive, heavy, GPS not very intuitive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new almost 2 years ago, and it's been awesome! There is plenty of power (5.7L Hemi) and it drives very smooth! Even with the big V8, it does decent on gas because of the variable valve technology that shuts down 4 cylinders when freeway driving. Because of this fact, I still average about 20MPG. Lots of technology loaded in it, and it is very fun, reliable and comfortable to drive. Definitely recommend it to anyone asking!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great power with the 5.7 Hemi.

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,400

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great power with the 5.7 Hemi."

Cons: "Not sold on reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Has had 3 recalls in less than a year. Shifts a little rough and bogs some before it decides to downshift. Also, under heavy acceleration I get exhaust smell in cab and now I smell antifreeze."

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT RIDING AND HANDLING AUTO. VERY STYLISH.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT TO DRIVE."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"FOR SURE THE BEST OVERALL CAR I'VE OWNED AND I'VE HAD ABOUT A DOZEN NEW CARS IN MY LIFETIME. GREAT FOR MYSELF BUT SPOUSE IS A LITTLE SHORT AND HAS ROUGH TIME GETTING INTO AND OUT OF THIS JEEP."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nice car but what's up with jeep

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,100

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Jeep needs to slow down on the builds on my fourth recall total pain didn't have these issues with my first grand Cherokee . PS NOT HAPPY"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best SUV amog the mid-price vehicles.

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The best car for its price. well trimmed, well put together, great pent-star engine, great mileage, I average 21MPG driving. will buy new one next year, maybe diesel in place of V8."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV NOT!

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great car for towing, camping and comfort drive"

Cons: "Cheap materials, bad reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have owned my GC Summit for 18 months and 30,000 miles. Its a great car for the money however I have had nothing but trouble with this car. To their credit Jeep has solved every issue under warranty but the inconvenience of dropping the car off for a few days every other month is not a pleasant experience, the car has had issues with the A/C, Cruise Control, Seatbelt alarm, Break boosters, suspension airlifts, blue smoke, body panels coming off and rust on the front pumper. The materials used in this car look nice but feel very cheap to the touch! Just touch the front grille!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Smooth, quiet, reliable, carries stuff, all good.

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good mileage, smooth and quiet."

Cons: "Door locks and starting system not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been very good. Only a couple of problems relating to the locking/starting system. Once it locked me out with the key in the car. Cost $80 for a tow truck guy to break in. Both key fobs and some part of the computer replaced under warranty because it would not recognize its own keys. Two of the door locks would not respond to the remotes or anything except manually opening them. Cost $600 to get that fixed. so ends the list of complaints. Otherwise it has been great. Runs smoothly. Mileage is good for such a heavy vehicle. 4,300 pounds. Gets 25 on the highway but only 14 in town. the government sticker said 18 city, 22 highway, so I guess I can't complain. I had several other mid-sized SUV's that never got over 19 highway. (Cherokee, Liberty, 4Runner, Pathfinder, Toyota FJ Cruiser)"

7 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Love the diesel engine.

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel economy"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Average 27 MPG driving 15 miles to work in mostly highway speeds. Have gotten as high as 33 MPG on highway. It a pleasure to drive every day and even more fun to drive in the snow. Only issue I have had was that the blue DEF had gotten low and the vehicle stopped running. Jeep towed the vehicle in filled the tank and I have not had any issues since. Overall a good vehicle."

19 people out of 37 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride"

Cons: "BIGGER BRAKE PADS!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I decided to get another Jeep Grand Cherokee LTD I would not get the BIG 8. I personally do not need that size engine. But I LOVE MY JEEP. It's been good to me. It looks brand new. I have had this 4 years."

16 people out of 31 found this review helpful

BEST JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE ECO DIESEL.

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have my Jeep for 5 months just love it,I have no problem with my JEEP GC 2014. I looked at every competitors SUV on the market and believe this is the best value. I did test drive with 7 other car companies and felt this was the best drive. It feels like when you fly first class vs economy. I am proud to buy from a US brand company."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Well worth the purchase...

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Overall great vehicle for the amenities and price"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a 2014 Overland Edition. I have yet to see any of the flaws mentioned in below reviews (knock on wood). I have roughly 3000 miles on the vehicle and cannot find any cons at this point. I believe the transmission shifts very smooth. The pick up is great and am currently averaging 23-24 miles per gallon on average. It did take a little while to get the driver seat adjusted to my liking and has since been a comfortable/enjoyable ride. I have taken the Jeep to FL twice and all passengers have enjoyed the ride. There is not much cargo space for big trips but this was remedied by purchasing a cargo tray that inserts into the trailer hitch. Overall, my family is really enjoying this classy ride."

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

great car terrific value love to drive it

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car does everything it is suppose to looks great drove every suv in the market bought this one and very happy"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

New transmission is awful

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice styling"

Cons: "Lousy new transmission an gear shifter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned nothing but Jeep Grand Cherokees for the past 20 years, having had at least 5 in that time. The new transmission and gear shifter, introduced for the 2014 model is just awful. Transmission is sluggish and slow to respond. Feels sometimes like when you are driving with someone in a manual transmission car and they dont know how to shift. The new gear shifter is complicated, and its hard to know what gear you are in, or get the car into the gear you want. I have thought I was in park and actually was in reverse. I cant bee live they ruined this car. The transmission was awesome, the gear shifter was fine, and they just ruined them. I will be selling my new 2014 with 3500 miles on it as soon as I can. I have noted many used 2014's available on dealer websites, so obviously I am not alone. This vehicle is a dud."

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

worst veihcle ever had

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,600

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "not many"

Cons: "junk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"never buy another jeep/fiat product again the do not accept responsibility for anything/everything that is wrong with this SUV"

18 people out of 42 found this review helpful

Thus far, a well built reliable vehicle

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "decent fuel mileage 23ish combined"

Cons: "Nav system is difficult to configure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"no issues with exception of a blown headlamp (warranty). no rattles or show of ware. Tech package is awesome and I continue to become more familiar with its capabilities."

17 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Worst car, or any product experience ever!

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Only the design"

Cons: "Horrible transmission, and computer glitches"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned this car for a little over a year, and have been battling Chrysler to fix the transmission from the beginning. I've had the vehicle in 9 or 10 times (for more than 30 days off the road), but only after I hired a lawyer did they finally replace the transmission. They don't value their customers at all and don't support their products - it's no wonder they have the lowest % of repeat buyers among the large manufacturers. The car looks great and has some nice features, but don't be sucked into what I'll call the superficial qualities of the car. The car consistently shifted like a teenager learning to drive a stick (and this car is an automatic). Chrysler wouldn't allow the dealership to put in new parts, but instead kept trying a series of software updates, never caring if it actually fixed my problem. They didn't care that I was inconvenienced by having to continually bring it back in for repair, and didn't care if that the car didn't work properly. If you buy this car after reading this review, you only have yourself to blame."

20 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Lots of amenities but..

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love technology pkg and lift gate"

Cons: "mileage is much lower than quoted & engine is loud"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I LOVE the power lift gate, it opens and closes with a button. And LOVE the cross traffic warning when backing up. Nice to have a "Screen Off" button easily accessible, the nav screen is really bright at night (lights up the whole cabin even on low setting). Heated rear seats are nice and hard to find around this price point. With that said, at this price pt, it could use heat & ac vents for the rear seats! There seem to be a lot of software issues and odd things don't work. Its turning out to be expensive and time consuming to keep up with maintenance and updates. There are updates and recalls every month, you have to sit and wait for them each time. The radio still doesn't work, it changes stations and modes randomly, the ventilated seats absolutely don't blow enough air to feel at all, even with a wet hand for testing. I think the cabin is pretty quiet expect if you are accelerating. Its a heavy vehicle so takes a lot of gas to get up to speed. The best mileage has been 16 hwy and 13 is best in city for me. I haven't taken it near the dirt, I don't want to damage it. I've had 3 flat tires in the city and the 20" wheels just seem a little risky (or odd) to take off-road anywhere. Anyway, love the advanced technology package, (blind spot monitoring and backup features) totally worth the additional price. Really disappointed in the low miles per gallon., not very close to the quotes on the window sticker. Wish the diesel version had been available when I purchased. Don't know if its more economical but worth a look."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals