Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 930 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

Comfortable and reliable

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my Jeep Grand Cherokee for 4 years. It has been very reliable, no problems at all. Low maintenance costs. Only complaint is the gas mileage. Overall great vehicle."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Most comfortable vehicle for an SUV.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, fast, agile and hugs the road."

Cons: "Still looking for the cons . . ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best vehicle ever owned. It has power, of road capabilities, roof rack, wonderful to travel with. Most comfortable interior ever and every control right in front of you. When rear seats are put down, allows ample room for those trips to the hardware store or any place else. Service has always been minimal, when maintained as book states. A really pleasant experience."

Lucy the Jeep!

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage 19-21mpg highway"

Cons: "has a very thin red pinstripe on the side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My grand cherokee has been amazing. by far my favorite vehicle yet! It is unbelievably reliable, comfortable, and very fun to drive. This model has the ability to switch from automatic to semi-manual making passing cars as well as driving country roads a blast. Mine is black with black and grey leather interior in amazing shape. It's spotless, scratch less, and I have babied it. Up to date on all checks, oil changes, tires, brakes, and spark plugs."

205000 miles and never had a tuneup.

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Plenty on power and the stabilization package"

Cons: "Rear windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had the oil changed regularly and that's the only maintenance besides changing tires out about every 50k miles. The jeep still gets 20 plus miles per gallon. The only drawbacks I can think of are the back windows only go down halfway and the driver's seat has sunk in far enough to be uncomfortable without an added cushion."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I love my jeep..comfy

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price, fun to drive, comfy and roomy"

Cons: "gas mileage..19-20 in town 22-23 highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

still shiney after all these years

"I couldn't miss with this Grand cherokee. Comfy and roomy. I have towed my camper behind it and my small boat with no problems. a 10+"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

still shiney after all these years

very nice suv !

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a very good off road car and it have that sporty fell in it and it is fantastique but the new model is even better but I still like this car very much!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE my Jeep!

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives great! Always starts! Very comfortable."

Cons: "Need lights for cup holders inside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Jeep brand new and never had any problems with it! I absolutely love it! I would like a new one some day, but for now, I will keep the one I have!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle ever!

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, very fun to drive."

Cons: "2 cup holders in front console and 2 in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the only owner of this 2005 Grand Cherokee Loredo I have enjoyed it very much but I would like to up grad to another Jeep. Carpet needs replacing, and Right side back door needs a minor repair hit something on road it flew up and hit door. Other than that it is in great shape, new tires, new brakes this year 2014. Gold in color gray cloth seats and interior."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Jeep Ever!

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Hold their price value, fully loaded"

Cons: "Gets 15-18pg around town, no other cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Im reading all the other reviews and somefolks start rating the regular Jeep. This is to rate the SRT8, not the regular Cherokees. I bought my 2006 in 2008 Summer. I paid 29,000k with 30,000 miles, which is a steal. Its fully loaded with the nav/dvd/video system. The only thing that had an issue was the torque converter that was covered under my extended warranty. Im at 93000 miles now and I just had to replace the electric cooling fan, 318$. So.......what can I say, I get 18mpg and have also bought the Diablo predator that allows multiple tuning. The truck is solid, dependable and the 6.1L with a tune is amazing wen punched from a light. Some times Im easy on the car and some times I do spirited driving, overall- - - - - - BEST TRUCK EVER!!!!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love this car.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, hemi, lots of room"

Cons: "mpg, no aux input,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first car and I love it. I wanted an SUV, something I could go on the beach with. This is a great first car or for a long timer in the car industry. The only downside is that I have a hemi and didn't realize the amount of gas I would be putting in every 5 days. Also, there is no aux input. Being 19 with an iPhone thats a major bummer. All in all I absolutely love my car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited is the best.

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,014

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've been driving Jeeps since 1978 and have never had a bad one. I currently own an '84 J10 pickup with selectrac and a 2007 Grand Cherokee Limited with quadratrac. The GC just turned 94000 miles. It has incredible traction. I have pulled a Chevy 3/4 ton diesel 4x4 with a dump trailer loaded with 5 ton of limestone dust 200 yards to it's intended destination after it bogged down on freshly laid rock on a new driveway to a newly built pole barn.The GC never slipped a wheel.I just made a round trip of 1600 miles to West Virginia and averaged 20 mpg. It has the 4.7 v8. It handles very well and is comfortable to drive. We made the trip each way in less that 12 hours."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Handled Michigan Winters easily!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great winter driving"

Cons: "gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the Jeep Grand Cherokee! I have leased or owned a Jeep Grand Cherokee since 1993. If you live in an area with alot of wintery weather this vehicle is the best. And yes I have also owned a GMC and Ford SUV........"

Worst car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Paid for"

Cons: "Rough ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought new, only 4 miles after test drive. Transmission leak at 7000 miles, water pump at 10000 miles air conditioner system replaced at 12000, 23,000 and 40,000 miles. Replaced water pump again at 88,000 miles. Has made rattling noise since the firs AC replacement. HATE my car but it is paid for! Have owned 3 Fords and a Buick."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I expected more from a Jeep, very disappointed

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "AWD for the winter, lots of cargo room"

Cons: "transmission issues, interior is plain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have had the shifter replaced twice in the last three years and have also replaced the starter. Warranty from the dealer was of little help, should have saved the money for repairs."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1 owner, never been wrecked. black.looks great

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it is a great driving jeep, looks great.."

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had a 1992 jeep until I traded for this 2007......this jeep has never had ant engine problems....1 owner (female) and I have had every scheduled maintenance done & minor scratches. heated front leather seats....only reason I'm selling is due to my battle with Leukemia and stem cell transplant..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

strongest and most rugged vehicle.of today

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "power, speed, smart traction control and looks."

Cons: "heat shields separate, not easy to do basic main."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The gripping power when on snow and ice are unmatched. I pulled 2 to 3 feet in diameter rocks along a frozen lake to put along the shoreline with ease. I pull my 45 foot.dock out of the water and up a hill with ease. For those that complain about a second delay before shifting is normal. The 5 45RE transmission is a smart trany. It first looks at vehicle speed, throttle position and tray temp prior to shifting."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

too many problems for the mileage

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,260

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "bluetooth, cd, backup camera nice features."

Cons: "poor gas mileage, 1-2 sec. delay when floored"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My old jeeps were far more reliable. Too many problems for the 66,000 miles this car has. Sucks gas, steering problem, tie rod, 1-2 second delay when floored. Would not even consider buying a new jeep at this point. Very disappointed!!"

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great car. No problems since 09 purchase.

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fit, finish and feeling of safety."

Cons: "Hemi gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the fit, finish, handling and reliability of the Overland. The only thing I would have done differently is to go with a V6 rather than the Hemi. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Overland."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great overall!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We've replaced 3 of the inside door handles, cheap plastic handles. vent clips have broken off of 2 vents. The push button dash info has rubbed off and can't be read any more. The back cargo pull handle broke. Very minor problems. owned for 4 yrs, comfortable ride."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great overall!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We've replaced 3 of the inside door handles, cheap plastic handles. vent clips have broken off of 2 vents. The push button dash info has rubbed off and can't be read any more. The back cargo pull handle broke. Very minor problems. owned for 4 yrs, comfortable ride."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great on everything except gas

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Big Fun"

Great Jeep

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gets through anything/and reliable"

Cons: "Back seats too small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This model is the last grand cherokee I will buy. I do not care for the new models and love this vehicle for what our needs are. Handles great in any conditions (with the correct tires, Hankook) I purchased this in 2011 and it's an 2005. I have put 30k on it since purchase and now has 120k+ and still runs great. Back seat isn't ideal for car seats FYI. I'm a jeep buyer for life hopefully Chrysler doesn't completely ruin the brand, I can't see me buying any models other current models other than wrangler."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for the price.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price @ the time of purchase."

Cons: "expensive for replacement parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car has had these problems. The air conditioning had to be replaced. The motor for the windshield wiper had to be replaced. The two front window motors had been recalled. The ESP sensor goes on without a reason. It is badly insulated and noisy. The six cd changer had to be replaced. The front seatbelts had to be replaced."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

If you own one you know. If not get one!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From the mountains of Oregon, to our hunting trails of northern Michigan, to the frozen tundra that was chicago's winter 13' I've never had a moments thought that my Grand Cherokee wouldn't get me there. Better size than any of the giant suv's out there but tons of cargo room. Very solid gas mileage and plenty of power. Legendary Jeep reliability! I'll always own a Grand Cherokee!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Jeep to bad things get old.

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the way it handle in the snow! Best vehicle I ever owned. I'm hooked."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals