Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 926 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 34 35 36 ... 38 | Next

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2005

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great style, tire monitors come in handy with teenage using it, front windhield hard to get use to smaller than I am use to. 28,000 miles without an mechanical problem. gas mileage 15 in town, 21 highway V8"

its a 3.5 out of 5

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"i really enjoy driving it but has somethings that i dont like, like the transmission is very jerky, and has no pick up"

My Second Grand Cherokee

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I never had any problems with the first one that I had for five years, so I bought another one. I've had this one for two years now, and I am convinced this is the best car for me. Jeep service at the dealers: they really take care of you."

another dissapointment in american vehicles

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"this by far the most unreliable vehicle I have ever had. the rear differencial was bad after only weeks from purchase, now when it starts it shuts off after minutes...very imbarrasing!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is an exceptional auto. My wife and I went back and forth with this, an Xterra, and a 4-Runner. We got this for a much better price and we like the ride and looks more. The ONLY negative to this is obviously the MPG (that is why I marked down performance). We average 14.8-15.2. We do, however only drive in the city (limited highway driving). And there is a stop light every ten feet in our town. There is more than ample room for us and we let our 87lb Lab ride in the cargo area. She loves all the room. If you are looking for a midsize SUV, please try the new Grand Cherokee. I beg my wife to let me drive it...no luck so far."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

hot suv

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"i like everything about this jeep. but the power windows up front . i have alittle issue with. they are onetouch up,down. sometimes when i go to put the window up with the onetouch the window will stop then go back down and up a few times before i become frustrated and then will just hold the button to get it to work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

comfort/ performance

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"A beast of a machine. Drivetrain of a 2500 with the styling of a mercedes."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Bad year for Jeep

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"In shop more than average. Lost rear Diffferencial twice and now front differencial is broken. Average wait for parts one week. A lot of problems with auto windshield wipers, auto headlight, airbag and auto seat adjust. Alot of money for all the problems. I guess I just got a lemmon."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Excellent Choice!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited is the best vehicle choice I have ever made. It has excellent power with the hemi and has no trouble towing my 20' boat. When compared to my 05 Tahoe that I traded in, it is amazingly better! The driving is much more comfortable, the engine is much much quieter, and the vibrations that are caused by Michigan roads are a thing of the past. The cargo space is amazingly large when the backseat is folded down, it also has a great roof rack that will hold luggage for at least 4 people when traveling for more than a week. The gas milage is great on the highway. i am averaging 15mpg towing and 22mpg when I am not. This is a big difference from the Tahoe when I was maybe getting 10mpg towing and 15mpg when I was not. I also do not feel the weight of the boat when I accelerate or decelerate as when I did with the Tahoe. Jeep has created an amazing tow system that gives me the added power when I need it. The two tone leather is extremely stylish and the wood inserts are a great touch. Everyone that rides in the jeep cannot believe that it is a Jeep when they enter the vehicle and they cannot stop talking about it when they exit. i have already converted 2 nonbelievers to the Jeep Grand Cherokee and hope that anyone that reads this will give it a shot when looking for a stylish comfortable ride."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Powerful

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I can make the kids squeel when I tromp done on the gas of this Hemi!! Fuel mileage not that good..even when I drive easy... 18 mpg ENJOY driving, and Im 6 foot 6 inches... ( but its my wifes Jeep)"

use to much gas

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Have 05 with small V8 with every thing on it.Have put 37000 miles in 1 1/2 years. Use too much gas-14/17. Dealer says that is ok.First and last jeep."

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

GCL the Best

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought new Dec. 04', Hemi 5.7 amazing performance. MPG avg. 15 city/ 21 highway (sometimes 23 MPG Hyw.) Drive daily 150 to 400 miles. No major mechanical problems, replaced starter at 86,000 mi. OEM less than $100+labor. Could'nt ask for a more dependable road car. I change oil & filter every 4000 miles. Original tires lasted 80,000 mi. Take care of your car and it takes care of you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought new, used every day to drive 300 - 500 miles, no major mechanical problems. 80% highway and 20% city driving, ave. MPG 15city/21 highway(as high as 23MPG) not bad for 5.7 Hemi V8. Love this car!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

GREAT!!!!

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This Jeep is PERFECT!!! The Hemi can pull anything and it rides like a dream!!!"

Need a v/8

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I purhcased this vechicle with the 3.7L and it is a complete dog, has trouble getting out of its own way. Gas milage is not that great. 14 around town 20 on highmway. Engine and transmission combo is not the greatest the transmission shifts oddly slamming into gears from time to time. If I had to do it ove again I would have purchased the 4.7l v/8."

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have the 05 Limited 4.7. This is my second Grand Cherokee, it is smaller than my 00 was. I run up a lot of miles and this is a "very" comfortable Jeep. I have had no issues what so ever. With the current gas prices I do wish it got a little better mileage, however for the type vehicle it is...21.5 constant avg. is not bad. it has always responded when I need it to, excellent pick up power. I will be another one down the road!"

Great Look - Not so great performance

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"I had an '02 Grand Cherokee before this and had nothing but problems - steering and transmission issues - and was glad to get rid of it. I decided to give the '05 a try anyway because I liked the new style. I love the way it looks and the features inside are awesome. I have the Boston Acoustics radio upgrade with Sirius Satellite radio and 6-disc changer, sunroof, running boards, and tire pressure monitor (which is a really good thing to have). BUT, the reliability of the vehicle itself has not been great. The air-conditioning makes a whining noise at about 55 mph when on the second setting (we have the manual air). The dealer says this is a known problem that Jeep had no fix for yet (as of last time we talked to them) and this has been ongoing since the month we bought the car (early '05). This problem definitely impedes the enjoyment of the car. Also, the gear shifter has been replaced twice and the original tires have all been replaced due to several safety issues we had over the time we had the vehicle (inexplicably losing tire pressure - this is where the tire pressure monitor really came in handy). Although I love the car itself, again for the style and features, I wish the realiability was better. I probably will not buy another due to the issues that don't seem to get addressed by the manufacturer."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 34 35 36 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details