Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 925 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

excellent SUV

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Everyone told me not to buy this SUV; luckily didn't follow their advice....still running great"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,562

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "MGP, reliability, Fun to drive"

Cons: "limited options,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Lardo is a very dependable vehicle i owned a 95' Tahoe and i prefer the Jeep better because of the gas milage but it will start up, and being up in the Appalachian Mountain range you deal with the cold and snow and this vehicle is the best type for this area that and every other JEEP unfortunately 4x4 don't mean much in snow but it is great."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Bad Engine (3.7 V6)

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Beautiful Interior. Beautiful Exterior."

Cons: "Engine. Engine. Engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this Jeep in 2008. It was a 2005 and got an unbelievable deal on it. I was in love! Only had 46000 miles. It was like new. The interior was beautiful, and had all the bells and whistles. It's blown up now. From what I've heard from SEVERAL people is that I was extremely lucky to get to 177000 miles. Most blow a little after 100,000. One of Jeeps worst engines ever. Should have kept the straight 6 4.0, one of Jeeps best engines. Buy with caution!!!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

3rd one I've had, won't be the last!

By on Sunday, December 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No auxiliary adapter, that's all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 3rd Jeep Grand Cherokee I've owned and I can honestly say it won't be the last. I don't have to worry about it breaking down on me, it drives great, has all the bells and whistles, and is overall my most favorite I've owned. I'm a Jeep lover thru and thru and will continue to be!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I don't know what else anyone could want.

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "offroad mastery meets onroad sophistacation. power"

Cons: "gas mileage, gas mileage. GAS MILEAGE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Off road: excellent traction, good articulation, and the front air dam is easily removable which helps approach angle. On road: compared to most SUVs, the HEMI is in a league of its own. push the gas to the floor and 'Merica happens! also rides very comfortably with a forgiving suspension and minimal road noise."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Gotta Love it

By on Wednesday, November 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy enough for my wife to drive"

Cons: "fuel... But I knew that buying it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, tows anything and I can't even tell it is there. I've driven it all across the country and has been very reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great, reliable car except for uncomfortable seats

By on Saturday, September 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Reliable, good in snow, good looking, easy to main"

Cons: "Uncomfortable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our third Jeep GC Limited. We love them!! Worked well for us---the 2005 seats weren't very comfortable, however."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Value

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good value, very reliable, awesome power, smooth and quiet. Tows my trailer easily. Very good in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Diesel are the Best

By on Monday, September 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I think KBB, dropped the ball on the value. The truck is great, the diesel engine is good. Replaced the transmission at 82,000 miles. The parts are expensive, but when the SUV is running properly, she runs. Great MPG 24+ on the road. I would prefer more sitting space, Jeep forgot the lesson on feeling cramped."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Grand Cherokee

By on Saturday, September 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice to drive. Comfy. Feel safe."

Cons: "Recall but fixed. Horrible gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Before my Jeep I had Ford Explorers. Never go back to Ford. I need a vehicle that can get me outta my 300 ft driveway every day to work. We have hard winters in PA with big deep snow drifts. My Jeep gets me out without spinning a wheel.The quality of Jeep came shining through the 1st winter! Only problem was it would shut off when I started out sometimes. Didnt stall just shut off. Jeep had a recall and it was fixed completely.Ive owned this Suv 6yrs. Radio/CD player dont have the sound Ford has but I need the mechanical grit. NO rust. Gas mileage is terrible but its a Jeep! Very solid SUV in wind, rain, snow or every day driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2007 Jeep Laredo

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "no pros"

Cons: "lots of consl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I will never purchase another Chrysler too many electrical problems."

a+

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"a+"

love my jeep

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive goes anywhere"

Cons: "to many sensors but i guess thats what you get wit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my jeep its great it goes anywhere i want it to i just wish it towed more and that all the electrical in the car didnt go haywire when you have a problem with the rear door lacth sensor but over all its a GREAT CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall Great Car

By on Thursday, July 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Jeep Grand Cherokee, and most definitely won't be my last. The good news: 1) Terrific handling for an SUV 2) Great horsepower no matter which engine. I currently have the 5.7L Hemi, which is awesome! But the 3.7L v6 is just fine. I suggest the 4.7L v8. Powerful, but not over the top. 3) Never had any major mechanical issues. 4) Overall great value relative to other SUV's. In terms of features, aesthetics, and performance it feels like a luxury brand without the huge price tag. The Bad: 1) Of course poor gas mileage, since I have the Hemi engine 2) The Navigation/DVD system just stopped working one day. Not sure if it's a common issue."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's a Jeep."

Cons: "It's a Jeep. Not the best in gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has treated us very well. The only issue I have ever had was a starting problem that would come and go. We eventually found out that it was a bad cell in the battery. We changed out the battery and all was well afterwards. When we first bought ours I told everyone that it was just a Dodge with Jeep written on it. It soon became apparent that this vehicle is truly all Jeep. It's been bullet proof. When I changed the brakes on it last year and actually looked at the the underside I realized that my "just a Dodge" assessment was wrong. I am a loyal Jeep fan, I have owned many different ones over the years, including a 46 Willys. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that is looking for a comfortable and reliable ride."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awsome and versatile

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "versitile performer"

Cons: "not the most ecconomical vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"So much power, and flexibility. Handles great and carries what ever you need. A true SPORT utility."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent automobile - Low maintenance

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, powerful, sporty, elegant inside"

Cons: "gas milage,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my automobile for about 7+ years and have had very little to no problems. I change my oil when required and have purchased tires twice. I have not had a tune-up (although I need one)and my jeep runs really good. I will be purchasing a newer jeep next year but I felt the need to share the satisfaction I have with my jeep. I have 170k miles and the most expensive issue I had was a broken hose! There are some minor noises when I make very sharp turns which does scare me all the time, but overall my jeep is low maintenance and very reliable. May be slightly expensive up front but it is certainly worth it!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, July 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best SUV or car I have ever owned, still love it after 7 years."

love my jeep

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my 2nd jeep. the first one lasted us 13 years. I've owned the grand Cherokee for 2 years now. I love the jeeps and won't ever buy anything else. they are sturdy and reliable. we live in the mountains of WV and the jeeps are a popular vehicle here for good reason. love it love it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love my jeep

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my 2nd jeep. the first one lasted us 13 years. I've owned the grand Cherokee for 2 years now. I love the jeeps and won't ever buy anything else. they are sturdy and reliable. we live in the mountains of WV and the jeeps are a popular vehicle here for good reason. love it love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Beautiful Black Jeep

By on Saturday, July 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great deal at the time, reliable ride ,safe ride."

Cons: "Gas mileage was only slightly better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a loyal Jeep Owner, and this Jeep is my second. I 'traded down' from a 'Limited' in 2009 because my 2004 needed a lot of work and there was a tax write off, and Dealers were doing their own 'cash for clunkers' deals. Although, the Limited was FAR from a 'clunker' , I wanted the tax write off for going from 8 to 6 cylinders. The new Jeep ,for me, was better. It is a far better ride, far better engineering, needed very little work and we ( my son and I) 'worked' it ALOT. When things get better for me I would love to buy a Jeep again, I will ALWAYS be a loyal "Jeep" girl."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Beautiful Black Jeep

By on Saturday, July 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great deal at the time, reliable ride ,safe ride."

Cons: "Gas mileage was only slightly better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a loyal Jeep Owner, and this Jeep is my second. I 'traded down' from a 'Limited' in 2009 because my 2004 needed a lot of work and there was a tax write off, and Dealers were doing their own 'cash for clunkers' deals. Although, the Limited was FAR from a 'clunker' , I wanted the tax write off for going from 8 to 6 cylinders. The new Jeep ,for me, was better. It is a far better ride, far better engineering, needed very little work and we ( my son and I) 'worked' it ALOT. When things get better for me I would love to buy a Jeep again, I will ALWAYS be a loyal "Jeep" girl."

best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Monday, May 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, safety, and just feels good to drive"

Cons: "only gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This thing is a tank, this winter we didn't get snow all season we did get a half dozen or so very snowy days one that was blizzard like, this bad boy showed no problems or signs of struggle and i did have to drive in the blizzard like snow. It was fantastic, of course i wasn't just speeding around had to be smart but nothing that was thrown at my jeep even came close to getting it stuck. Things a beast"

I love my Jeep but it needs better MPG.

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,160

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Style,comfort,safety,fun to drive,lots of options."

Cons: "Brakes, MPG, Nav screen update."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pros: Stylish, comfortable, driver friendly vehicle. Features: U-connect blue tooth hands free phone system. Heated power front leather seats. Two driver memory settings, driver ease entry exit. Auto on/off and auto dimming headlights. Rain sensor intermittent wipers. Adjustable pedals. Easy down/up shift feature for driving in the mountains. Elegant dark metallic green paint that has held up well in the Texas sun."

Best vehicle I have ever owed!

By on Monday, May 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a JEEP, not a Toyota, honda, etc"

Cons: "Should have bought 4x4 model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love the Grand Cherokee even though I despise driving SUV's. For some reason I feel in control of my Jeep more than other SUV's. I have just under 85,000 miles on it with minimal issues. I just had the rear brakes replaced for the first time. Yes, I'm saying that the front brakes have 85,000 miles and still going strong. The rear brakes were replaced at 79,000 miles. I just put on the third set of tires and have never had to do a wheel alignment, ever. The battery was just replace at 5yrs and 3 months with 81,000, and I bought it at Walmart for $110.00. I have the 4.7 ltr. V-8, 2 wheel drive. My leather drivers seat started splitting (not at the seam) at 27,000 miles and there is a small little rattle in my headliner above the drivers seat. I was to busy to take care of those issues while it was still under manufacturers warranty and have dealt with it since. The rattle is really minimal and comes and goes from time to time. I purchased the Chrysler MAXCARE Lifetime warranty, so I'm covered for life/unlimited miles and will take care of those issues when I get around to it. The warranty I purchased for a little over $2,000 is for life and covers electronics, drivetrain, and more. I tow a 5x8 trailer that weights close to 3000 lbs. daily for my business and it does it with ease. I have driven this Jeep across the country twice from NC to CA in two days each time. I drove for 26 hours straight with fill ups, a rest break, and another 11 hour straight drive. Once in July and once in January, hot or cold it never missed a beat. I love this Jeep, but wish I had bought the 4x4!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details