Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 932 Ratings for the 2005 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 187 | Next

Less To Like Over Time

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,500

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Powerful V8, excellent sound system"

Cons: "Failed electronics, costly repairs, terrible MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"We've owned this vehicle since it was brand new, and the older it gets, the less I have to love about it. For example, the cabin is noisy and the seats are uncomfortable for longer trips. Just recently, we've had to replace the water pump, front differential, radiator, and transmission solenoid. Also recently, the radio screen blanked out and you can only go through your radio presets, turn the radio on or off, and adjust the volume of the radio. The radio is expensive to replace, and you can't go aftermarket since the rear DVD player and SIRIUS Satellite Radio are tied into the factory radio. I have an '02 Grand Cherokee, and have owned multiple Grand Cherokees over the years, and my '02 beats our '05 in almost every way. The Boston sound system is crisp and clear, though, and the V8 is powerful, I will give it that. Overall, though, consider either a newer or older generation Grand Cherokee, but not this one."

I have enjoyed driving this car - for 10 years.

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great in inclement weather, comfort"

Cons: "beginning to have to replace parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is still a smooth ride, plenty of power and is fantastic in inclement weather. Nothing stops it. It is great on trips and you arrive fairly rested after being in a car for several hours. I will miss it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Comfortable and reliable

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my Jeep Grand Cherokee for 4 years. It has been very reliable, no problems at all. Low maintenance costs. Only complaint is the gas mileage. Overall great vehicle."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Most comfortable vehicle for an SUV.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, fast, agile and hugs the road."

Cons: "Still looking for the cons . . ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best vehicle ever owned. It has power, of road capabilities, roof rack, wonderful to travel with. Most comfortable interior ever and every control right in front of you. When rear seats are put down, allows ample room for those trips to the hardware store or any place else. Service has always been minimal, when maintained as book states. A really pleasant experience."

Lucy the Jeep!

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage 19-21mpg highway"

Cons: "has a very thin red pinstripe on the side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My grand cherokee has been amazing. by far my favorite vehicle yet! It is unbelievably reliable, comfortable, and very fun to drive. This model has the ability to switch from automatic to semi-manual making passing cars as well as driving country roads a blast. Mine is black with black and grey leather interior in amazing shape. It's spotless, scratch less, and I have babied it. Up to date on all checks, oil changes, tires, brakes, and spark plugs."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 187 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals