Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1599 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Very comfy seats.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value, and fun to drive."

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003, had 62,000 miles on it. Now 138,600. Still runs fine, looks great also. No rust to speak of. Minor things to be fixed. Always starts on the coldest of days. Handles awesome in snow, no problems. Very Very reliable. I would definitely buy another one."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable and dependable. Roomy and comfortab.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like the way this jeep was design to meet the the costumers expectations."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Liked ability to carry larger items in the back.

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hauling capacity and interior room"

Cons: "milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Added towing package which increased my ability to haul a trailer for various projects. Bought the 2000 Jeep in 2003 for my daughter to go to college. She gave it to me when she graduated in 2007 for a new Toyota. I think I got the best deal."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great First Car!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,910

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, powerful, roomy"

Cons: "Nothing to talk about!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Jeep!

"I bought my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee as my first car back in May. I've had it a little over 4 months now and love my Jeep! My Jeep is the basic model, which means it has no options, but the cloth seats are so comfortable and supportive and the 4.0L I6 has enough power for me while still getting good fuel economy. There's virtually no road noise except for the tires, unlike newer Jeeps (my family has owned every generation of Jeep Grand Cherokee aside from the newest one). I could go anywhere in this Jeep and still be comfortable and ready to drive more when I get out of it. I did put a new radio in it, but have the stock sound system. The front speakers sound okay, but the rear speakers don't sound as great as the front ones. All in all, an awesome vehicle and I love it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My Jeep!

have to hit 300000 miles but i need fuel pump.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,680

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fun in snow. easy to work on"

Cons: "electric problems. brakes go fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will buy again. but not new. want that 4.0 motor it never dies"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Car on average

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price; easy maintenance;"

Cons: "small troubles are annoying all way along;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I owned this car for seven years and it was okay overall in this category of vehicles. Replaced: power windows both driver and passenger sides, rear window motor, fuel pump in gas tank, climate panel, both side cv-boots, e-brake, transmission solenoid (three times), water pump. It ended up with blown head gasket at around 165k miles. Even thought many parts were replaced but it did not leave me on the road. The powertrain is overall okay -- not considering fuel efficiency. It would be a good choice for younger families who need an SUV and dislike vans when budget is tight."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best running vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i love driving a jeep."

Cons: "the only con is the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my jeep brand new in 2002. I only had one problem with the transmission back in 2009, I had the problem fixed and have had no problems. Never ever had a problem starting even in the coldest of winters. great in the snow. reliable , dependable and really fun to drive. I definitely got my moneys worth with this jeep."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle, garage kept, paint finish excl.

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent transportation"

Cons: "driver seat needs mechnical repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Except for the drivers seat issue, the vehicle is very good."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Cadillac of 4 wheel Jeeps

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 Wheel drive and comfort"

Cons: "MPG is between 15 and 20."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best overall 4 wheel luxury vehicle. It is fully loaded with comfort. I use it in Western New York where the running joke is: we have 9 months of winter. This Jeep handles the snow with no problem, giving complete comfort and safety."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Has been a solid dependable SUV for 12 years

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "solid dependable"

Cons: "rides high making it not as nimble in handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This Jeep is very solid. over the years it continued to remain tight and did not loosen. It performed very well in our tough winters even after years of operations. The maintenance has been standard."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I finally have a Jeep I can call mine!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4.0 straight-six, 4WD system, affordable price"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '99 4.0 WJ this past November with 172k. I only paid $2000 for it! I do a lot of driving between going to school full time (I commute 4 days/week) and work 3-5 days/week and it has always run strong. It has had some small issues, but nothing that has affected the way it runs & drives. I have always wanted my own Jeep and now I have one! Mom got her first Jeep when I was in preschool, and I've been hooked ever since. I plan on keeping this one until it falls apart, and I plan on getting another Jeep when that happens!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Vehicle I've Ever Owned!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Reliability, Reliability!"

Cons: "That I can't replace it with another brand new!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2002 (V-8). It has easily been the most reliable car I have ever owned, with the only repairs ever having been made in the past 12 years that I have owned it being the front driver and passenger window regulators. They must have been made cheaply or faulty, but the replacement ones have been working fine for years now. Literally, other than regular maintenance items like brakes, tires and 1 battery, this car has not needed any other repairs. I owned a 1993 Jeep Cherokee Country before this one, and that was a great car also. I had been a little hesitant about purchasing the 2002 as I had heard Grand Cherokee reliability can be a little sketchy, but when I took it for a test drive I felt it was a great car. I had only owned it for 2 weeks and went to see my hairdresser, and he stated that he had purchased one as well, but that it had all kinds of problems with it, and he returned it and exchanged it for another one, and it was a lemon also. When I asked him what kind of problems, he stated "everything". I was a little worried that mine would be like that too, but mine has been the most awesome car! I normally wouldn't keep a car for over 12 years, but I've loved this car so much I haven't wanted to part with it. I've been thinking about getting a new car, and would like to purchase the 2014 Grand Cherokee, but the reviews I have been reading are not very good."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

NEVER AGAIN!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: worst car I have ever owned

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "looks nice"

Cons: "2 many to list.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car had 50000 miles on it when I got it . after it hit 70,000 its like pandoras box opened. from the tranny to the brakes rotors pulsing and there not even a year old to the engine shutting off the dash mixer for the ac broke thousands of $ shoved in it and the list is much to long to list everything I will never buy another Jeep as long as i live!"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Very strong vehicle

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,545

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great in winter snow"

Cons: "Expensive on fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle is strong , how ever servicing is needed to maintain proper running condition."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good value-was $2000 less than KBB

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good handling-nice leather interior-fun to drive-"

Cons: "wind noise-"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"just minor problems but easily fixed. gas mileage is 16 city and 21 highway with v-8. handles quite well and is fun to drive. will be interesting this winter with all-wheel drive but feel good because my son will be driving back and forth to college.bought this 4 months ago with 77,000 miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall unbelieveable reliability, convenience.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It had all the options we needed and wanted."

Cons: "Gas mileage was not great, but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our previous six vehicles were Honda Accords; we had bought our daughter a Honda Civic and a Honda Odyssey, so we were "Honda people" because of the quality and reliability. However, my wife wanted to try something different, so I test drove the brand new 2004 Jeep with the V-6 engine and was instantly very impressed to the point that we bought the Jeep, in part because of the engine performance, but also the look, the quality, and just overall impression. It was possibly our best vehicle buy ever. The Jeep has been everything we could have wanted in a vehicle! We have been totally pleased with this car. We have, from day one, gotten many, many compliments on the Jeep, with one friend, every few months that we saw him, for years, would comment "Did you get a new car?" It is a beautiful vehicle, it has been totally reliable, and I intend to buy another Jeep soon."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great SUV, lots of power, very safe, AWD

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, safety"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Seats are so comfortable in the Overland that my friend bought a newer model just for the seats(not as comfortable as mine)! This Jeep has loads of power and will go anywhere with AWD. I have towed my jeep wrangler through the mountains, in the snow, and down dirt roads with no issues. My wife loves the Jeep. it's the best vehicle we have ever owned!"

Very reliable, great model,

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 4th Jeep I owned, got me everywhere in super cold, snowy, rainy conditions and challenging terrains, only negative is MPG."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliable, great model,

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 4th Jeep I owned, got me everywhere in super cold, snowy, rainy conditions and challenging terrains, only negative is MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The vehicle has been a good second vehicle.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good looking truck. Typical drive for an SUV"

Cons: "Large V-8, not great on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"With the exception of a few maintenance stops, it has been a good vehicle. Presently, there is a coolant leak. I can't tell where it's coming from. It's not from the radiator. The rear window on the driver's side is not working. The vehicle rides good, tires are in good condition and it's been under regular maintenance (oil changes, etc.) I purchased it used in November of 2008 in Michigan and it had 99,512 miles then. Presently it has 122,000+ miles. It has been driven to Michigan and back twice."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great. Value / met all our needs for over 10 years

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Low EPA mileage but the power when towing good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Easy to tow four wheels down/ good power when towing large boat. Goes well through snow and mud. Fun to drive. Good visibility, white analog gauges attractive, easy to read in all conditions. Grab bars make it easy for all to enter car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle for on and off roading fun"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable durables

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power yes fun to drive"

Cons: "The infinity gold sound system, was never good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2000, 14 years later I've replaced the brakes, oh and the tires, lol I change the oil every 3500 and the other fluids as recommended. At this point, the best vehicle I've very owned. I'm 45 years old, I've owned a few."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This Car is Amazing!

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Love it so much!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME SUV

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IF YOU AN FIND A GOOD CLEAN 2002 GRAND CHEROKEE LIMITED WITH THE 4.7 HO BUY IT.............."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals