Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1585 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 159 | Next

Still love it after 10 years

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I drive my kids and their friends around a lot, and this car has been very reliable. At least until the fan went out and 2 different mechanics could not fix it right. Trying to avoid the cost at the dealership. I am now on a 4th fan and I can smell it burning up. Love the heater being on when it's 80 degrees outside! Other than that, I really do love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle I ever owned - bought unknowingly

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives like car - with the view of a pick-up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used with 60,000 miles. I now have 276,000 and still starts and runs like the day I bought it. I have replaced the shocks - no brakes. The adjustable steering wheel is broke and in a fixed, comfortable position - too expensive to replace. I use mobile one synthetic oil and change it every 6,000. I anticipate driving it at least 500,000 - die first (I am 72 yrs old)."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excellent care very reliable

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great size spacious great on gas"

Cons: "Na"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car will last forever never breaks down very very reliable great first time care or last time car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

been super reliable 4.0 never die

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"got with 5k in 04 just normal maint.10years never let us down hwy. hwy millage is good city not so much 21-15 had out west got 20mpg at 90 but don't tell any one at 130k the 4.0 still feels new fixed common front brake proplem with slotted-drilled rotors and premium pads been 50k still going if you get standard ac heat no dash proplems"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great when not in the shop

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,227

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, nice to drive, quality leather"

Cons: "JEEP= Just Empty Every Pocket"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this jeep has had nearly every large and small issue [possible and I have purchased it twice due to mechanical, drivetrain,(new transmission and cam shaft at 35,000 miles) air conditioning, electrical , broken seat belt latches,lifters replaced, three radiators, etc. etc. Paid it off after a few years and a divorce so I kept repairing it over and over. Now the gas is leaking all over the engine and it will be another grand.I drivehas 100,227 miles since purchased in 2001 new. Love the vehicle when its ok. Drives nice, interior super comfy,etc, BUT I AM DONE !!!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great engine very reliable."

Cons: "lacking storage could use a lot more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car in July 2012 for $3000 with 144000 miles my previous car had blown up and wanted something reliable that I could finish college with. Now in 2014 this vehicle currently has over 175000 miles on it and has been very reliable and made a trip from northern Ohio to West Virginia with no trouble at all. The 175000 miles were not easy either it was previously purchased from an auto auction by the previous owner, and also the previous owner used it to tow double axle tool trailers for a construction company. Knowing the vehicles previous history it has held up surprisingly well. This car has the 4.0 inline 6 cylinder engine and I would not hesitate to buy another one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned...hate to trade it in...

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bought it at a great price and fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable vehicle..."

Overall favorite vehicle!

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "goes anywhere, holds value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my Jeep! It will go almost anywhere and never lets me down. One down side is the transfer case in mine isn't built for a lot of abuse. Will be rebuilding soon which will cost me a pretty penny, but besides that i will stay true to jeep!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best jeep i ever owed

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the most comfortable jeep I have ever owned. body style is excellent. full time four wheel drive is great. ride is that of a jeep. comes in handy for all the potholes. this is one tough good looking vehicle. the only draw back is gas mileage is not great. performance make up for that. overall the best jeep I have ever had."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV, lots of repairs down the road

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, built, affordable, easy to fix, resale"

Cons: "Parts and labor can be expensive, 150,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great jeep, who doesnt love a jeep. My jeep was very reliable, but once I hit 150,000 miles it started to fall apart. replaced the starter, alternator, master cylender, break booster, all the breaks, battery, radiator, and had quite a few electrical problems....expecially with the rear break lights, must have been a short somewhere? I LOVE jeeps, and will forever drive a jeep. These vehicles are built to last, and can take a beating."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 159 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details