Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1615 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

Great Mid Sized Suv

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Ride Very Reliable"

Cons: "Gas Milage is not so great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great Vehicle very reliable only problems you might find to be annoying but you grow used to it door handle on inside of car is in funny spot. Cons to this Vehicle is Gas Milage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Walked away from a Semi crash!!!!

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's a JEEP, so it could go anywhere!"

Cons: "It's a JEEP, so parts where expensive when needed!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Wind blew first Semi into my lane so I taped the brakes. Three inches of snow on ground, so I fish tailed off of guard rail doing a 360 and hitting all sides. When I came to a stop, I was still in traffic, so I turned on my hazards and called 911. Vehicles just missed me, second Semi didn't! When he stopped down the road, he had a flat tire, he hit so hard. When my JEEP came to a stop, even totaled, I opened the door and got out unhurt!!!"

can,t kill this car

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "runs great"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have 148k miles on this car. you can,t kill it. the negatives are it is bad on gas and handles poorly. the positives are it runs on and on."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable vehicle!

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable seating, smooth ride and good on gas!"

Cons: "I have nothing....."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Looks great, gives a nice ride and very dependable. After the previous gas hog that I use to drive this Jeep is great on gas. I have no complaints what so ever! And the dealership was great as well."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

awesome

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious but not too big"

Cons: "Gas guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used to like small cars,but then I got the jeep and fell in love with it. I bought it used from a car lot,was kind of nervous at first driving something its size but now that I'm used to it,I don't think I will drive anything else for a long while. Well maybe a newer one!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my jeep, I can zip in and out of spaces

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For my jeep being almost 10 1/2. years old and 187,000 miles, it is in good condition. I am planning on buying another jeep within the next 2 months...only problem we had for an expense was the starting pack. Nothing major so far...."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very nice vehicle!

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I want this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price and fun to drive :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great service from dealer"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Super Dependable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Powerful, Great in snow"

Cons: "Poor Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great rig. Super reliable...has never let me down. I bought it with 40k miles 7 years ago. AWD still working well with 157k miles. Air conditioner components have needed replacing over the years. Nothing more than routine maintenance for upkeep. Front end needs aligning more than most vehicles due to tourque from AWD. The only downside is bad mileage. In town 12-14 HWY mileage between 20-21."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Treated me well!

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, ride height"

Cons: "MPG, thin leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle since 28k, it was warrantied till 100k. In that time , the blend doors on the HVAC system ( of course) went bad once , and the power steering pump ( which also runs the engine cooling fan)were fixed under warranty. Since the warranty expired, radiator at 115k, pinion seal on front differential at 120k, shocks at 155k and valve seals at 160k. That is not all the maintenance...just what broke...and needed replacement. Regular maintenance is required of any vehicle, so brakes ( 2 sets) tires( 2 sets), fluid flushes or swaps ( lots) don't really count toward failures. This has been an excellent vehicle, towed my 5500 lb boat cross country, plus multiple trips to the lake( 2 hrs away). Too many road trips to count, through the trails of AZ , NM, CA and CO. Even with almost 170k it dosent use any oil ( synthetic since 30k with 5k intervals)and rides like it did on day one. Probably keep it till 200k!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good reliable hauler. Want a new one just like it.

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good basic solid comfortable vehicle."

Cons: "Some mechanical and warranty issues over the years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. Love the I-6 engine, never had a problem with it. Some other mechanical issues over the years, but post-purchase Jeep improvements made it only better. It is a good, basic vehicle that has taken me where ever I have wanted to go. Not a lot of extra gadgets or "trimmings". I like the openable rear light on the tailgate and no one offers one anymore. Frankly, I would like a new one just like the one I have rolled over 200K miles on."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Well built, comfortable, nice to drive."

Cons: "Need a little more room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new, really wanted another Jeep but had to have the third row seating. I believe Jeep makes one of the best cars on the road for the money."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car.I love it.wouldnt get rid of it

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas millage ain't good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome"

I love my Jeep- Best SUV Out There

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Competent on road and off, snow or rain"

Cons: "The gas millage is not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

14 year old Jeep Grand Cherokee

"Honestly I have nothing bad to say about my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo it has 134,000 miles on it and it still runs great! The premium Infinity Gold sound system sounds AMAZING!!! The monstrous V8 with 235 HP puts out a good amount of torque and power, has great acceleration and handling as well as the quadra-drive 4 wheel system is very effective. I bought it brand new 14 years ago , its been very cheap to maintain and has never needed a major repair, leather is nice quality with heated seats, towing is a dream I think I will always own a Jeep. It a Jeep thing, you wouldnt understand."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

14 year old Jeep Grand Cherokee

Great Vehicle !!

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Gas mileage, Looks"

Cons: "Handeling in curves, Climate control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 04 Grand Cherokee Limited used (one previous owner) and fell in love with it immediately. I waited for a good used GC that had the bulletproof 4.0 straight 6 and didn't really matter if it had 4 wheel drive or not. (mine does not). The overall quality of this vehicle is exceptional. The seats are very comfortable and I am a BIG guy. The handeling is a little loose when entering into a curve at highway speeds, but glides down the interstate with ease and gets 19mpg overall. I am very happy with this SUV. Only issue is the climate control is not a good design as mentioned in previous reviews. I deal with it during the summer it gets hot here in the South and takes a while to cool off inside because of the blend door and recirculation doors being jacked up. Wouldn't hesitate to bu another. I have no doubt that this vehicle will see 300,00 miles or more."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable, durable, great in snow &mountains

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 jeeps and by far I love the way this one handles."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Powerful, comfortable, bad climate control

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful, peppy, tows well, comfortable."

Cons: "Poor climate system, slanted hatch robs space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This vehicle rides great, is very comfortable, tows great, has good power and pep. Slant in rear hatch design takes away cargo space. The climate control system is a poor design. The plastic blend door hinges break, causing it to blow cold air when calling for warm, and vice versa. Cost almost $2000 to fix at dealer, and still works poorly. Overall it's been a very good vehicle, but I'm tired of fiddling with controls to get temperature comfortable."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very comfy seats.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value, and fun to drive."

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003, had 62,000 miles on it. Now 138,600. Still runs fine, looks great also. No rust to speak of. Minor things to be fixed. Always starts on the coldest of days. Handles awesome in snow, no problems. Very Very reliable. I would definitely buy another one."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliable and dependable. Roomy and comfortab.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like the way this jeep was design to meet the the costumers expectations."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Liked ability to carry larger items in the back.

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hauling capacity and interior room"

Cons: "milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Added towing package which increased my ability to haul a trailer for various projects. Bought the 2000 Jeep in 2003 for my daughter to go to college. She gave it to me when she graduated in 2007 for a new Toyota. I think I got the best deal."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great First Car!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,910

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, powerful, roomy"

Cons: "Nothing to talk about!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Jeep!

"I bought my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee as my first car back in May. I've had it a little over 4 months now and love my Jeep! My Jeep is the basic model, which means it has no options, but the cloth seats are so comfortable and supportive and the 4.0L I6 has enough power for me while still getting good fuel economy. There's virtually no road noise except for the tires, unlike newer Jeeps (my family has owned every generation of Jeep Grand Cherokee aside from the newest one). I could go anywhere in this Jeep and still be comfortable and ready to drive more when I get out of it. I did put a new radio in it, but have the stock sound system. The front speakers sound okay, but the rear speakers don't sound as great as the front ones. All in all, an awesome vehicle and I love it!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Jeep!

have to hit 300000 miles but i need fuel pump.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,680

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fun in snow. easy to work on"

Cons: "electric problems. brakes go fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will buy again. but not new. want that 4.0 motor it never dies"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Car on average

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price; easy maintenance;"

Cons: "small troubles are annoying all way along;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I owned this car for seven years and it was okay overall in this category of vehicles. Replaced: power windows both driver and passenger sides, rear window motor, fuel pump in gas tank, climate panel, both side cv-boots, e-brake, transmission solenoid (three times), water pump. It ended up with blown head gasket at around 165k miles. Even thought many parts were replaced but it did not leave me on the road. The powertrain is overall okay -- not considering fuel efficiency. It would be a good choice for younger families who need an SUV and dislike vans when budget is tight."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best running vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i love driving a jeep."

Cons: "the only con is the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my jeep brand new in 2002. I only had one problem with the transmission back in 2009, I had the problem fixed and have had no problems. Never ever had a problem starting even in the coldest of winters. great in the snow. reliable , dependable and really fun to drive. I definitely got my moneys worth with this jeep."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle, garage kept, paint finish excl.

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent transportation"

Cons: "driver seat needs mechnical repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Except for the drivers seat issue, the vehicle is very good."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Cadillac of 4 wheel Jeeps

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 Wheel drive and comfort"

Cons: "MPG is between 15 and 20."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best overall 4 wheel luxury vehicle. It is fully loaded with comfort. I use it in Western New York where the running joke is: we have 9 months of winter. This Jeep handles the snow with no problem, giving complete comfort and safety."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals