Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1636 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

I will not buy another Jeep

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Purchased our jeep new in 1999. Sales manager had driven it so the jeep had 8300 miles on it. Jeep very comfortable and easily handled deep snow. Rear differential went out shortly after warranty expired. Dealer quoted $1,300 to repair. Dealer owner negotiated with Chrysler, so I ended up paying $200 instead. Two years later, the rear end went out again. This time the expense came out of my pocket. Other issues include electrical (interior lights automatically coming on and going off), ball joints and struts, numerous oil and power steering leaks, and the ever noticeable "ticking sound" which proved to be the lifters. A local, reputable shop quoted $800 to replace, Lifters are not that much; it's the difficulty with getting to the old lifters. I've had cheaper vehicles that have been much more reliable."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

the little engine that could

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 306,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "windows go very easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this jeep for a couple years now. I could not have asked for a better suv. I can drive knowing that me and my child are in good hands, even with such high mileage."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A big surprise over time

By on Tuesday, March 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 309,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable for the zombie apocalypse!"

Cons: "They don't build Jeeps like this any more :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle since new in 1999. I didn't set out to buy a Jeep, but this car popped up at the right time, at the right price. Through the years, I have done almost everything with, and to this Jeep. With regular maintenance, and timely replacement of mechanical consumables (brakes, belts, hoses, shocks & such) this Jeep ran like a top for 289,000 miles. At that mileage, the skirt broke off the #6 piston. Even then, it didn't leave me stranded and got me home. I bought a rebuild kit, and embarked on a DIY engine rebuild. In about three days, I had a new engine for all intents and purposes. After all those miles, there was no sign of wear in the cylinder walls or bearings. Now at 309,000 miles, I replaced the cam position sensor. I never replaced plugs until 250,000 miles. I will drive this Jeep until it will drive no more."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Make we have purchased several times.

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have been driving Jeep Grand Cherokees since 1998 and have had been very satisfied with every one. All have been either Limited or Overland. The ease of driving, turning and getting into or out of the vehicle has been of utmost importance to us."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

jeep keeps on going

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great capablity in the snow n"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my jeep in 2008 with only 56,000 miles on the gauge I haven't have many issues expect the reasonable ware and tear you would expect all the parts that I bought for this jeep I would estimate cost me about 1500 dollars over the past 7 years that's new rotors, tires, brake pads, brake caliper, fan switch, thermostat,and upper & lower ball joints."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good car

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good car"

Cons: "needs a little body work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car runs good needs a little body work around front fenders"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

One owner

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Maintained"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Used Car I've Ever Bought!

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fair Price, Excellent 4x4, Solid, Looks AWESOME!!!"

Cons: "14 MPG, Cramped, Loud Interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1999 Grand Cherokee Limited around three years ago. I've only had a few mechanical issues including a recent exhaust leak, the a/c not working and the heat only working in half the truck. Overall the truck is great and my only complaint is there isn't as much room in the back as I thought there should be. I was recently looking for another vehicle and because of how much I love my Jeep I got a second one! My second one is also a 1999 Grand Cherokee Limited with very similar miles and only different exterior and interior colors. I HIGHLY recommend a Grand Cherokee Limited (maybe not a Laredo) to anyone looking for a fun, solid, good priced SUV."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first car and the best car! I've wanted this car since I was 11 and it was well worth the wait."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love it, best suv yet.

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable seats, easy to drive, handles"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Love my Jeep!

"very comfortable ride that is easy to maneuver"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep!

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals