Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1609 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

very nice vehicle!

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I want this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price and fun to drive :)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great service from dealer"

Super Dependable Vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Powerful, Great in snow"

Cons: "Poor Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great rig. Super reliable...has never let me down. I bought it with 40k miles 7 years ago. AWD still working well with 157k miles. Air conditioner components have needed replacing over the years. Nothing more than routine maintenance for upkeep. Front end needs aligning more than most vehicles due to tourque from AWD. The only downside is bad mileage. In town 12-14 HWY mileage between 20-21."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Treated me well!

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, ride height"

Cons: "MPG, thin leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle since 28k, it was warrantied till 100k. In that time , the blend doors on the HVAC system ( of course) went bad once , and the power steering pump ( which also runs the engine cooling fan)were fixed under warranty. Since the warranty expired, radiator at 115k, pinion seal on front differential at 120k, shocks at 155k and valve seals at 160k. That is not all the maintenance...just what broke...and needed replacement. Regular maintenance is required of any vehicle, so brakes ( 2 sets) tires( 2 sets), fluid flushes or swaps ( lots) don't really count toward failures. This has been an excellent vehicle, towed my 5500 lb boat cross country, plus multiple trips to the lake( 2 hrs away). Too many road trips to count, through the trails of AZ , NM, CA and CO. Even with almost 170k it dosent use any oil ( synthetic since 30k with 5k intervals)and rides like it did on day one. Probably keep it till 200k!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good reliable hauler. Want a new one just like it.

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good basic solid comfortable vehicle."

Cons: "Some mechanical and warranty issues over the years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. Love the I-6 engine, never had a problem with it. Some other mechanical issues over the years, but post-purchase Jeep improvements made it only better. It is a good, basic vehicle that has taken me where ever I have wanted to go. Not a lot of extra gadgets or "trimmings". I like the openable rear light on the tailgate and no one offers one anymore. Frankly, I would like a new one just like the one I have rolled over 200K miles on."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Well built, comfortable, nice to drive."

Cons: "Need a little more room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new, really wanted another Jeep but had to have the third row seating. I believe Jeep makes one of the best cars on the road for the money."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car.I love it.wouldnt get rid of it

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "gas millage ain't good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome"

I love my Jeep- Best SUV Out There

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Competent on road and off, snow or rain"

Cons: "The gas millage is not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

14 year old Jeep Grand Cherokee

"Honestly I have nothing bad to say about my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo it has 134,000 miles on it and it still runs great! The premium Infinity Gold sound system sounds AMAZING!!! The monstrous V8 with 235 HP puts out a good amount of torque and power, has great acceleration and handling as well as the quadra-drive 4 wheel system is very effective. I bought it brand new 14 years ago , its been very cheap to maintain and has never needed a major repair, leather is nice quality with heated seats, towing is a dream I think I will always own a Jeep. It a Jeep thing, you wouldnt understand."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

14 year old Jeep Grand Cherokee

Great Vehicle !!

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Reliable, Gas mileage, Looks"

Cons: "Handeling in curves, Climate control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 04 Grand Cherokee Limited used (one previous owner) and fell in love with it immediately. I waited for a good used GC that had the bulletproof 4.0 straight 6 and didn't really matter if it had 4 wheel drive or not. (mine does not). The overall quality of this vehicle is exceptional. The seats are very comfortable and I am a BIG guy. The handeling is a little loose when entering into a curve at highway speeds, but glides down the interstate with ease and gets 19mpg overall. I am very happy with this SUV. Only issue is the climate control is not a good design as mentioned in previous reviews. I deal with it during the summer it gets hot here in the South and takes a while to cool off inside because of the blend door and recirculation doors being jacked up. Wouldn't hesitate to bu another. I have no doubt that this vehicle will see 300,00 miles or more."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable, durable, great in snow &mountains

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 jeeps and by far I love the way this one handles."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Powerful, comfortable, bad climate control

By on Friday, September 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Powerful, peppy, tows well, comfortable."

Cons: "Poor climate system, slanted hatch robs space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This vehicle rides great, is very comfortable, tows great, has good power and pep. Slant in rear hatch design takes away cargo space. The climate control system is a poor design. The plastic blend door hinges break, causing it to blow cold air when calling for warm, and vice versa. Cost almost $2000 to fix at dealer, and still works poorly. Overall it's been a very good vehicle, but I'm tired of fiddling with controls to get temperature comfortable."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very comfy seats.

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value, and fun to drive."

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003, had 62,000 miles on it. Now 138,600. Still runs fine, looks great also. No rust to speak of. Minor things to be fixed. Always starts on the coldest of days. Handles awesome in snow, no problems. Very Very reliable. I would definitely buy another one."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very reliable and dependable. Roomy and comfortab.

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like the way this jeep was design to meet the the costumers expectations."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Liked ability to carry larger items in the back.

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hauling capacity and interior room"

Cons: "milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Added towing package which increased my ability to haul a trailer for various projects. Bought the 2000 Jeep in 2003 for my daughter to go to college. She gave it to me when she graduated in 2007 for a new Toyota. I think I got the best deal."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great First Car!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,910

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, powerful, roomy"

Cons: "Nothing to talk about!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Jeep!

"I bought my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee as my first car back in May. I've had it a little over 4 months now and love my Jeep! My Jeep is the basic model, which means it has no options, but the cloth seats are so comfortable and supportive and the 4.0L I6 has enough power for me while still getting good fuel economy. There's virtually no road noise except for the tires, unlike newer Jeeps (my family has owned every generation of Jeep Grand Cherokee aside from the newest one). I could go anywhere in this Jeep and still be comfortable and ready to drive more when I get out of it. I did put a new radio in it, but have the stock sound system. The front speakers sound okay, but the rear speakers don't sound as great as the front ones. All in all, an awesome vehicle and I love it!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Jeep!

have to hit 300000 miles but i need fuel pump.

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 294,680

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great fun in snow. easy to work on"

Cons: "electric problems. brakes go fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will buy again. but not new. want that 4.0 motor it never dies"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Car on average

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price; easy maintenance;"

Cons: "small troubles are annoying all way along;"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I owned this car for seven years and it was okay overall in this category of vehicles. Replaced: power windows both driver and passenger sides, rear window motor, fuel pump in gas tank, climate panel, both side cv-boots, e-brake, transmission solenoid (three times), water pump. It ended up with blown head gasket at around 165k miles. Even thought many parts were replaced but it did not leave me on the road. The powertrain is overall okay -- not considering fuel efficiency. It would be a good choice for younger families who need an SUV and dislike vans when budget is tight."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best running vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "i love driving a jeep."

Cons: "the only con is the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my jeep brand new in 2002. I only had one problem with the transmission back in 2009, I had the problem fixed and have had no problems. Never ever had a problem starting even in the coldest of winters. great in the snow. reliable , dependable and really fun to drive. I definitely got my moneys worth with this jeep."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle, garage kept, paint finish excl.

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent transportation"

Cons: "driver seat needs mechnical repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Except for the drivers seat issue, the vehicle is very good."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Cadillac of 4 wheel Jeeps

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4 Wheel drive and comfort"

Cons: "MPG is between 15 and 20."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best overall 4 wheel luxury vehicle. It is fully loaded with comfort. I use it in Western New York where the running joke is: we have 9 months of winter. This Jeep handles the snow with no problem, giving complete comfort and safety."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Has been a solid dependable SUV for 12 years

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "solid dependable"

Cons: "rides high making it not as nimble in handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This Jeep is very solid. over the years it continued to remain tight and did not loosen. It performed very well in our tough winters even after years of operations. The maintenance has been standard."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I finally have a Jeep I can call mine!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4.0 straight-six, 4WD system, affordable price"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my '99 4.0 WJ this past November with 172k. I only paid $2000 for it! I do a lot of driving between going to school full time (I commute 4 days/week) and work 3-5 days/week and it has always run strong. It has had some small issues, but nothing that has affected the way it runs & drives. I have always wanted my own Jeep and now I have one! Mom got her first Jeep when I was in preschool, and I've been hooked ever since. I plan on keeping this one until it falls apart, and I plan on getting another Jeep when that happens!"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Vehicle I've Ever Owned!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Reliability, Reliability!"

Cons: "That I can't replace it with another brand new!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new in 2002 (V-8). It has easily been the most reliable car I have ever owned, with the only repairs ever having been made in the past 12 years that I have owned it being the front driver and passenger window regulators. They must have been made cheaply or faulty, but the replacement ones have been working fine for years now. Literally, other than regular maintenance items like brakes, tires and 1 battery, this car has not needed any other repairs. I owned a 1993 Jeep Cherokee Country before this one, and that was a great car also. I had been a little hesitant about purchasing the 2002 as I had heard Grand Cherokee reliability can be a little sketchy, but when I took it for a test drive I felt it was a great car. I had only owned it for 2 weeks and went to see my hairdresser, and he stated that he had purchased one as well, but that it had all kinds of problems with it, and he returned it and exchanged it for another one, and it was a lemon also. When I asked him what kind of problems, he stated "everything". I was a little worried that mine would be like that too, but mine has been the most awesome car! I normally wouldn't keep a car for over 12 years, but I've loved this car so much I haven't wanted to part with it. I've been thinking about getting a new car, and would like to purchase the 2014 Grand Cherokee, but the reviews I have been reading are not very good."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

NEVER AGAIN!

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: worst car I have ever owned

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "looks nice"

Cons: "2 many to list.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car had 50000 miles on it when I got it . after it hit 70,000 its like pandoras box opened. from the tranny to the brakes rotors pulsing and there not even a year old to the engine shutting off the dash mixer for the ac broke thousands of $ shoved in it and the list is much to long to list everything I will never buy another Jeep as long as i live!"

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

Very strong vehicle

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,545

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great in winter snow"

Cons: "Expensive on fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle is strong , how ever servicing is needed to maintain proper running condition."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good value-was $2000 less than KBB

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good handling-nice leather interior-fun to drive-"

Cons: "wind noise-"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"just minor problems but easily fixed. gas mileage is 16 city and 21 highway with v-8. handles quite well and is fun to drive. will be interesting this winter with all-wheel drive but feel good because my son will be driving back and forth to college.bought this 4 months ago with 77,000 miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals