Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1599 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Over 220,000 miles-still going strong

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability, reliability, overall performance"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. Few repairs after almost 15 years. Still haul grand kids, dogs, garden supplies, and occasionally boat. Gas milage averaged about 18.3 for first 10 years, now about 16 on hilly terrain. Drives like a 2.5 ton vehicle, but with V-8 plenty of power. Interior and exterior holding up well for age (have leather seats). Best value ever had. Old workhorse, hope it lasts another 100,000."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

my 3rd jeep product. great vehicle.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "for an suv its really good off road and in snow"

Cons: "replaced 3 power window motors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ready to buy my next vehicle and will look at the new cherokee."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "7 years and no rattles or squeaks."

Cons: "Can't really think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our 2nd Grand Cherokee and will be replaced by another Jeep when its time is up. Its the wife's car and she absolutely loves it, probably won't ever have another brand of vehicle. Its a good size but not huge like some suv's. Gets 18-19 mpg around town and 22 mpg on the highway with the 4.7L V-8 and really goes when you push on the pedal. Other than normal maintenance, its only had two problems in 7 years- leaking rear axle seal and transmission servo that would not shift to O/D."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Can't beat it!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this Jeep! Bought it brand new in 2003 and just gave it to my 17 year old daughter for her birthday last year. Has 127K and still runs great. Minor repairs after it hit 100K but still worth it. Great for the snow and ice and crummy roads of NJ!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my Cherokee !!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"been very happy with this vehicle, owned for 3 years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great size, power, tower and looks

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had this truck for going on five years and it has been a reliable winner. Hauls, looks handsome still and is ten years old. This model has stood the test of time"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

looks like new

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,615

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "verry nice driving"

Cons: "it has all the cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"want sell"

Excellent SUV

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worth every penny, excellent ride"

Cons: "Not cheap on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best comfortable and reliable SUV I ever drove"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still love it after 10 years

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I drive my kids and their friends around a lot, and this car has been very reliable. At least until the fan went out and 2 different mechanics could not fix it right. Trying to avoid the cost at the dealership. I am now on a 4th fan and I can smell it burning up. Love the heater being on when it's 80 degrees outside! Other than that, I really do love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle I ever owned - bought unknowingly

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives like car - with the view of a pick-up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used with 60,000 miles. I now have 276,000 and still starts and runs like the day I bought it. I have replaced the shocks - no brakes. The adjustable steering wheel is broke and in a fixed, comfortable position - too expensive to replace. I use mobile one synthetic oil and change it every 6,000. I anticipate driving it at least 500,000 - die first (I am 72 yrs old)."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excellent care very reliable

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great size spacious great on gas"

Cons: "Na"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car will last forever never breaks down very very reliable great first time care or last time car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

been super reliable 4.0 never die

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"got with 5k in 04 just normal maint.10years never let us down hwy. hwy millage is good city not so much 21-15 had out west got 20mpg at 90 but don't tell any one at 130k the 4.0 still feels new fixed common front brake proplem with slotted-drilled rotors and premium pads been 50k still going if you get standard ac heat no dash proplems"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great when not in the shop

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,227

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, nice to drive, quality leather"

Cons: "JEEP= Just Empty Every Pocket"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"this jeep has had nearly every large and small issue [possible and I have purchased it twice due to mechanical, drivetrain,(new transmission and cam shaft at 35,000 miles) air conditioning, electrical , broken seat belt latches,lifters replaced, three radiators, etc. etc. Paid it off after a few years and a divorce so I kept repairing it over and over. Now the gas is leaking all over the engine and it will be another grand.I drivehas 100,227 miles since purchased in 2001 new. Love the vehicle when its ok. Drives nice, interior super comfy,etc, BUT I AM DONE !!!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great engine very reliable."

Cons: "lacking storage could use a lot more."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car in July 2012 for $3000 with 144000 miles my previous car had blown up and wanted something reliable that I could finish college with. Now in 2014 this vehicle currently has over 175000 miles on it and has been very reliable and made a trip from northern Ohio to West Virginia with no trouble at all. The 175000 miles were not easy either it was previously purchased from an auto auction by the previous owner, and also the previous owner used it to tow double axle tool trailers for a construction company. Knowing the vehicles previous history it has held up surprisingly well. This car has the 4.0 inline 6 cylinder engine and I would not hesitate to buy another one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned...hate to trade it in...

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Bought it at a great price and fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable vehicle..."

Overall favorite vehicle!

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "goes anywhere, holds value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my Jeep! It will go almost anywhere and never lets me down. One down side is the transfer case in mine isn't built for a lot of abuse. Will be rebuilding soon which will cost me a pretty penny, but besides that i will stay true to jeep!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best jeep i ever owed

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is the most comfortable jeep I have ever owned. body style is excellent. full time four wheel drive is great. ride is that of a jeep. comes in handy for all the potholes. this is one tough good looking vehicle. the only draw back is gas mileage is not great. performance make up for that. overall the best jeep I have ever had."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great SUV, lots of repairs down the road

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, built, affordable, easy to fix, resale"

Cons: "Parts and labor can be expensive, 150,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great jeep, who doesnt love a jeep. My jeep was very reliable, but once I hit 150,000 miles it started to fall apart. replaced the starter, alternator, master cylender, break booster, all the breaks, battery, radiator, and had quite a few electrical problems....expecially with the rear break lights, must have been a short somewhere? I LOVE jeeps, and will forever drive a jeep. These vehicles are built to last, and can take a beating."

Truly Loved my Jeep!

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 14 years old, beginning to need a mechanic

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, Comfort, option package"

Cons: "Age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this baby new with optional package upgrades. Served me well with few repairs for 14 years. Felt like I sold my comfortable "home away from home"."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

too many problems

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this jeep used with 30000 miles. O2 sensors went out, gas cap, fuel pump, front seat broke, radio went out, radiator, front seal, ac core, left side power window and leaks water into the cab when the ac is used."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

never ending problems and expenses.

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, beautiful car, luxury"

Cons: "expensive upkeep, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought my 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited edition quadra-drive in 2009. It had 53,000 miles on it and it now has 137k. I bought a warranty with the car and I put it to good use. As soon as the warranty ran out at 100k it was all down hill from there. I LOVED this Jeep before 100k and still did until at 130k the engine went. Not being able to afford a new vehicle I replaced the engine with a used one. It took my mechanic about a month to get all the kinks out and I was broken down on the side of the road countless times. It got to a point I didn't trust it at all to drive. The kinks finally were worked out and for 3 months it drove ok. NOW it feels like the transmission is slipping and it might have a front end problem. This vehicle has caused so much stress on my family. If you have an older jeep without a warranty you have to know about Jeeps and like working on them yourself or it's not worth it. My Classic Cherokee was SO much better in the snow. The quadra-drive is awful. It is basically an AWD so you can prepare to spend a fortune on replacing tires or ruining your drive train if you dont. Its a big gas hog and it's not very fast for a V6. I've replaced so much on the jeep its about 50% new parts! So frustrating. Jeeps are so fun to drive and when its in good condition it feels like the best car you could ever have. So comfortable, luxurious, great sound system. Exterior looks ok with minor rusting. The fake chrome wheels looked awesome until the chrome paint starts flaking off. It's a nice car but you need to be financially prepared for the upkeeps."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

IS THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE OWN.

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GOOD, GOOD, GOOD."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"MY LAST 3 VEHICLES HAVE BEEN JEEP. I REALLY LIKE IT."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Literally wouldn't drive another vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid axles, luxurious interior, very affordable"

Cons: "4.7 does not tolerate neglect, limited aftermarket"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2004 WJ Grand Cherokee. I've had it for 3 years now, bought it for $9300 from a good friend in 2011, which was just over the KBB at the time, but was in PERFECT condition, plus had a $2000 audio system in it. These Jeeps in my opinion are the most well-rounded vehicles Jeep has ever produced. The ride is comfortable, the interior is roomy and luxurious, and the power of the Powertech 4.7 V8 is very impressive (my favorite part!) I'm a car guy and very into off roading, these jeeps are so much more capable off road than the Jeep community give them credit for. With Solid axles in front and back this specific model grand Cherokee (WJ,99-04) will go farther than any other grand Cherokee ever made, including the brand new 2014 grocery-getters. The Quadradrive 4wd system offered on limited and overland models was revolutionary of its time, and not much will stop these things. Were stock Grand Cherokees shine is in the snow with the Quadradrive system, they are UNSTOPPABLE. I have made many modifications to my WJ, including audio, engine performance, suspension lift/tires and recently a rear axle swap. I have no intention of selling this vehicle EVER because i'm so in love with it. My jeep's KBB value is much, much lower than what it is actually worth since I have made significant modifications to suite my needs. Do some research, these Jeeps are popular on many forums online and many people like myself are active on them and will be enthusiastic to answer ANY questions you may have. Thanks for reading my review! cheerz"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My 1st Vehicle "Lauretta" and she is GREAT!

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,699

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style, comfort, interior, off-road, its a Jeep"

Cons: "Gas is eh, but what do you expect?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

After some muddy back roads

"I am the 2nd owner. I Got her in March of 2012 with 163,000 miles exactly. Running a 4.0 L. Inline 6 the miles don't mean a thing since she's running off the best motor jeep ever built! The interior was and still is spotless and the outside only had a small dent on the back hatch about the size of a silver dollar. Sure friends have cars that seem more "sporty" or "cool" but I'm the one laughing at them when they get STUCK in the snow and ice of Northern Indiana winters. And don't forget about being able to seat 5 comfortably! I have put new BF Goodrich All Terrain T/A tires on and it gives this "soccer mom jeep" a much more aggressive JEEP look and they are the best tires you can get with this truck with out getting a lift kit. I must admit I have had to replace pretty much EVERYTHING underneath except for the actual wheels due to the age of this vehicle, but its now the only Jeep i know that rides like a Cadillac! I have stretched out her legs a bit over the years I've had her, including 2 trips to Chicago, and one trip to Sandusky Ohio, some mudding, brutal winter of 2014. This jeep has made it through the same mud holes a 4 inch lifted wrangler no problem! Sure the water was over part of the hood but no worries! Some people say Wranglers are the only true Jeeps which are the TRUE Jeeps, but don't count this WJ out! This WJ is overall a great vehicle! She will get you there while also keeping your butt nice n' toasty!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

After some muddy back roads

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals