Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1586 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Very strong vehicle

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,545

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great in winter snow"

Cons: "Expensive on fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle is strong , how ever servicing is needed to maintain proper running condition."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good value-was $2000 less than KBB

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good handling-nice leather interior-fun to drive-"

Cons: "wind noise-"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"just minor problems but easily fixed. gas mileage is 16 city and 21 highway with v-8. handles quite well and is fun to drive. will be interesting this winter with all-wheel drive but feel good because my son will be driving back and forth to college.bought this 4 months ago with 77,000 miles."

Overall unbelieveable reliability, convenience.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It had all the options we needed and wanted."

Cons: "Gas mileage was not great, but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our previous six vehicles were Honda Accords; we had bought our daughter a Honda Civic and a Honda Odyssey, so we were "Honda people" because of the quality and reliability. However, my wife wanted to try something different, so I test drove the brand new 2004 Jeep with the V-6 engine and was instantly very impressed to the point that we bought the Jeep, in part because of the engine performance, but also the look, the quality, and just overall impression. It was possibly our best vehicle buy ever. The Jeep has been everything we could have wanted in a vehicle! We have been totally pleased with this car. We have, from day one, gotten many, many compliments on the Jeep, with one friend, every few months that we saw him, for years, would comment "Did you get a new car?" It is a beautiful vehicle, it has been totally reliable, and I intend to buy another Jeep soon."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV, lots of power, very safe, AWD

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, safety"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Seats are so comfortable in the Overland that my friend bought a newer model just for the seats(not as comfortable as mine)! This Jeep has loads of power and will go anywhere with AWD. I have towed my jeep wrangler through the mountains, in the snow, and down dirt roads with no issues. My wife loves the Jeep. it's the best vehicle we have ever owned!"

Very reliable, great model,

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 4th Jeep I owned, got me everywhere in super cold, snowy, rainy conditions and challenging terrains, only negative is MPG."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, great model,

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 4th Jeep I owned, got me everywhere in super cold, snowy, rainy conditions and challenging terrains, only negative is MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The vehicle has been a good second vehicle.

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good looking truck. Typical drive for an SUV"

Cons: "Large V-8, not great on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"With the exception of a few maintenance stops, it has been a good vehicle. Presently, there is a coolant leak. I can't tell where it's coming from. It's not from the radiator. The rear window on the driver's side is not working. The vehicle rides good, tires are in good condition and it's been under regular maintenance (oil changes, etc.) I purchased it used in November of 2008 in Michigan and it had 99,512 miles then. Presently it has 122,000+ miles. It has been driven to Michigan and back twice."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great. Value / met all our needs for over 10 years

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Low EPA mileage but the power when towing good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Easy to tow four wheels down/ good power when towing large boat. Goes well through snow and mud. Fun to drive. Good visibility, white analog gauges attractive, easy to read in all conditions. Grab bars make it easy for all to enter car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great vehicle for on and off roading fun"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable durables

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power yes fun to drive"

Cons: "The infinity gold sound system, was never good."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2000, 14 years later I've replaced the brakes, oh and the tires, lol I change the oil every 3500 and the other fluids as recommended. At this point, the best vehicle I've very owned. I'm 45 years old, I've owned a few."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This Car is Amazing!

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Love it so much!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AWESOME SUV

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IF YOU AN FIND A GOOD CLEAN 2002 GRAND CHEROKEE LIMITED WITH THE 4.7 HO BUY IT.............."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Over 220,000 miles-still going strong

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Durability, reliability, overall performance"

Cons: "Gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. Few repairs after almost 15 years. Still haul grand kids, dogs, garden supplies, and occasionally boat. Gas milage averaged about 18.3 for first 10 years, now about 16 on hilly terrain. Drives like a 2.5 ton vehicle, but with V-8 plenty of power. Interior and exterior holding up well for age (have leather seats). Best value ever had. Old workhorse, hope it lasts another 100,000."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

my 3rd jeep product. great vehicle.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "for an suv its really good off road and in snow"

Cons: "replaced 3 power window motors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ready to buy my next vehicle and will look at the new cherokee."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "7 years and no rattles or squeaks."

Cons: "Can't really think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our 2nd Grand Cherokee and will be replaced by another Jeep when its time is up. Its the wife's car and she absolutely loves it, probably won't ever have another brand of vehicle. Its a good size but not huge like some suv's. Gets 18-19 mpg around town and 22 mpg on the highway with the 4.7L V-8 and really goes when you push on the pedal. Other than normal maintenance, its only had two problems in 7 years- leaking rear axle seal and transmission servo that would not shift to O/D."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Can't beat it!

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this Jeep! Bought it brand new in 2003 and just gave it to my 17 year old daughter for her birthday last year. Has 127K and still runs great. Minor repairs after it hit 100K but still worth it. Great for the snow and ice and crummy roads of NJ!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my Cherokee !!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"been very happy with this vehicle, owned for 3 years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great size, power, tower and looks

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had this truck for going on five years and it has been a reliable winner. Hauls, looks handsome still and is ten years old. This model has stood the test of time"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

looks like new

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,615

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "verry nice driving"

Cons: "it has all the cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"want sell"

Excellent SUV

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Worth every penny, excellent ride"

Cons: "Not cheap on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best comfortable and reliable SUV I ever drove"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still love it after 10 years

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I drive my kids and their friends around a lot, and this car has been very reliable. At least until the fan went out and 2 different mechanics could not fix it right. Trying to avoid the cost at the dealership. I am now on a 4th fan and I can smell it burning up. Love the heater being on when it's 80 degrees outside! Other than that, I really do love this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle I ever owned - bought unknowingly

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 276,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives like car - with the view of a pick-up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used with 60,000 miles. I now have 276,000 and still starts and runs like the day I bought it. I have replaced the shocks - no brakes. The adjustable steering wheel is broke and in a fixed, comfortable position - too expensive to replace. I use mobile one synthetic oil and change it every 6,000. I anticipate driving it at least 500,000 - die first (I am 72 yrs old)."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Excellent care very reliable

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great size spacious great on gas"

Cons: "Na"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car will last forever never breaks down very very reliable great first time care or last time car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

been super reliable 4.0 never die

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"got with 5k in 04 just normal maint.10years never let us down hwy. hwy millage is good city not so much 21-15 had out west got 20mpg at 90 but don't tell any one at 130k the 4.0 still feels new fixed common front brake proplem with slotted-drilled rotors and premium pads been 50k still going if you get standard ac heat no dash proplems"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details