Go

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 902 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next

Saved my Family

By on Wednesday, June 30, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car in Dec 09 used w/ 170000. I had some minor problems wrong w/ it but ran great and got me around town. I totaled it 3 wks ago. I had a bad accident and flipped it 6xs I wasn't buckled but my two little ones were. This vehicle saved my babies lives and held up.My kids didn't have one scratch on them and neither did I. It was a miracle. It is has a solid body and worth it. I would buy another one but too many scary memories from the wreck when i see these cars. I hope this review helps someone buy this reliable car and have peace of mind that ur family is safe."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Wednesday, November 4, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is about to break 200000 miles and will still start without hesitation in the -30 degree mornings in January. The transmission also seems to have no problems after all those miles. Although i prefer wranglers as an off road car the Grand Cherokee is more than capable off road but is much more realistic as a daily driver. For example if you accidentally drive it into a ditch (which i have more than once) all you have to do to get out is put it in reverse and push the gas. Here is the repair list on the car for the last twelve years. (part cost only i do my own mechanical work. Maintenance not included) New CV joint..........$90 Front drive shaft....$200 Ignition Coil..........$20 Fuel pump............$50 Viscous Coupler.....$300 (Optional repair reduces tire wear) In my view this is pretty modest for a car this old and heavily driven."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

360,000 miles and still running great!

By on Thursday, December 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 and towing. Tows boats and small trailors!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this for 7 yrs. I am the second owner. We have never had to change the transmission or engine. I have a brand new GMC yukon and I still love driving my Jeep. It's so comfortable and to be outdated it has many features that were ahead of its time. Regular maintenance and oil changes are a necessity! It does help that we have an awesomea and inexpensive mechanic."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1997 jeep grand cherokee laredo 4.0L

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own 2! The best car and best value I have ever owned. For the price you can not beat this car. 4.0L 6 cyl Engine has good power and very reliable. Parts are cheap and car is easy to work on. Tune up only took 30 mins, Disk brakes easy and cheap, oil change easy. Very comfortable and roomy. decent gas milage on the highway(21-26 mpg), however does suck up gas city driving. Only thing you have to watch is the door hinge's, make sure you give them a squirt of oil(wd-40) to prevent the hinge from sticking and crushing the bushings which makes the door sag and is a pain to replace. This is easily the best value out there for what you are getting. 4 wheel drive is great, interior styling is very nice. For $3k you get a reliable SUV that will last for years, is fun to drive and is very nice inside and out!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

all the comfort and style

By on Tuesday, November 17, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great family vehicle for every day use and rode trips it has lots of room, also great for camping. It is well laid out and comfortable to drive or be a passenger. It has met all my expectations in performance and style. Bottom line is I love the Jeep Grand Cherokee and cant wait till I by another Brand new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looking for another

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought mine "used" with 35xxx miles 10 years ago. It now has 175xxx miles. It has been a very good vehicle. I never hesatate to take a rough road or run a trail that other SUV's would balk at. I dont off road as this is a daily driver, but I wouldent hesatate. In the winter the Jeep shines. When other AWD cars, trucks, and SUV's are spinning their tires in the parking lot or at stop signs, I pull away with no problems. I have had a few mechanical issues but nothing way out of the norm. A starter, fuel pump, water pump and radiator. But at this age it is expected to have some issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, March 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i bought my 96 jeep grand cherokee in feb of 2008. it had 233,000 miles on when i bought it, it now has 261,000 on it. it has the 318 in it. the only thing i have done to it was put new brakes tires and a alt. on it. it still runs very strong and drives great. it avg. around 18 to 20 on hwy and about 12 in the city. this has been a great vehicle and i would deff. by anthor."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 7, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My dad bought the jeep new. He drove it a hour and a half in rush hour traffic to work every day. when I turned 16 he gave it to me and i have driven it since. The straight 6 engine is bullet proof. The exhaust manifold however has a bad habit of cracking. Being 16 i didn't treat mine the best and it held up to every thing i could throw at it. My dad towed our 18 foot runabout with it and i tow every thing from snowmobiles to tent trailers with it and i holds up great. If you have good tires it will go any where in the snow. It not the best on gas mileage, I get about 15mpg myself. I would recommend it to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always dependable in any weather situation

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 96' Grand Cherokee Laredo for a little over three years now and have not regreted it yet. Yes, the gas mileage is not super (roughly 17-18mpg). I have only ever broke down one time, which was during the bad winter last year when temperatures were in the low single digits and the transmission line cracked which eventually left me unable to drive. It was towed in and a cheap fix, but this kind of maintainance is expected when temperatures are this cold in an older vehicle. Other than that, it has been great to get around in the snow, never been stuck and I've actually tried to get it stuck already. Also great for towing as a friend and I often hookup a trailer, two 4 wheelers, and hit the state trails for a day of riding."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, December 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great SUV. I've had three all to 200,000 miles and very little has broken down. My 96 Limited with a V8 has more power than most other trucks I've driven."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 91 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement