Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 875 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 88 | Next

It has always gotten me there and back.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Will handle about anything"

Cons: "I had to replace the fuel pump at around 200k mi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It's been through about everything from snow to rivers and from fields to highways."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bought at an auction and got taken.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this Jeep at local auction.Had transmission trouble right away. Spent $1500.00 to fix and worked for a few weeks.In shop again and want another $1250.00 to fix.This Jeep is supposed to be 4 WD but all the equipment removed from the front wheels and now is a 2 wheel rear drive jeep.Motor runs good,body in good shape,leather interior,roof rack.Could be fixed or used for a parts car."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Awesome in snow!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs and drives great- even tho has lotsa miles."

Cons: "Rust prone due to body design, not fuel efficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE this Jeep. It's old and rusty and she never hesitates to start- even on the coldest days. Awesome in the snow- better than some 4x4s with lift kits (could be my driving, too LOL!) Prone to rust along windshield, wheel wells, and on body inside doors. Reliable and tough. I want another one!!"

very good vehicle.drives well.needs new interior s

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,610

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive very comfortable."

Cons: "two cup holders up front.seats fold down in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"runs good couple little things needed.reverse light,sway bar is bent,headboard and speakers need replaced,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love this Jeep

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this Jeep for 5 years. I bought it for Mn winters but now drive it year around. It's reliable comfortable sharp looking rugged...and it wears a bumper sticker that says"silly boys Jeeps are for girls" love my Jeep!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best iv ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: frame rusted

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"when i sold her she had 188000 only sold her because the frame was bad had her 9 years"

4 5yrs. ALL N ALL has been good to me

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "claimes EXECELENT"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

WANT TO CLIM

"SMART WAY IS REBUILD "trans. rebuild 2100.-2400.""

WANT TO CLIM

Love My Jeep!

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love it's fully loaded and goes everywhere!"

Cons: "Typical gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my jeep used about 6 years ago, other than minor repairs, I have been pleased with everything about it. As a single woman, and due to my current financial situation, I would like to have a vehicle with better fuel economy. I live in East Tennessee and we don't get lots of snow, but when we do, my wonderful Jeep will go anywhere! We recently had a pretty big snow storm for our area..6-8 inches..and I was so proud of my Jeep!! I actually passed a wrecker on the highway that had came to rescue a police car that was stranded, the wrecker was stranded also!! My Jeep amazed me because I have yet see weather that it can handle. I am looking to trade for a smaller vehicle to trade for. I wish I could afford to keep my Jeep too! :("

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I am in love with this jeep

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "perfect wheeling vehicle"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This jeep has an awesome lift kit, big tires, body is in great shape, no rust, etc. a few electrical issues but nothing major and the engine is in great shape."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Warning -- Severe Electrical Problems Nightmare !

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
4/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a used 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 in great shape around 6 months ago and it ran fine for a month but then developed severe engine stalling and stopping problems, Google this and you will find that a multitude of JGC owners have had a nightmare plethora of problems trying to resolve what is apparently a factory system defect, even with professional mechanics' assistance! Beware, beware....and I sure wish someone had warned me about this before I bought a Grand Cherokee in the mid-90s era. My experience with the regular Jeep Cherokees, however, has been great....and they are very reliable cars."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 88 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals